We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, probably expecting better following reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luxer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Luxer to your Saves list
Hotel Luxer
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warmoesstraat 11, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #56 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cardiff
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Good stay, probably expecting better following reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Following the reviews I was probably expecting better.
As everyone mentions the location to Central Station is great, at the end of the day you are next to the RLD, so if looking for a weekend with your partner you may wish to stop elsewhere.
The hotel itself was fine, staff good. Rooms were smaller than we expeced but it is Amsterdam so was fine for a city break.
The free WIFI worked great so is always a bit of a bonus.
Stopping in a 3* hotel I would expect it to be clean and there were no issues on this score.
There is a secure room to leave luggage at the end of your stay.
Overall, I would stop again without doubt, as you are not in Amsterdam to stay in your hotel and it is a good base to explore the great city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    219
    42
    11
    8
See reviews for
58
208
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Hotel was extremely clean and very modern. Staff on reception were very friendly and helpful, and there was a smoking area just outside. The hotel was right near central station,and there was a really good coffee shop a 30 second walk from the hotel, which was handy!! Red light district just round the corner. In fact everything you needed was within walking distance. I will definatly use this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

It's a nice hotel, with appropriate prices for a nice location. It just around the corner from the Red Light District and very near the center. Madam Tussaud Museum is very near also. The rooms were not so spacious and not so clean (mostly bathroom area) as we expected but we were out most of the time and it did not ruin our experience.

Room Tip: If you want to be near the Red Lights - Perfect choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

After looking around so many hotels we decided to pick the Luxer. Thank God to our decision because it was the perfect location. After arriving at the Central Station we walk literally 5 minutes to get there. The hotel is access control which is great...always somebody at the front desk to open the door for you and greet you. Our check-in was fast and no problems at all. The room is exactly what we expected. It is a small room but perfect for our getaway. The staff was very nice and definitely took care of us answering all our questions in how to get to places. Even though they provide transportation everywhere we walked to all the attractions and museums. It is really easy to get around from the hotel and the red light district is right behind the hotel. I couldn't ask for anything better and I thank you the hotel staff for making our stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Free wi-fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Excellent hotel, Excellent location. The Luxer is no more than 5 mins walk from the train station, and is ideally placed if you want to use the coffee shops, it's also only 5 mins to the red light district, but dont let this put you off. The Luxer has 24 hr reception,and is buzzer entry. we stayed in room 401, the top floor room on it's own, it is a beautifull room especially for a couple, hardly any street noise. we didnt try the breakfast, but there is plenty of reasturants on the doorstep. I would highly recomend this hotel, Dont pay for transfers from schipol, take the train it is directly under the airport and is only 4 Euro

Room Tip: Ask for room 401, top floor on it's own
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 17-20/Dec/2012. The room was very nice and well equipped, free Wi-Fi, many restorants and bars around the hotel and the best thing is the location - most of the Amsterdam attractions are in walking distance. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Winter in Amsterdam - the city is amazing in the gray colors!

Room Tip: We satyed at the 3rd floor and it was nice and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at several hotels in Amsterdam and Rotterdam in my time and have to say that the Hotel Luxor is the best of them all.
Firstly this hotel will suit couples of all ages that are not embarrassed or nervous of Amsterdam’s more Adult scene. You don’t have to be a swinger to stay here! But you are very close to the red light district and coffee shops etc.. so if you are looking to go to Amsterdam Purely for the Incredible Museums, flowers, canals and sheer beauty it has to offer, then maybe this isn’t the hotel for you and you should be looking at somewhere closer to Dam Square.
The hotel is 5 minutes walk for Central station and is positioned at the end of a closed street so you don’t get passing traffic or too many drunks singing outside at 3am. But it is ideally situated on the very edge of the red light district and surrounded by coffee shops, so if that is your thing then you can spend as much time as you like being ‘adventurous’ but know that your hotel is a 2 minute walk away. The more Tranquil side of Amsterdam is also a 10 minute walk away and bike hire is available everywhere etc...
The hotel itself is very modern and although it pains me to give away my secrets make sure you ask for room 401 when booking.
We arrived, checked in and got our room key, we went to the top floor (3) and were met by a member of staff who politely asked “401?” we were then show up a small private staircase into a loft room which was huge! With a big bed, full bathroom, HD TV, and great views of the surrounding houses and streets. To get a room this size in Amsterdam is almost unheard of (unless you go to a big chain hotel in the middle of town and pay big money).
We absolutely loved this hotel and we cannot wait to go back. My review is obviously based on the large attic room (it was the same price as all other rooms) but I cannot give a full assessment on other room sizes.
Any Negatives? Don’t pay extra for the breakfast, it wasn’t very good quality and was very expensive. Also you’re in Amsterdam! So if you can’t find a nice place to get a lovely breakfast then you’re doing something wrong.
A fantastic hotel that we absolutely loved.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luxer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxer

Address: Warmoesstraat 11, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luxer 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Luxer is located right in the centre of Amsterdam's old and historical heart. This hotel is located in a completely renovated building and we offer you all the comfort you may expect from a 3-star hotel. The historic heart of the city, Amsterdam-Centrum impresses with world-famous attractions such as the Anne Frank House, Red Light District and Royal Palace. Enjoy a boat tour past traditional canal houses, old bridges and converted warehouses. Mornings can be spent browsing through the flea market on Waterlooplein, a square near the Jewish Museum. The Flowermarket is open 7 days a week and a must-see for every visitor. The picturesque Jordaan area radiates a unique atmosphere, thanks to its cosy cafés, art galleries and local boutiques.Hip clubs and trendy cocktails bars make up Amsterdam’s colourful nightlife. The hotel has a cozy bar and lounge. The Central Station, shopping area, restaurants, the Nieuwmarkt and the Dam Square are just 5 minutes walk from the hotel.There is a (public) car park in the direct vicinity of the hotel, which is easy to reach by car.Our amicable staff are ready to give a warm welcome to our private or business guests, and will make sure that you feel at home during your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Luxer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxer Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Luxer Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luxer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.