We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torenzicht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torenzicht to your Saves list
Hotel Torenzicht
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Achterburgwal 93, 1012 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #217 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Lets be clear here. If you are looking for a hotel to take your wife for a romantic weekend away, this is probably not the hotel for you. If you like luxury, lifts to take your bags up to the room, a concierge service, this is NOT the hotel for you.

However if you are looking for cheap, clean accommodation in the middle of the Red Light district give the Hotel Torenzicht some serious consideration.

The Good Stuff

Location is excellent, a ten minute walk from Amsterdam Central Train Station.
Rooms are basic but clean and tidy, noise levels are pretty good even though the streets are still busy at 3.00am
Staff were all helpful
Bar is open 24 hours and priced about the same as the other bars in the area
There are shared toilets and showers but I never had to queue to use one and neither did any of the other guys in our party.

The OK stuff

The stairs are a little steep and certainly if you were a little infirm it might be an issue but they are not the worst I have ever been up
Breakfast was included, think cheese, meat and bread with unlimited tea, coffee and orange juice. Not amazing but it was FREE!

The Bad Stuff

Nothing that wouldn't have been expected for the price I paid. Its a little dated in places although they were installing new toilets downstairs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

brilliant location., helpfull staff,clean hotel, what more do u want for a bargain stay...jason plus maates had a ball, never a complaint from hotel bout noise or anything..would def stay again, 24 hour bar also which helps to fill those small hours until you get sorted..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I came here for a hotelroom. There was however one wasbasin with a mirror in the room of that hotel. It was a good location in the city. I found the breakfast o.k. and the staff was very friendly and kind.

Room Tip: People could better wear eardops in their ears. It could be noisy sometimes because it is a city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tio H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I've now stayed here several times and its a friendly easy going hotel, the rooms aren't 5* but they are clean and comfortable and the location is brilliant, whats also brilliant is the staff and the 24 hour bar, Stefan and Niels were friendly and tried to answer any questions. Also the wet shower rooms are very good and clean.

Probably wouldn't recommend this for a quiet weekend away but if you want a central location go for it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Location awesome. Prize cheap. 24 hour pub. Wi-Fi okay. Staff alright, if your cool with them they'll be cool with you. Just don't be up to outrageous behaviour. No smoking the sticky in the room, people just put socks over fire alarm though I heard, YOLO. In truth good place to crash and get a pint. Want luxury go pay for it elsewhere, want to rip the place apart staff will maul you. Stonkman recommends.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank thestickmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I was travelling with two other people, I have been to Amsterdam 6 times before and have stayed in a variety of Hotels.
I loved the location of Hotel Torenzicht, in the centre of the Red Light Discrict, very close to Dam Square and within walking distance of many tourist attractions as well as Coffeeshops, restaurants and bars.
The 3 gentleman we met that worked at the hotel were very friendly, informative and helpful. I had quite a few discussions with one of the bar staff and found him very pleasant.
You're able to smoke in the bar once the hotel is shut to the public at around 3AM. This is good to know when you wake up at 7AM and don't want to stand in the cold outside having your first morning cigarette.
The room was a good size, yes it could have done with a fresh paint but that's more the previous guests' fault than the hotels. The shared bathroom (large wet room) and toilet was clean, very spacious and more than adequate. The only negative was there was a lack of places to hang worn / clean clothes so it was difficult to get undressed and dressed in there but I took my own towel and wandered the corridors in my towel back to my room to get dressed.
Breakfast was what you expect - bread / toast, coffee / tea / fresh juices, jams and spreads, cheeses and cold meats. It's served until 10AM
The bar facilities offer a variety of hot / cold, alcoholic drinks for a reasonable price. Cheaper than sitting in a Coffeeshops.
I recommend visiting the Anne Frank House, it was €9 per adult and worth the experience.
We walked there and took approximately 18 minutes. We also visited Madame Tussaud's and Amsterdam Dungeons for €31 per adult.
Trams aren't necessary but cost €2.80 for an hour travel ticket, €7.40 for a 24 hour ticket and €12 for a 48 hour ticket.
I will definitely stay here again! It's very reasonable, a fair price and pleasant staff. Thank you Hotel Torenzicht for a pleasant stay.
Laura

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatti123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#291 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#239 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#160 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#229 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torenzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torenzicht

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 93, 1012 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Torenzicht 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Torenzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torenzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing