We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great sleep here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Multatuli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Multatuli to your Saves list
Hotel Multatuli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 12, 1012 TL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lasko, Slovenia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Had a great sleep here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

This was my second time in Multatuli. First time was in year 2003 when I was returning home from Asia and had a stopover in Amsterdam for a day. Place is conveniently located just near the Amsterdam Centraal Station. So for those who are in a hurry the next day to leave for the airport this is the perfect location. When I stayed first time I received a room at the top and it had a nice view on the roofs and one yard nearby. All the ambient had that authentic Amsterdam feeling. Small, comfy and all that you need. I enjoyed the bed already at that time. I returned just today from Amsterdam and can report that quality of the bed stays the same. Some might not like the bed but actually I discovered my kind of a treat and I sleep as on a cloud. Bed is soft and I liked it. Room that was given this time to me was again small and with a bit of unique architecture as I had a window 3m high so to open it I need to operate a remote control :). Multatuli also this time succeed to provide me a good relaxing sleep, quality shower and a good breakfast. Check in was swift and they let me en before official check in time. Room is actually basic but it is very clean and bed is extremely comfy. I discovered that Dutch people know how to achieve a good relaxing sleep as it follows me that every time I’m in Holland I have a good sleep there. TV is old model but who cares about it? Minibar was stocked and the prices are normal for Amsterdam I guess. They are not too expensive I have to say. Although I did not used it. Breakfast was of a decent quality like it comes for the 3 star hotels. They have a funny Asian woman employed at the dining room and we exchanged some loughs while having breakfast :). Always nice to see a cheerful person so the day started brighter as usual. Will return again if another opportunity arises.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    112
    73
    18
    21
See reviews for
35
93
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Multatui from April 25 to April 29th. The staff were helpful, happy, and the breakfast was plentyful, they do tell you to get to breakfast early due to the limited space or you will have to wait, understandable.The rooms and all other areas of the hotel were sparkling clean. And the beds were very comfortable, I do like a softer bed. The location is fantastic, it is a quick walk across the street from the Centraal Station. Easy walk to anything.
A great grocery store as you take a right out the door to the rounded steps.
We left our bags there in a locked locker for the day until our train left and when we got back to retrive them they offered us Tea or Coffee, so very friendly. I would recomend this hotel to anyone looking for a clean, convienent place to stay with a great breakfast.
Just a warning about television, if you are traveling with children be aware there are several adult chanels on the TV.

Room Tip: We stayed in 125 It was a twin and we did have a roll a way put in for one night, good size with onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had two room a 3 (first floor) and a 4 (basement). The 3 bed room was ok the 4 bed room a bit cramped with 2 singles and a double, so not ideal for 4 sharing. The forth bed was also a fold away bed again not the most comfortable. Breakfast was good and the location was also very good. Overall it was ok for what we paid.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Hotel was what we expected, and is good for a weekend break, even with young kids.

Well located for all kinds of public transport, and for walking around the city.

Negatives are soft beds and insufficient number of tables in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My heart sank when I was directed to my room in the basement and found there was a 'view' onto a concrete courtyard enclosed on all sides. But the plus point was that the room was exceptionally quiet; it was also clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and efficeient and breakfast was generous. I had no complaints and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Good selection for a few days break - over expensive like all Amsterdam Hotels.
BEWARE - the breakfast room does not have sufficient capacity for the number of rooms/guests - we had to wait 30 minutes for a table! Other than that would recommend

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This hotel is literally across the road (admittedly a busy and wide one) from Amsterdam Centraal. Staff were all friendly , welcoming and helpful. The room was sizeable and scrupuously clean. Breakfast was more than adequate. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Multatuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Multatuli

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 12, 1012 TL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Multatuli 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Multatuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Multatuli Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Multatuli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.