We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Save Saved
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special
Ranked #11 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

What a beautiful experience. A personal journey with the owners. I was so pleased to stay at a hotel that took detail to a new level. Beautiful rooms with quirky names. It is situated on a beautiful street overlooking the canal and that also adds to the magic. I am so fortunate to have stayed at this little gem.

Room Tip: Love all the sexy young waiters
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    34
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
178
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Everything I love about a boutique city hotel is encapsulated here. Simply one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. The service level was very high as was the quality of every other aspect. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

What a surprise: Just right in the the old center of busy Amsterdam with so much life around, there is this quiet,exquisite, charming "Guest House" Sure more than just that: a jewel!
If you want to treat you and- more important- your partner at best- Í am sure you´ll find it there.
Just enjoy.
Winfried Petermann, Aachen/Germany, Nov.2012

Room Tip: My favourite: the Picasso Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at 717 last weekend and had rooms 3 and 4. Both rooms were really spacious with comfy chairs and warmly decorated. After bombing around town on our bikes we always looked forward to coming back to the hotel to put our feet up. Our daughter didn't want to leave the hotel and we literally had to drag her out. The staff are wonderful and couldn't be more helpful. The complimentary wine and snacks is a lovely touch. Breakfast is fantastic cheese, ham, eggs etc whatever you want cooked to order. Location wise it couldn't be better. I've stayed in Amsterdam many many times but this was the first time in 717 and it is now my first choice hotel. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

717 is a very friendly hotel in the centre of Amsterdam - the rooms are well appointed & spacious and ideal if you want to work or relax. Its like staying in your own home, the team are very friendly and the breakfast is cooked as if you were in your own kitchen - will definitely be my hotel of choice in Amsterdam. Hotel was recommended by a colleague and is a well kept secret.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent a weekend at this hotel in mid-November and the two nights we stayed have been very memorable. The location is excellent: mid-way round the Prinsengracht and an easy walk to most central Amsterdam sights. The only time we needed to use transport was to get to and from the airport. When we arrived, our friendly host showed us into a comfortable sitting room with a log-fire burning and brought us coffee and cakes as he spirited our bags away. When we were ready, he took us to our room and was genuinely helpful in explaining the facilities. Like most period houses in Amsterdam, the building is tall and narrow with very steep staircases but this lends it lots of character. The interior throughout is beautiful and the room, large but still cosy, lacked nothing by way of amenities. There was an option of taking breakfast in our room but we chose to go down into the dining room (they happily served us even though we got up late) and we enjoyed a good breakfast of cold meat, cheese, eggs and bacon. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, from local sightseeing tips to booking restaurants and airport transfers. The hotel is small but benefits from an very friendly, cosy atmosphere with particularly attentive staff. I couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Hotel Seven one Seven is a little gem---you feel like you are at your own home---albeit a gorgeous house with staff on the Princes Canal in Amsterdam. The staff works really hard to answer your every need. I entertained guests and we had wine and appetizers. At the last minute I invited guests to breakfast (which is a small affair), again no problem. And there were delicious cookies that came with the coffee. The hotel is basically all inclusive (except for laundry). The hotel is in a fantastic location near the 9 streets....and easy to get to both the museums and to the center of Amsterdam. I would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic weekend or if you are on business and want a more intimate experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.