We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #18 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Westerville, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I used tripavisor to find this perfectly located hotel. Thank you to all who rated 717 to help me make the decision.

We had room #9. It was spacious. A bedroom from the entry. A bathroom with a large walk in shower and a sitting room where we had breakfast.

The staff were excellent. They were very knowledgable about the city and gave get references to restaurants that are off the beaten path.

If you want to stay at a hotel that is all about you...this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    38
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
23
187
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sabadell
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

we stayed at hotel seven one seven for three nights in june 2013 in the room at the top. Good views and the room was spacious, bright clean and wonderful. The staff was wonderful especially. Breakfast is delicious and in a gorgeous room downstairs.
The hotel is in a great location. Great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

717 was an absolute dream - we loved being there. The hotel is lovely, with very luxurious decor and large suites. The staff is hands-off but approachable if you need anything, it was really lovely. the location is ideal, walking distance to everything but not in the very touristy and stressful centrum area. The canal is lovely. Our stay could not have been better.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Shakespeare suite, which is just up the stairs and facing the back. It was very bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

we stayed at hotel seven one seven for three nights in june 2013 on our honeymoon. stayed in the room at the top. views were lovely and the room was spacious, bright clean and wonderful. loved the decor. the staff was wonderful especially weibe and alex. breakfast was delicious and in a gorgeous room downstairs. the rooms are accessed only by stairs but the staff helped us with our luggage and we didn't mind the walk-up. amazing location looking over a beautiful canal and close to everything. would absolutely stay there again! in either the room at the top or the two rooms that face the canal. small hotel too so feels like you are staying in someone's home. highly recommended!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

It is a perfect choice for people without fisical disabilities, as a historical buildimg it has no elevators and has old stairs. It is very charming and the decoration is wanderfull. I felt as if I was in a friend's house.

Room Tip: Sheakspeare room is very nice and is near the ground floor, jus a few steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had a peculiar and rather disappointing experience at Hotel 717. The staff are friendly and accommodating, the location of the hotel could not be better, the décor is lovely (though why the bare, unvarnished floorboards: were the oriental carpets out being cleaned?), and it makes for a good base for tourism in Amsterdam.

But I didn't enjoy the degree of comfort I was expecting. I had the Franz Liszt suite on the ground floor: it is a genuine suite, with a bedroom, a living room, and, rather awkwardly, a bathroom in between. The bedroom windows open on the patio, where breakfast is served in good weather (so curtains have to be drawn at night and in the morning), while the living room windows open on the street (ditto). It is nicely furnished; the beautiful orchids are real; the Bose television and DVD/CD player so new as to be hard to figure out at first. But the toilet is so small that I found it hard to use (disclosure: I am 6'3" tall) and glass door to the shower doesn't close properly -- I had to prop it open with an elbow while showering (luckily, I could shower elsewhere, as the water flow wasn't very strong). The bed is comfortable, though I disapprove on principle of the Dutch habit of using two single mattresses to make a double bed.

I stayed during the week, so I had a discounted rate of 250 euros per night. That was within reason for the room and the city, but the normal room rates seem out of proportion to the degree of comfort. For what they charge, you could get a club room at the Mandarin Oriental in Singapore! The 75 euros per day charge for food and beverages is ridiculous: the breakfast is good, if limited (eggs soft-boiled OR scrambled, bacon but not salmon), and nicely served: it is worth 20 euros, which they charge if you don't take the complete package. But for the 75 euros open room service access, you don't get much of anything besides breakfast: you can ask for afternoon tea, but it consists of hot water, tea bags, and a few cookies (not a proper afternoon tea in my book), and you can ask for a glass of wine by way of apéritif (which may come with olives, or cheese, or crackers and mustard, or cashews, or some combination, depending on who is serving). In general, though, you won't be offered much of anything unless you ask for it. For example, there is turn down service, with water provided, but no chocolates -- though, if you ask, they will give you some.

In short, a nice place, but not good value, and I won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven_one_Seven, General Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
First of all we like to thank you for taken the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the feedback you have given us. We are sorry to hear that your stay could have been better and we'll be using your feedback to keep our services at the standards our guests can expect while staying at Hotel Seven one Seven. Hopefully we can show you this the next time your in Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Good news is that they keep on high standards. The downsides: the breakfast menu doesn't change, would be great if they can amend it slightly depending on their guests wishes. The other thing (not very significant, but still) - the leading hotels manage to make reservations for the guests in the most popular restaurants even on short notices. In 717 concierge/reception try to do it's best but with no success so far. Anyway - good luck to the hotel!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven_one_Seven, General Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
First of all we like to thank you for taken the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that the requested restaurants had no availability. We do the utmost to arrange all the dinner reservations for our guests. Hopefully we can show you next time you are in Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.