We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“First class experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

I am a regular Amsterdam visitor and recently stayed at the Seven one Seven for the first time following a friend's recommendation and had a truely exceptional experience. It is a wonderful and centrally located boutique hotel, a home away from home. There is tons of detail, the staff is very passionate and was really helpful securing a booking for a great dinner venue. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    39
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
24
201
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altadena, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

My husband and I went on a business trip to Amsterdam but ended up having a romantic getaway, thanks to this hidden gem! Hotel Seven One Seven is a beautiful, quaint hotel with a lot of character and class. It is a small hotel with a lot of special attention to their guests. The minute you walk in to the hotel you are taken to very different world....the smell, decor, and music sets a perfect ambiance. Every morning a delicious breakfast was either served in their cozy patio or brought to your room in an adorable basket. Everything served on the most beautiful table setting with special attention to detail. The hotel is in a perfect location (walking distance) to visit all the sites and enjoy the restaurants. The concierge was very helpful, friendly, and quick in finding any restaurant or attraction of choice. After a long day of meetings or touring we would return to the hotel for an afternoon of tea and cookies promptly brought to our room. In the evening we would end our night with a bottle of wine and appetizers delivered to our room...all at no cost to us. The staff was very attentive and made sure that we were enjoying our stay in their hotel and Amsterdam! Our room (called the Tolkien Room) was very spacious and beautifully decorated. I spent many hours in the room enjoying my book....it was very peaceful....I did not want to leave the room. We were sad to leave Amsterdam...and Hotel Seven One Seven....but I look forward to visiting it again. When we returned to the US the hotel contacted us that we had left a toilettery case behind. This was a special gift given to my husband a few years back...I asked them if it was possible to send it to us and promptly I received it in the mail. My husband and I love to travel but I have to say such service and class is very hard to find. Hotel Seven One Seven, thank you for making our stay so special.....Amsterdam is truly lucky to have a gem like you!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed in the beautiful Mahler Suite and felt very comfortable.
The staff is very friendly, helpful and hospitably. The breakfast was delicious.

Especially the lovely decoration of the hotel with a lot of wonderful details impressed us.
We can really recommend this hotel for a unique stay in Amsterdam.

Furthermore the location is perfect: all important sights etc. are in walking distance.

Thank you again for this great stay!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed here one night during a congress this fall. The location is lovely, and the hotel itself, while somewhat quirky, has a laid back, welcoming vibe to it as well. I was greeted very warmly and every effort was made to make me feel at home.

I enjoyed a good nights sleep, a good breakfast - the only hitch was that the reception had forgotten to book my taxi for the morning after, as a business traveller that is somewhat annoying but she admitted her mistake & ordered a new taxi that came very quickly, so no harm done.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

the only problem with the 717 in Amsterdam is that it guarantee disappointment in any other hotel...
Rooms are stunning, walking outside seems like a wrong move.
hotel staff is friendly and smart, helpful and glowing with charm.
there's no doubt that we'll be back for more.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

You have all transportation in the corner you have de best restaurants near by. And the best room you can cooose

Room Tip: The are not elevator, and the scalator are n or very friendly, choose te ones near the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

It may not be fair to call it the nicest HOTEL we've ever stayed in, because with just a handful of rooms, it's much more like staying in a wealthy friend's palatial digs, complete with incredibly smart, accommodating, friendly staff. Everything is as comfortable as it is possible to imagine it being. The furniture is beautiful. Beds are outstanding. Linens are top quality. If you ask for a pot of tea and biscuits or a glass of wine with cheese, you will get it right away and it will be delicious and beautifully served. The location (on the Prinsengracht) is fantastic and close to everything. The five days we had at Seven One Seven are one of our favorite vacation memories. Can't wait to return. One caveat: Stairs here are steep; we got our exercise climbing them!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tolkien Room and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.