We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Neutraal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Neutraal to your Saves list
Hotel Neutraal
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 8, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #311 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Yuck!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Looking for very tatty & atrociously basic? You've got it.
The state of the place is pretty horrific even for a budget holiday.

The rooms are tiny, dirty and they smell of damp; all in all they pretty much consist of an old bed against the wall, an old sink and an old table and chair.
The common bathroom/shower room hasn't seen a decent renovation in the last 40 years.

Upsides? The location.. As it's very, very close to the main train station, which makes it very handy.

It may seem cheap comparing with other hotels, but don't waste your money! We only took the 3 rooms because we had no reservation, we were exhausted after a coach trip and couldn't be asked to look any further! ..Mistake!

Room Tip: ..For God's sake, avoid at all costs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    20
    49
    45
    75
See reviews for
14
59
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Paid 100 euro including city tax

On arrival
Convenient to central station
In a good spot for tours and entrance to the tourist things.

Trams
Conveniently close

Room
Very funny on first site.
Basic and of poor finish.

Shower etc
Shared and new units installed.
Good shower...

Bed
Room 52....comfy as heck

Breakfast
Continental and plentiful with polite service.

Stairs
Steep and bendy

Reception
Helpful and polite

Return?
Probably not as Amsterdam took me for 500 euro in one day with no "living it up "

Enjoy

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

EXCELLENT SERVICE and excellent localization but the entire hotel is very dirty. There is dirt in the rooms, the bathroom is horrible and tiny..... the room was full of dust and filthy curtains.......

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallstatt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

my room was very clean, quiet, modernised toilet and shower fittings, but room TV did not work despite their efforts, and free WiFi variable. Staff extremely helpful. Excellent breakfast, nice and early so one could have a full day. Walls in bad need of replastering and painting, making it look worse than it was. Very clean, despite some reviews I have read. I would certainly recommend it on my experiencr and stay there again. Very central location.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here for three nights whilst travelling through Amsterdam. The hotel is very central (just across the road from Central Station) and a fantastic place to watch Amsterdam wake-up each morning.

The hotel is typically Dutch with steep, wide staircases. We were on the top floor and managed it each day but worth keeping in mind !!

The rooms were clean and tidy. The rooms were serviced each day and fresh clean linen was always available. Our room was not one of the new refurbished room but we had no complaints. The shared facilities were clean and functional ( the new power shower was real treat!!).

Overall, we were very happy with the Hotel and staff. The Staff were pleasant and helpful, breakfast was good with excellent Orange juice, fresh coffee and 'continental selection'. We had a great time and if we are to return to Amsterdam, I would look for the Hotel Neutraal as a place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Location wise you couldn't get better, right on the main street, close to the station. Far enough away from too much noise at night. Staff very friendly and breakfast was pretty good. Would stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Neutraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neutraal

Address: Damrak 8, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Neutraal 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Budget Places, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Neutraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neutraal Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Neutraal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.