We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torenzicht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torenzicht to your Saves list
Hotel Torenzicht
Oudezijds Achterburgwal 93, 1012 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Lets be clear here. If you are looking for a hotel to take your wife for a romantic weekend away, this is probably not the hotel for you. If you like luxury, lifts to take your bags up to the room, a concierge service, this is NOT the hotel for you.

However if you are looking for cheap, clean accommodation in the middle of the Red Light district give the Hotel Torenzicht some serious consideration.

The Good Stuff

Location is excellent, a ten minute walk from Amsterdam Central Train Station.
Rooms are basic but clean and tidy, noise levels are pretty good even though the streets are still busy at 3.00am
Staff were all helpful
Bar is open 24 hours and priced about the same as the other bars in the area
There are shared toilets and showers but I never had to queue to use one and neither did any of the other guys in our party.

The OK stuff

The stairs are a little steep and certainly if you were a little infirm it might be an issue but they are not the worst I have ever been up
Breakfast was included, think cheese, meat and bread with unlimited tea, coffee and orange juice. Not amazing but it was FREE!

The Bad Stuff

Nothing that wouldn't have been expected for the price I paid. Its a little dated in places although they were installing new toilets downstairs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    53
    35
    9
    10
See reviews for
4
23
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

brilliant location., helpfull staff,clean hotel, what more do u want for a bargain stay...jason plus maates had a ball, never a complaint from hotel bout noise or anything..would def stay again, 24 hour bar also which helps to fill those small hours until you get sorted..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I came here for a hotelroom. There was however one wasbasin with a mirror in the room of that hotel. It was a good location in the city. I found the breakfast o.k. and the staff was very friendly and kind.

Room Tip: People could better wear eardops in their ears. It could be noisy sometimes because it is a city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I've now stayed here several times and its a friendly easy going hotel, the rooms aren't 5* but they are clean and comfortable and the location is brilliant, whats also brilliant is the staff and the 24 hour bar, Stefan and Niels were friendly and tried to answer any questions. Also the wet shower rooms are very good and clean.

Probably wouldn't recommend this for a quiet weekend away but if you want a central location go for it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Location awesome. Prize cheap. 24 hour pub. Wi-Fi okay. Staff alright, if your cool with them they'll be cool with you. Just don't be up to outrageous behaviour. No smoking the sticky in the room, people just put socks over fire alarm though I heard, YOLO. In truth good place to crash and get a pint. Want luxury go pay for it elsewhere, want to rip the place apart staff will maul you. Stonkman recommends.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I was travelling with two other people, I have been to Amsterdam 6 times before and have stayed in a variety of Hotels.
I loved the location of Hotel Torenzicht, in the centre of the Red Light Discrict, very close to Dam Square and within walking distance of many tourist attractions as well as Coffeeshops, restaurants and bars.
The 3 gentleman we met that worked at the hotel were very friendly, informative and helpful. I had quite a few discussions with one of the bar staff and found him very pleasant.
You're able to smoke in the bar once the hotel is shut to the public at around 3AM. This is good to know when you wake up at 7AM and don't want to stand in the cold outside having your first morning cigarette.
The room was a good size, yes it could have done with a fresh paint but that's more the previous guests' fault than the hotels. The shared bathroom (large wet room) and toilet was clean, very spacious and more than adequate. The only negative was there was a lack of places to hang worn / clean clothes so it was difficult to get undressed and dressed in there but I took my own towel and wandered the corridors in my towel back to my room to get dressed.
Breakfast was what you expect - bread / toast, coffee / tea / fresh juices, jams and spreads, cheeses and cold meats. It's served until 10AM
The bar facilities offer a variety of hot / cold, alcoholic drinks for a reasonable price. Cheaper than sitting in a Coffeeshops.
I recommend visiting the Anne Frank House, it was €9 per adult and worth the experience.
We walked there and took approximately 18 minutes. We also visited Madame Tussaud's and Amsterdam Dungeons for €31 per adult.
Trams aren't necessary but cost €2.80 for an hour travel ticket, €7.40 for a 24 hour ticket and €12 for a 48 hour ticket.
I will definitely stay here again! It's very reasonable, a fair price and pleasant staff. Thank you Hotel Torenzicht for a pleasant stay.
Laura

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Torenzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torenzicht

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 93, 1012 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Torenzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torenzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torenzicht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.