We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service & Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Multatuli

Save Saved
You added Hotel Multatuli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Multatuli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 12, 1012 TL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Service & Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Hotel opposite central station, very good location and close to all city attractions.
Hotel is spotless, rooms are good size and little or no noise heard from outside.
Staff are brilliant, the girl at reception could not be more helpful, check in was fast, maps made available and attractions suggested, it rained during my stay and umbrellas were offered at reception. Cleaning staff were more than helpful offering extra towels, tea/coffee and milk.
Breakfast is typical Dutch of breads, pastries, cheese and hams but there is more than ample offered and could not be faulted. Breakfast can be delivered to your room for a charge of €5.
By far the best hotel I have stayed in whilst in Amsterdam considering location and price - This hotel cannot be faulted,

Room Tip: Rooms 215 and 216 were brilliant. Either 215 or 216 offers a double and single - from what I could s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    99
    64
    16
    20
See reviews for
33
76
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed here with friends in November last year first off the hotel is perfect location and the rooms are nice and clean. The one down side was that we was getting ready to go out at about 9:30 and I admit we was making a bit of noise. We then proceeded to leave the room to find the guy from the front desk and another guy who was stayin at the hotel who slipped away but was definitely who made the complaint. The guy from the front desk started ranting on about if we didn't be quite he would kick us out ,he was very aggressive. We didn't deny that we was noisy but he kept on overall it took us half an hour to get out of the hotel. Good hotel but don't make a sound..........

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hotel is about 500m away from train station (amsterdam centraale). So you are in the center of Amsterdam and that is the first advantage of the hotel. The second advantage is the price ,so it is best money for value. It says 3 stars hotel and it is a 3 stars hotel indeed. I booked via booking.com, no extra charges BUT the room was unacceptable. It was near the reception (121) and has a lot of noise as everyone comes outside the room to go to other rooms. Additionally the language room guard was next my room ,so extra noise from people. The room was clean but very small although had double bed which was very very soft , so my back get pained. Bathroom was ok, big and wide. Mini bar and desk there were. Wifi is free but very very slow , only internet pages you can surf and with patient. Stuff was very polite and spoke English. Heating system working good. There is a window but it looks in a common area. Generally everything was nice except the extreme noise due to the location of the room.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Great location, friendly receptionist that checked us in promptly. Hotel a little dated but clean enough for a 3*. Stayed in a quadruple room which was a little small however wasn't a problem as we literally only slept at the hotel.Breakfast was ok nothing special but filled the gap. Only bad point was the 2nd floor landing smelt of sewers at night and bleach in the day.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The location of the hotel made up for the small and noisy room (121) that was situated on the main corridor. The breakfast was good, with lots of options. Lockers for storage of luggage after check out were also very helpful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Rooms are comfortable. The day we were due to leave too we were supposed to be out room for 11am. They let us keep our room on until 12.30pm as I wasn't feeling very well which was good of them, the hotel also let us keep our luggage in the hotel as our flight wasn't until night time. Breakfast is very basic but eadible.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 11 AM and were pleasantly surprised that were immediately checked-in. Check-in was fast and efficient.
The rooms are very basis but more than sufficient for a short week-end getaway. Pls be ready that the same category rooms can be very different depending on the location in the building.
It was pretty cold in the room and we complained to Front Desk. It was fixed with no problems but we realized that heating is turned on upon demand from guests.
We were very happy about hotel location -> we were right in the middle of most things in the city.
Very nice breakfast -> in terms of selection/quality of food and helpfulness of the breakfast staff.
We forgot to print our airline tickets and Front Desk staff was kind to print that for us at the last day of our stay. Also, our flight back was late in the evening and we found that luggage storage room of the hotel was very handy -> we could leave our luggage with the hotel and enjoy the city for few more hours.
Summarizing the above -> nice 3 star hotel, very good for a week-end in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Multatuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Multatuli

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 12, 1012 TL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Multatuli 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Multatuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Multatuli Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Multatuli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.