We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great little hotel if you're happy to stay in a "lively" area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luxer

Save Saved
You added Hotel Luxer to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Luxer
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warmoesstraat 11, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #51 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Really great little hotel if you're happy to stay in a "lively" area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights while in Amsterdam on business and thought this was a really great hotel. Very good value for money.

It is in a really busy area, just off of the red light district and near lots of bars and restaurants. Late at night it is still pretty lively! Having said that, the hotel and my room were quiet. it has 24 hour reception and friendly staff. The hotel and my room were extremely clean, modern and well equipped.

The room had a new flat screen tv, and was spotlessly clean and modern - a really nice room.

By reception there is a bar area served by the receptionist which was great for getting a cold beer or a coke.

For location, if you want to be a stone's throw from some of the busiest parts of Amsterdam, it is terrific.

Personally I loved this hotel, thought it was excellent value for money and had no complaints whatsoever.

I'd definitely stay here again and am happy to recommend it to anyone, except possibly older more reserved guests, simply because it is in a "lively" part of town. However I should add that to me the area seemed perfectly safe all the time, including very late at night.

Great hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    177
    36
    11
    6
See reviews for
50
177
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

we booked for one night because it was very close to train station, it was surprisingly good, the hotel is clean, the room was lovely for Amsterdam hotels, big and bright. the street is one of the busiest streets in the red light district but still the room was very quite in the night time. we have stayed in almost every hotel in amsterdam and this was a good surprise. the only problem is that the check out is at 11 AM, so be aware of that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This hotel was perfect for our 48 hours in Amsterdam. It is about 3 minutes walk from the Centraal station and 1 minute from all the bars and ‘sights’ but far enough down the street not to be bothered by it. Location is always of prime importance to us, and we couldn’t have chosen better really. It’s easy to find as well with its bright pink signage out front
The lobby where we checked in is very smart and modern and everything from the bar fixtures to the seating looks brand new. The bar is reasonably priced too for a 24 service in a major city. The receptionist was very friendly and informative advising us about breakfast (€10 until 11am, we didn’t eat bother but it looked and smelt nice), bar service, making phone calls, wi-fi and checking out. He also advised us to get the Metro the Heineken Music Hall, saving us €40 on a taxi!
The room we had was 202 on the second floor and in the corner of the building. It is on the small side, and doesn’t seem true to photos on their website or even the ones they display in reception. For what we needed it for (sleeping and washing basically), it was ideal. Two singles pushed together isn’t really the double we booked but again not a major issue. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. Didn’t notice any outside noise either. The housekeeping come around quite late in the day, I think it was about 3pm when they came to make our beds
Our second night here, we came back to the hotel quite late. The reception / bar staff were quite happy for us to stay up for another couple of drinks, and gave us free nibbles with our beer which was nice. When we were ready to go upstairs we asked if there was a possibility of late checkout. We were told that yes this is not a problem, late checkout is 12 midday. When we asked how much we were pleasantly surprised to be told that there was no charge, we just have to let them know!
I realise this might not be for everyone, but for us it was perfect. Close to everything, great service, clean, smart and safe. It was also quite the bargain in my opinion. We booked six weeks before the trip and got it for £65 per night. They were advertising a walk in rate of €100 at reception which is well worth it too
Would have no issue recommending this hotel or booking it again

Room Tip: Possibly not a corner one, as it was pretty small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The location is excellent, the rooms were clean and spacious and the staff were extremely helpful. The receptionist Andrew was a complete gentleman and did help make our stay more enjoyable. We would definitely go back and would recommend this hotel to others.

5 Stars.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

If you want the classical Amsterdam experience, this is the place.

A second visit to Amsterdam in a couple of months. This time we needed to stay close to the central railway to allow convenience for an early morning flight. Initially concerned due to its location bang smack in the middle of the red light area - but absolutely not a problem. I would send my grandma there. (Actually judging by some of the ladies of the night, it appears many have!)

The hotel was exceptionally clean, the rooms modern, excellent bathroom. Great bed and linen. Breakfast looked great but we opted for one of the many options in close proximity.

Reception varied. One staff member was totally indifferent to guests. Actually, he was totally disinterested. Not the best of welcomes. Thankfully the great rooms made up for his attitude. To be fair, the next person we encountered on reception was very helpful.

In summary. Great value, great location and a classy hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This hotel is at the top of Warmoestraat - thats 1 minute walk from central station! This area is VERY BUSY 24/7, its busling with coffee-shop visitors, red light voyeurs and is also the location of a number of Gay Bars. I think its the most interesting street I've ever walked on, the vast mix of different people from all over the world make it very exciting to watch/be part of.

The hotel itself seems to be either brand new, or had a major over haul. Its very sharp, smart and modern. The rooms were a good size (for amsterdam). We had a comfortable double/twin room it had wide screen LCD TV, wardrobe, tea/coffee facilities, shower, basin and WC. The window in the hotel was on the room, and could not be opened. However the room did have air conditioning system. Everything felt brand-new and the hotel and rooms were COMPLETELY SPOTLESS. Staff were very friendly and spoke good English.

All this said, it was quite expensive, so for the price, we got what we expected (a good hotel in a central location, very clean, modern and safe).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Luxer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luxer

Address: Warmoesstraat 11, 1012 HT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Dam Square , Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luxer 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Luxer is located right in the centre of Amsterdam's old and historical heart. This hotel is located in a completely renovated building and we offer you all the comfort you may expect from a 3-star hotel. The historic heart of the city, Amsterdam-Centrum impresses with world-famous attractions such as the Anne Frank House, Red Light District and Royal Palace. Enjoy a boat tour past traditional canal houses, old bridges and converted warehouses. Mornings can be spent browsing through the flea market on Waterlooplein, a square near the Jewish Museum. The Flowermarket is open 7 days a week and a must-see for every visitor. The picturesque Jordaan area radiates a unique atmosphere, thanks to its cosy cafés, art galleries and local boutiques.Hip clubs and trendy cocktails bars make up Amsterdam’s colourful nightlife. The hotel has a cozy bar and lounge. The Central Station, shopping area, restaurants, the Nieuwmarkt and the Dam Square are just 5 minutes walk from the hotel.There is a (public) car park in the direct vicinity of the hotel, which is easy to reach by car.Our amicable staff are ready to give a warm welcome to our private or business guests, and will make sure that you feel at home during your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Luxer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxer Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Luxer Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luxer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.