We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and authentic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #20 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice and authentic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We have stayed at the Seven one Seven on our trip to Amsterdam this August. It is a wonderful and very authentic place. If you ever wondered what it feels like to live in a canal-side house this hotel is for you. The common rooms on the first floor especially reinforce that feeling. The room that we have stayed at (Shakespeare suite) was large, comfortable and nicely decorated. The service is provided by very friendly and accommodating staff and it was seamless. I would absolutely stay at 717 again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    40
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
26
204
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I discovered this hotel years ago and kept coming back either with my family or by myself. Having lived in Amsterdam, I know that no other Hotel represents Amsterdam more than Hotel 717. Each time I ring their doorbell, it is if I am entering my home away from home. Beautifully decorated in a superb real vintage Amsterdam style, you enter a place that you can only imagine Amsterdam to be in the "golden age". From the first moment you enter, the staff of the hotel wants to make you feel at home while entering their great period living room. The service is all you can possibly expect. It is welcoming, subtle, and incredibly warm. Each room is different in decoration with great works of art and It is hard to believe that you can find such a quiet, romantic and comfortable place right in the center of such a busy city,. Surrounded by the great museums, of Amsterdam, famous antique stores and delicious and stylish restaurants like "George" and "Envy" and many more, it is a perfect place to spend for any special romantic occasion but also the best place to be if you have to be in Amsterdam for business.
My favorite is their breakfast in a room that you would love to be your own breakfast room.

Room Tip: As all rooms are unique, ask for pictures to find out which room suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We recently stayed at Hotel Seven One Seven - can't say enough about it. Beautifully decorated, spacious rooms, amazing full breakfast and ideal location. Only eight guest rooms so very quiet and private. Staff goes out of their way to attend to your needs. Would recommend taking a private canal boat ride.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Sensational place. Beautiful, tasteful, terrific food, lovely tea and GREAT staff. Fab location as well.

Room Tip: We loved the airiness of Tolkein suite with two perpendicular walls full of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We celebrated our wedding on July 15th at the lovely Hotel 717.
First of all, the preparations went very well with the great help of the General Manager , Ms. Brita Rohl. We felt very welcome and confident. As our party was only 30 people, we were able to book all 9 rooms, so the hotel felt as our own luxury house. The overall atmosphere is wonderful and very personal . Great staff with a high sense of fantastic service ! The dinner catering by restaurant Tante Koosje was superb. If you would like to celebrate any event in a special environment, we would highly recommend this hotel. As the atmosphere is so intimate and personal, we feel this place is also great if you wish to avoid typical luxury hotel chains.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Our time at 717 was unforgetable. Everything worked to perfection: both rooms were great - cosy, beautiful, clean and well lit. The common areas of the hotel were also very attractive and confortable. Breakfast was fantastic. The kids used it as a measuring rod in the other hotels were are visiting during this trip. And I can assure you this is not a biased view resulting from Julio's brazilian nationality. He was most efficient and nice. But so were the other guys at the hotel. ServiceOur time at 717 was unforgetable. Everything worked to perfection: both rooms were great - cosy, beautiful, clean and well lit. The common areas of the hotel were also very attractive and confortable. Breakfast was fantastic. The kids are using it as a measuring rod in the other hotels we visited during this trip. And I can assure you this is not a biased view resulting from Julio's brazilian nationality. He was most efficient and nice. But so were the other guys at the hotel. Service was impecable. Sabine's (the assistant manager) assistance in helping us set up the trip, guide recommendations and overall sugestions were great. Finally, I cannot finish without mentioning her constant attention and care thoughout our visit. Having her managing our stay really made a difference. I have no doubt that whenever I return to Amsterdam I will stay at 717 again. I recommend it as I can.

Daniel Gleizer and Family

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My husband and I spent four nights at the Seven one Seven. We had been traveling for the week prior to our stay there and arrived there at 6:30pm unsure of what to expect. We were greeted by Jerko, one of the several wonderfully welcoming staff we encountered there. Jerko checked us in and then asked if we'd like a bottle of wine and "snacks."

We climbed the stairs up to the 3rd floor--we were staying in the Picasso Suite which overlooks a canal. The room was gorgeous and comfortable--a hotel room with charm, personality and every creature comfort you could ask for. We loved it.

One of my least favorite things about high end hotels is that they so often nickel and dime you for every little thing. Want a bottle of water? That's five bucks? Want a bottle of wine? That's forty bucks. At the Seven one Seven, however, all food and drink is included in your room rate. Wine, cheese, olives, beer, bottled water, Diet Coke--it's all included. We loved that aspect of the Seven one Seven. Each day we would wake, go downstairs for a very good breakfast (including warm chocolate croissants!), head out, explore the city for most of the day, come home, have a bottle of wine and snacks sent up, spend a couple of hours relaxing (the internet is free as well) and then head back out. When we came home at night, we'd be greeted by a charming staff person all of whom unfailingly asked us if there was anything we needed.

Our room on the canal was louder at night than I'd have liked although the Seven one Seven is in a relatively sedate part of town. The hotel does the best they can with heavy windows and interior and exterior shutters, but, if you are a light sleeper, I'd ask for an interior room. On the other hand, we loved the view from our suite.

We stayed at two other high end hotels on our trip and, of the three establishments, this was by far our favorite.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,787 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#18 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#8 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#5 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.