We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wedding in hotel 717 !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Save Saved
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special
Ranked #12 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic wedding in hotel 717 !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We celebrated our wedding on July 15th at the lovely Hotel 717.
First of all, the preparations went very well with the great help of the General Manager , Ms. Brita Rohl. We felt very welcome and confident. As our party was only 30 people, we were able to book all 9 rooms, so the hotel felt as our own luxury house. The overall atmosphere is wonderful and very personal . Great staff with a high sense of fantastic service ! The dinner catering by restaurant Tante Koosje was superb. If you would like to celebrate any event in a special environment, we would highly recommend this hotel. As the atmosphere is so intimate and personal, we feel this place is also great if you wish to avoid typical luxury hotel chains.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    34
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
178
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

Our time at 717 was unforgetable. Everything worked to perfection: both rooms were great - cosy, beautiful, clean and well lit. The common areas of the hotel were also very attractive and confortable. Breakfast was fantastic. The kids used it as a measuring rod in the other hotels were are visiting during this trip. And I can assure you this is not a biased view resulting from Julio's brazilian nationality. He was most efficient and nice. But so were the other guys at the hotel. ServiceOur time at 717 was unforgetable. Everything worked to perfection: both rooms were great - cosy, beautiful, clean and well lit. The common areas of the hotel were also very attractive and confortable. Breakfast was fantastic. The kids are using it as a measuring rod in the other hotels we visited during this trip. And I can assure you this is not a biased view resulting from Julio's brazilian nationality. He was most efficient and nice. But so were the other guys at the hotel. Service was impecable. Sabine's (the assistant manager) assistance in helping us set up the trip, guide recommendations and overall sugestions were great. Finally, I cannot finish without mentioning her constant attention and care thoughout our visit. Having her managing our stay really made a difference. I have no doubt that whenever I return to Amsterdam I will stay at 717 again. I recommend it as I can.

Daniel Gleizer and Family

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My husband and I spent four nights at the Seven one Seven. We had been traveling for the week prior to our stay there and arrived there at 6:30pm unsure of what to expect. We were greeted by Jerko, one of the several wonderfully welcoming staff we encountered there. Jerko checked us in and then asked if we'd like a bottle of wine and "snacks."

We climbed the stairs up to the 3rd floor--we were staying in the Picasso Suite which overlooks a canal. The room was gorgeous and comfortable--a hotel room with charm, personality and every creature comfort you could ask for. We loved it.

One of my least favorite things about high end hotels is that they so often nickel and dime you for every little thing. Want a bottle of water? That's five bucks? Want a bottle of wine? That's forty bucks. At the Seven one Seven, however, all food and drink is included in your room rate. Wine, cheese, olives, beer, bottled water, Diet Coke--it's all included. We loved that aspect of the Seven one Seven. Each day we would wake, go downstairs for a very good breakfast (including warm chocolate croissants!), head out, explore the city for most of the day, come home, have a bottle of wine and snacks sent up, spend a couple of hours relaxing (the internet is free as well) and then head back out. When we came home at night, we'd be greeted by a charming staff person all of whom unfailingly asked us if there was anything we needed.

Our room on the canal was louder at night than I'd have liked although the Seven one Seven is in a relatively sedate part of town. The hotel does the best they can with heavy windows and interior and exterior shutters, but, if you are a light sleeper, I'd ask for an interior room. On the other hand, we loved the view from our suite.

We stayed at two other high end hotels on our trip and, of the three establishments, this was by far our favorite.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011 via mobile

My young daughter and I had a lovely, restful evening at 717. This is a delightful hotel, situated in a sumptuous, historic canal house on Prinsengracht - a grand canal lined with splendid houses and funky bars and cafes. We were 2 tram stops - or an easy walk - from the Rijksmuseum (Amsterdam's most impressive art gallery). 717 is a peaceful place; glorious decor and serene classical music combine to ensure a tranquil ambience throughout. There is a small outdoor patio and a bright, airy breakfast room, serving delicious warm pastries every morning. Our suite (Van Goethe) was elegant - if a little traditional, even old-fashioned - but spacious. Air conditioning didn't operate when the temperature outside was deemed too cool, but at least a fan was provided. The bathroom was serviceable though a tad pokey, especially access to the shower cubicle. The hotel offers free wifi (password protected) but the system must have froze during our stay as I was unable to log on late at night. I was duly informed that the 24 hr staff could have reset the internet for me, whatever time of day and night! The staff were pleasant and helpful at all times. The evening we stayed, my daughter and I were caught in a rain-storm, then furnished with free refreshments and warm blankets, which was very welcome!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We were back in Amsterdam to meet up with friends and had a lovely stay at Seven One Seven. Great service and a friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Hotel Seven One Seven is a pleasure from the moment you are greeted at the door with a warm welcome, then coffee and treats. The rooms are luxurious and very spacious by European standards. (The steep stairs are standard for older houses but may not be suitable for some and that would be the only downside.) Location very central. The best feature is the staff...always willing to provide that little extra......advice about shopping, tours, restaurants etc but also complementary wine or coffee with snacks at any time in your room or in the beautifully appointed lounge areas. We were pampered!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paget Parish, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

After spending 3 hours on the tarmac before a 6 hour flight and nearly missing the train from Paris to Amsterdam, Hotel 717 was an shining ray of glory to a pair of weary travelers. Upon check-in we requested a bottle of wine to settle in and relax before hitting the city. After the wine was brought (with olives, cheese, and mustard!) and after a shower underneath the rain style shower head, we had a lot of trouble pulling ourselves away from the room. This was just in the first two hours! The bed was comfortable and the room was exquisite and smartly decorated. The service was key in our enjoyment of the city by giving directions and suggesting nightlife and dining options, this was not what was deserving of the 5 rating however. I really felt like I was staying with a family friend at the Hotel 717 and the staff pursued that feeling by being attentive and caring in every interaction. I would most certainly recommend Hotel 717 to anyone touring Amsterdam looking for a higher level of class.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.