We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic wedding night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #15 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Magic wedding night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent our wedding night at the 717 and we could not have wished for a better place to do this. From the perfectly polished shoes, to finding the phone I had lost in a cab within 10 minutes, to the most romantic wake up call ever, to the very tastefully decorated rooms and the intimate personal feeling you get from this place. It is cliché, but this is really the home away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    36
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
23
185
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We got our stay here for our wedding night as a present and it was a present that we will definitely remember. The 'room at the top' was an amazing room decorated with antique Dutch furniture and drawings and the very tasty big breakfast (roomservice) came on real Delfts blue ceramics. The service was very good. The room comes with everything, including robe, slippers, a big bathtub, great classic and jazzy music channels, an amazing view and a perfect bed. For people that want the experience of a very authentic old Amsterdam canal house, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

On the plus side this hotel is in a perfect location, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the building is absolutely beautiful and very well furnished. Whether it works as an hotel is a different matter.. I had high expectations as the reviews were mainly good. We stayed for a weekend in the Shakespeare Suite on the first floor and this room for me was very disappointing. Large room but the bed had been placed right behind the door on entering the room (it should have been in the main part of the bedroom) - as this entrance was next to the staircase you heard every noise from the other guests going up to their bedrooms throughout the day/night, we also heard the phone ringing and reception greeting guests as well. The bathroom was characterless and not what I would expect for a room costing over 400 euros a night. The TV was positioned in the most bizarre place behind the sofa so it would have been impossible to watch it had we wanted to. This room definitely needs some re-arranging. Breakfast service was also very slow. My husband ordered eggs which arrived but then a 10 minute wait for the toast to go with them so they were cold by the time this arrived. Little things but not what you expect for this calibre of hotel. A few tweaks needed here and there in my opinion.

Room Tip: Do not choose the Shakespeare suite if you want a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Another favorite of mine. If you are seeking a more private atmosphere without missing class, book a room at 717. The staff is amiable and engaged, the complimentary tea/coffee that is served with loads of lekker cookies is a source of happiness each and every time. Due to this more familiar setting you might happen to hear people descending the stairs early in the morning or any other time you're about to sleep. That's the flip side of feeling home…

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Luxury was what we were after, not of the synthetic version, but somewhere with charm and character. We got it in full measure - welcome, comfort, recommendations, support. Service was good, pleasant, attentive but not intrusive. A cup of tea on getting in, a glass of wine while deciding where to go in the evening in the comfort of the nicely cluttered living room makes this no ordinary hotel, more a home from home. Would I come back? You bet!

Room Tip: You get to chose your room when you book: the ground floor is really a basement so a bit darker. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Toscana, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I really loved this hotel. Every time I walked up to the door and rang the bell I felt like an aristocrat returning to my stunning town house to be greeted by my charming staff and have my every whim pampered. A tray of afternoon tea, perhaps? Some wine? Except those who greeted me were also handsome, intelligent and highly knowledgeable young men. What more could you ask for? They found us two stunning (recently opened) restaurants, which we have recommended to Amsterdam locals! Everything about the great location and rooms has already been said by others. If I had to be really picky, I would suggest they use loose-leaf tea rather than tea-bags and improve the toiletries in the bathroom. But hey, it was 99.99% perfect!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The small, but oh-so-special touches at 717 are what turned a great stay into a truly memorable one. Heavingly breakfast, wonderful artwork, friendly, helpful, attentive, but never intrusive service, all the comforts of a larger property, tucked away in this true gem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.