We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Neutraal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Neutraal to your Saves list
Hotel Neutraal
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 8, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #324 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Vantaa
1 review
“Never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. Service was so and so. Rooms tiny and filthy (thank god I had clean linen). You could hear every little sound from the corridor to the room. The "breakfast" consisted of some old bread and juice or milk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    21
    54
    48
    81
See reviews for
15
63
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Really, we thought that it will be not so nice as it is ! Rooms are really clean, service in the room every morning :) Double bed actually was very very comfortable ( I would like to have it in my room ). Even though that bathroom and shower is shared with other guests but it was unexpectedly clean. About the staff - they were really friendly. And location its just PERFECT. Everything is near ! Next time when will visit Amsterdam will stay in the same hotel !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We wanted somewhere cheap and central. Every other hotel was well over 100 quid a night. We stayed here and the location was brilliant surrounded by restaurants bars and of course coffee shops. As the location was so good we barely stayed in. Our room was tiny but we had a sink and a super comfy bed. The corridors are horrific as you walk to your room with wall paper falling off and wires coming out everywhere but the room was fine. Painted white and very basic but we only wanted to get our heads down. The bathroom was shared and the shower was amazing. Toilet was separate to the wet room. Every shower we went for it was spot less until the end of the night but we just rinsed the floor down with the shower and then in the morning it was spot less again.
There was mice bobbing about everywhere, but what do you expect in a city??? Particularly if your above McDonalds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Rooms are small but clean (a double bed is 125 cm wide...), breakfast is Ok, staff is friendly but to be honest, it's fairly expensive for what it is, but well, Amsterdam is probably one of the worst quality/price ratio even if it's gorgeous

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roche, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Depending obviously on what you are looking for in a trp to Amsterdam this litttle hotel could be the ticket. If like me n my two mates u want a central location to base urself so you can go and enjoy the less cultural products the city has to offer this hotel couldnt be better located.

Right next to Mcdonalds incase u get the munchies and its also a 5 min walk to the red light district and Suzies Saloon !

Rooms are terrible but if all u want is a bed to collapse on its a result.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#127 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,953 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#140 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,120 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#136 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#146 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#115 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neutraal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neutraal

Address: Damrak 8, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Neutraal 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Budget Places, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Neutraal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neutraal Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Neutraal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.