We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient and well managed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Multatuli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Multatuli to your Saves list
Hotel Multatuli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 12, 1012 TL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
melbourne
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“convenient and well managed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just spent one night here passing through Amsterdam. It is very conveniently located a hundred meters over the canal from Central Station. Close to night club district etc. Hotel is good value, with clean modern rooms and friendly desk staff, free wi fi etc. Breakfast is OK but not exceptional. Main down side is that the hotel is noisy, partially because of poor soundproofing and partially because it attracts party people. The room I was in on the ground floor also had people crashing past with suitcases etc. whilst conversing loudly. So a good bet, but go for a higher floor and not so good for families.

Room Tip: Go for higher rooms, to minimize noise, but bring earplugs anyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    120
    79
    18
    23
See reviews for
39
102
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brockville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Appreciated the location as we were travelling by train, but wish the directions by foot were more specific on your website. We got several different instructions from people on the street! Very clean, friendly staff and good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel is well situated, directly opposite the Central train station. We were able to check in as soon as we arrived (12.30) which was great. The twin room had a large double bed and a single and was clean and light. The bathroom was also good, though we did have a problem with the shower.
The breakfast was very good - some cooked things, cold meats and cheeses, lots of different breads and cakes, fruit, yoghurt etc. The staff in the dining room were really friendly and helpful.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My partner and I stayed in this hotel for three nights in September. The location adjacent to the Central Station was excellent. Staff in the hotel were both courteous and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They readily gave us useful information on the City and its sightseeing highlights. The room we stayed in was clean, quiet and recently decorated. The continental breakfast included a wide variety of items which were freshly prepared by the staff on duty. Overall we would happily recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

The hotel has a left luggage facility.

Tips: if you want to see windmills working take bus no. 391 to Saan Shans from stand C outside the Central Station. La Madonna Italian Restaurant, (turn left outside hotel and walk approx 200 yards) , serves great food.

Room Tip: Room 127 very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for two nights. The room was in what we nicknamed the dungeon as it was on -1 floor, in other words below street level, hence no view and I did find it a little claustrophobic.
The room was a good size, the bed was very comfortable. We did have tea and coffee making facilities which I always like. One tip that I have found when traveling throught Europe is I buy a small box of English Breakfast tea, as the tea supplied in a lot of rooms is not that nice or not what I like.
Another feature of this hotel is that each room has a safe, which in this calibre of hotel you don't always get.
Wifi is available and I found reasonably priced at 10 euro for 24 hours, however only one device can be used at a time unless you pay for additional devices.
Being so close to Amsterdam Centraal is very convenient, it is in easy walking distance to the hotel.
Breakfast was included and is more than adequate.
If I was to return to Amsterdam I would certainly consider using this hotel again, 'it's not fancy but it's cheap'

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

It is a no-frills motel within walking distance from Amsterdam Centraal Rail Station and also to nearby main attraction such as Dam Square. The room although a bit small is typical of Amsterdam old houses converted to motels. Good enough for a couple. Clean and tidy room with a comfortable bed and an adequate and free continental breakfast. The receptionists and the lady serving in the breakfast room were all friendly and eager to help. Overall a satisfactory experience.

Room Tip: The elevator only goes to the second floor, so if you have luggage, book on either first or second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Multatuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Multatuli

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 12, 1012 TL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Multatuli 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Multatuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Multatuli Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Multatuli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.