We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Multatuli

Save Saved
You added Hotel Multatuli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Multatuli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 12, 1012 TL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel is located a very short easy walk from the Central Train Station.. Everyone at the hotel was extremely helpful. Rooms were sparse small, and clean. We had a room with 2 single beds (they had mattresses that were very much like camping bedding) with a plastic cover that was not that pleasant. The view from the room was non existent and smells permeated our room from an adjacent restaurant grilling food (not part of the hotel) Stand up showers were good. We stayed there for 5 nights. Highlight of the stay was the breakfast service which included hot and cold food. plus excellent coffee. The person who was responsible for breakfast area was outstanding!!! The location couldn't be better and we walked everywhere. Watch out for the bikes

Room Tip: Our room did have air conditioning. If you are looking for somewhere central and you are not going t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    100
    65
    16
    20
See reviews for
33
78
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We booked Multatuli via booking.com a long time in advance and so was a bit nervous that maybe something would be askew when we arrived. Quite contrary. We got in early in the morning, the front desk clerk knew we were coming and had asked housekeeping to make up the first room so it would be ready. What a treat! Free wifi, excellent Euro breakfast. Very convenient self storage of luggage gave me confidence leaving some valuables on the last day before our trip out of Amsterdam. (we kept the keys for the locker!). It was walkable, safe, and the staff were all excellent. The room was fresh and bright - although the shower stall was a bit leaky and maybe needs some updating. Other than no face cloths ( thats a Euro hotel problem across all!) i cant think of anything I'd change. Good value for the $$ IMO.

Room Tip: Book on booking dot com! No payment in advance, and up to 24 hour cancellation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is super close the the main train station and the city Centre. The room we stayed in was a perfect size and the beds were really comfy. The buffet breakfast is super tasty (I recommend to get there bang on 7am to get in first!) And the staff are very nice. The only only issue we had was that our minibar wasn't working so we reported this on the first night, and the man at reception said he would look into it. Nothing back so reported again on the 2nd day and we're told management were 'dealing' with it. Still nothing on the 3rd day but we were leaving so didn't really make a difference at this point. Apart from that one small thing, overall I'd recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel is very centrally located near the train station in a very busy area. The hotel was clean and adequate with very helpful men at the front desk. Compared to others I've stayed at in Amsterdam it was grossly overpriced for a very basic, very small room with an unpleasant woman at reception. Although the room was prepaid the unpleasant woman at reception tried to get us to pay again saying the reservation may have been cancelled. It wasn't!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldives
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The people working there are definitely bunch of unprofessionals and have no truth or consistency in what they say or do. These guys wrote to me less than a week for my C/In that an authorisation on my card is required which will be released 10 days before our arrival. So we told them that since we do not have 10days left for our C/In, it makes no sense to charge an authorisation. They agreed to it and informed me that they will hold the room until “2pm only” post which they will release it. Well, my confirmation stated that it is a confirmed booking,I do not need to pay any deposit in advance and that I have free cancellation.So I tell them to make sure that my room is held until my arrival and not until 2pm.

Well the next mail I get is that they have cancelled my reservation. Such unprofessionals! Can you believe what is their explanation? They said that it is “their” mistake and that authorisations are released 10 days “after” arrival. So they cancelled my booking. Hence, know that if it is their mistake - your booking will be screwed up.I totally agree and am not surprised at all with the other reviewer, who mentioned that his deposit has not been paid back by the hotel.

Also know that you cannot trust these guys with what they say and what they do. Honestly I am so happy that I didn’t stay there, coz first, I do not want to stay in a place where such kind of people work and second, when I actually saw the place where the hotel is located, I felt relieved that it happened and they cancelled my booking. It was a blessing in disguise.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here over Easter weekend! The hotel was very easy to find once we left central station. A short walk across the road (located opposite the large bicycle park). Staff were pleasant and kept our luggage as we had arrived before our room was ready. Rooms are small but that didn't matter much as we didn't plan on spending much time there! Hotel was also clean! Breakfast consisted of an normal European breakfast, with lots of fruit, bread, ham and cheese! We were also treated with mini Easter eggs which was nice! Hotel is in a great location, The city tour bus leaves from a location 2 minutes from the hotel and the red light light district is only a 5 min MAX walk. Would definetly consider this hotel in future and would recommend! *Beware of steep stairs! As is in all buildings in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Rooms can get very warm! Air conditioning is noisey but needed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

been at the hotel for four days ,the location is absolutely traffic, across the central station and close to Damrak (one of Amsterdam's main streets) and Dam square (minutes by walk).

The stuff was friendly and helpful, my room was comfortable and clean (with free Wifi) and breakfast was also very good.

Overall, great value for money in my opinion, i'll come there again for my next visit in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Multatuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Multatuli

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 12, 1012 TL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Multatuli 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Multatuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Multatuli Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Multatuli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.