We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #20 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Everything I love about a boutique city hotel is encapsulated here. Simply one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. The service level was very high as was the quality of every other aspect. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    42
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
207
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

What a surprise: Just right in the the old center of busy Amsterdam with so much life around, there is this quiet,exquisite, charming "Guest House" Sure more than just that: a jewel!
If you want to treat you and- more important- your partner at best- Í am sure you´ll find it there.
Just enjoy.
Winfried Petermann, Aachen/Germany, Nov.2012

Room Tip: My favourite: the Picasso Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at 717 last weekend and had rooms 3 and 4. Both rooms were really spacious with comfy chairs and warmly decorated. After bombing around town on our bikes we always looked forward to coming back to the hotel to put our feet up. Our daughter didn't want to leave the hotel and we literally had to drag her out. The staff are wonderful and couldn't be more helpful. The complimentary wine and snacks is a lovely touch. Breakfast is fantastic cheese, ham, eggs etc whatever you want cooked to order. Location wise it couldn't be better. I've stayed in Amsterdam many many times but this was the first time in 717 and it is now my first choice hotel. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

717 is a very friendly hotel in the centre of Amsterdam - the rooms are well appointed & spacious and ideal if you want to work or relax. Its like staying in your own home, the team are very friendly and the breakfast is cooked as if you were in your own kitchen - will definitely be my hotel of choice in Amsterdam. Hotel was recommended by a colleague and is a well kept secret.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spent a weekend at this hotel in mid-November and the two nights we stayed have been very memorable. The location is excellent: mid-way round the Prinsengracht and an easy walk to most central Amsterdam sights. The only time we needed to use transport was to get to and from the airport. When we arrived, our friendly host showed us into a comfortable sitting room with a log-fire burning and brought us coffee and cakes as he spirited our bags away. When we were ready, he took us to our room and was genuinely helpful in explaining the facilities. Like most period houses in Amsterdam, the building is tall and narrow with very steep staircases but this lends it lots of character. The interior throughout is beautiful and the room, large but still cosy, lacked nothing by way of amenities. There was an option of taking breakfast in our room but we chose to go down into the dining room (they happily served us even though we got up late) and we enjoyed a good breakfast of cold meat, cheese, eggs and bacon. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, from local sightseeing tips to booking restaurants and airport transfers. The hotel is small but benefits from an very friendly, cosy atmosphere with particularly attentive staff. I couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Hotel Seven one Seven is a little gem---you feel like you are at your own home---albeit a gorgeous house with staff on the Princes Canal in Amsterdam. The staff works really hard to answer your every need. I entertained guests and we had wine and appetizers. At the last minute I invited guests to breakfast (which is a small affair), again no problem. And there were delicious cookies that came with the coffee. The hotel is basically all inclusive (except for laundry). The hotel is in a fantastic location near the 9 streets....and easy to get to both the museums and to the center of Amsterdam. I would highly recommend this hotel for a romantic weekend or if you are on business and want a more intimate experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel truly is a jewel. While visiting family in Amsterdam spent three glorious days at Hotel 717 in the Schubert Suite. This 5-windowed suite overlooks the Prinsengracht Canal. It was amazingly quiet - I had expected some noise from the street, but no. The furnishings are absolutely beautiful and luxurious. The art work makes one stop in one's tracks. The beds afford a sound replenishing sleep. This makes one wake up, renewed and ready for breakfast. I had mine in the breakfast room, where English (and other) morning newspapers were available. A cup of coffee never tasted so good, and I thought the choice of available breakfasts was excellent . I don't know where they find their staff. They are exceptional. Each day when coming back from walking, shopping, etc, one of them is there to greet you and invite you to have a cup of tea - or a glass of wine - or how about spirits? The libation of choice is accompanied by most tasty snacks - all complimentary. This is enjoyed in one of their drawing rooms. Another small detail - the (tastefully hidden) refrigerator in the sitting room of the suite had a selection of water, soft drinks, wine, beer - all complimentary. This hotel really thinks of everything - it is as if the owner is saying to the guests "Your wish is my command." The location of the hotel couldn't be better - one can walk everywhere.
I plan on returning here in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#11 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,801 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#8 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.