We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but also dirty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Neutraal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Neutraal to your Saves list
Hotel Neutraal
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 8, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #327 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good but also dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Nice people are working there. The location is perfekt, directly on the amsterdam centraal station. My room looked very friendly. The shared bathrooms were very dirty, I asked when there were cleaned the last time. The Bath & the toilett were geekery me!




  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    22
    55
    49
    84
See reviews for
18
65
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Absolutely disgusting hotel.!!! Needed hotel for night so had a look in.. Staircase dirty,old carpet..not a good start and got 10 times worse..e125 a night. Got keys to room opened door wallpaper falling off walls,walls disgustingly dirty, smoke alarm hanging off ceiling, furniture from 70,s in tatters...unbelieveable worst hotel I've ever been in by a mile...they want reporting for renting rooms out in that state. Went down stairs said we couldn't stop here given money back no apology's,no questions why nothing.!!!! Whoever says this hotel is ok is talking rubbish...or the owner.!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gedera, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Small room, tiny bed, Not very clean, toilets and shower rather bad, prices ok - not as cheap as I would expect for that room.
Great location - Right in the middle of the city center, a minute walk from central station.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The room was cleaner then I expected. Toilet and shower were a no go. There was a funky smell in the corridors. LOADS of stairs to pass to get to our room. Receptionists were nice and breakfast was ok. If your just looking for a room then id recommend it. Walking distance to most attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Location of the hotel is perfect, only 5 minutes walk from the main Station. Staff was very friendly and helpful, bed-sheets and towels were clean. We had a room with 3 beds and it was VERY basic, with a sink and a view to a wall. Not a big problem because we only paid 125 GBP per night, BUT....there was no air condition and we had a hot summer-night, guests beside us must have smoked weed and our room and the corridor smelled of it. Walls were thin and we could hear the TV-show the other guest were watching and the loud laughter of the girls next door. We had a shared toilet and a shared shower. The latter had mildew on the ceiling, was claustrophobic and smelly. Because of the weed-smell and the heat hubby, out teenager-son and I spent most of the night outside the hotel on the bench. Breakfast-buffet was basic with only one cup of coffee each, several milk- and cereal-options, toast out of its bag, cold hard eggs, some continental sausage and cheeses. If you like the smell of weed and if you don´t mind getting high on weed-smell, if you don´t mind noises and hot sticky air, then this hotel is fine. You can walk to town, to the station, to the red light district. If you are looking for a restful, quiet place for the whole family, choose something else.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#141 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,041 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#139 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,236 reviews
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#149 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neutraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neutraal

Address: Damrak 8, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Neutraal 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Neutraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neutraal Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Neutraal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.