We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mad stag in the dam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torenzicht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torenzicht to your Saves list
Hotel Torenzicht
Oudezijds Achterburgwal 93, 1012 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“mad stag in the dam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

brilliant location., helpfull staff,clean hotel, what more do u want for a bargain stay...jason plus maates had a ball, never a complaint from hotel bout noise or anything..would def stay again, 24 hour bar also which helps to fill those small hours until you get sorted..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    53
    35
    9
    10
See reviews for
4
23
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I came here for a hotelroom. There was however one wasbasin with a mirror in the room of that hotel. It was a good location in the city. I found the breakfast o.k. and the staff was very friendly and kind.

Room Tip: People could better wear eardops in their ears. It could be noisy sometimes because it is a city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I've now stayed here several times and its a friendly easy going hotel, the rooms aren't 5* but they are clean and comfortable and the location is brilliant, whats also brilliant is the staff and the 24 hour bar, Stefan and Niels were friendly and tried to answer any questions. Also the wet shower rooms are very good and clean.

Probably wouldn't recommend this for a quiet weekend away but if you want a central location go for it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Location awesome. Prize cheap. 24 hour pub. Wi-Fi okay. Staff alright, if your cool with them they'll be cool with you. Just don't be up to outrageous behaviour. No smoking the sticky in the room, people just put socks over fire alarm though I heard, YOLO. In truth good place to crash and get a pint. Want luxury go pay for it elsewhere, want to rip the place apart staff will maul you. Stonkman recommends.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I was travelling with two other people, I have been to Amsterdam 6 times before and have stayed in a variety of Hotels.
I loved the location of Hotel Torenzicht, in the centre of the Red Light Discrict, very close to Dam Square and within walking distance of many tourist attractions as well as Coffeeshops, restaurants and bars.
The 3 gentleman we met that worked at the hotel were very friendly, informative and helpful. I had quite a few discussions with one of the bar staff and found him very pleasant.
You're able to smoke in the bar once the hotel is shut to the public at around 3AM. This is good to know when you wake up at 7AM and don't want to stand in the cold outside having your first morning cigarette.
The room was a good size, yes it could have done with a fresh paint but that's more the previous guests' fault than the hotels. The shared bathroom (large wet room) and toilet was clean, very spacious and more than adequate. The only negative was there was a lack of places to hang worn / clean clothes so it was difficult to get undressed and dressed in there but I took my own towel and wandered the corridors in my towel back to my room to get dressed.
Breakfast was what you expect - bread / toast, coffee / tea / fresh juices, jams and spreads, cheeses and cold meats. It's served until 10AM
The bar facilities offer a variety of hot / cold, alcoholic drinks for a reasonable price. Cheaper than sitting in a Coffeeshops.
I recommend visiting the Anne Frank House, it was €9 per adult and worth the experience.
We walked there and took approximately 18 minutes. We also visited Madame Tussaud's and Amsterdam Dungeons for €31 per adult.
Trams aren't necessary but cost €2.80 for an hour travel ticket, €7.40 for a 24 hour ticket and €12 for a 48 hour ticket.
I will definitely stay here again! It's very reasonable, a fair price and pleasant staff. Thank you Hotel Torenzicht for a pleasant stay.
Laura

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Arrived to a warm welcome at the hotel. Paid our money and this is where all the pleasantries ended. Went to my room which had a stunning view of the strip, looked out the window to reveal that the window didn't close. My bed was directly under the window, and had to sleep fully clothed due to the January wind and rain opening the window constantly through the night. Had to use a shoelace to tie it up. Went to the bar to get a drink, where the ginger rat who hasn't washed or shaved for 5 years behind the bar said he wasn't serving us. When asked why? He replied "because I don't like you". Having breakfast in a freezing cold cellar with the same old dutch smiling faces was minus 26 degrees. If you like ham and toast you'll be fine. If not, you'll have to do like we did, pay 12 euros for a breakfast. All in all Amsterdam is fantastic and most of the locals are ok. I wouldn't call any of them friendly, but tolerable. To cut a long story short, 20 of us paid our hotel fee to a smiley faced manager. Once he had our 1600 euros for our 2 night stay they turned into ignorant pigs. Queueing up for showers and toilets is also another feature worth mentioning, as there is 1 of each (per floor). STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE AND SPEND A LITTLE MORE MONEY! Spliffs were class, otherwise it would've been a miserable trip.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Torenzicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torenzicht

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 93, 1012 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Torenzicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torenzicht Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torenzicht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.