We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel cheap and cheerfull and bar restaurant is amazing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Old Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Old Quarter to your Saves list
Hotel Old Quarter
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #278 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Hotel cheap and cheerfull and bar restaurant is amazing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here over the last few days for the wintermarket. Rooms were tidy and clean and what I'd expect for the money paid. The bar restaurant was lovely and the staff were more than accommodating. The food was just unreal! All home made produce and the steak was melt in your mouth! Really relaxed environment. Would defiantly eat here again and if I was on a budget again I would stay here again for a night at the most.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    145
    105
    76
    94
See reviews for
23
144
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

YEP ! its this type of hotel , you go there once and you wonder why the you didnt wanted to book something a bit more expensive cos now you regret ..impossible to sleep 3 hours straight in this HOSTEL....doors banging , paper thin walls, disgusting bathroom, smelly room, old carpet , cold temperature i mean no hitter on ....you can hear everything from the street just down the hotel and considering this is the warmoesstraat, pretty busy 24h/7 its pretty noisy ....

so yeah avoid this place except if you just need a place for your bags

the people who work there (no locals) make you feel like you are disturbing them every time you talk them , they are rude , not happy to be there

only the "chef" is a nice guy and will always have a smile for you ..

SO basically dont go there ....it was probably the tenth time i came to Amsterdam and i ll never do that mistake again , better to go to a normal hostel instead of paying for this cheap hotel

never again

Room Tip: theres no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The room was as basic as you can get. 2 small beds in a room barely bigger than those beds. More of a closet really. Shared toilet and shower were clean overall and the catacombe feeling of the hallways has its charm but 70 euros a night for the cheapest room definetely there, wasn't worth it. Location excellent and cool staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Upon arriving at the old quarter hotel we were anxious to check our bags in.. When we arrived the man at the main desk was generalizing us saying we're out to get high instead of visiting attractions. Then he asked if we'd like to put our bags in a communal closet with everyone elses as our room wasn't ready by "the cleaner" When we got to our "room" we were disgusted! Room number 9.. The highest climb in the hotel. And the steep stairs would do away with you and I'm only in my mid 20s. The room was absolutely filthy! We weren't expecting the Ritz but this was something else! Lighter burns on the wall. Filthy carpets with spills, tv didn't work, I didn't shower there as I would have been worse off showering there. The atmosphere was creepy there at night too. Your safety and wellbeing isn't guaranteed as we we're on The top floor, and there were dodgy guys next door to us.When I think of this place as a hotel it makes me more giddy than any marijuana in Amsterdam! Will never darken the old quarter "hotel" ever again! Shame as the location was perfect and the bar wasn't too bad! Deffo some money, maintenance and effort is needed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked a room for 4 people which was cold, damp, smelly with one of the worst bathrooms I have ever had to use. We paid £120 between us and we didn't even get breakfast despite the fact that the ground floor of the hotel is a restaurant. You access the hotel through the restaurant and get one key per room which you have the leave when you go out, you are given a card with the room number on which you have to show to get your key when you return....whatever you do don't misplace your card. Location wise the hotel is great if you want to party in the red light district plus it's only 10 minutes to walk to central station. Also, beware they take payment from your credit card prior to arrival in case you don't show up, so when you leave if you use a different payment method, they hold both payments for up to 5 days, something they don't tell you on arrival.

Room Tip: Don't go the 4 bed room on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great price, great location and outstanding staff, I would definitely stay here again for another long weekend! We stayed for 3 nights, on the first, we hadn't paid to upgrade to a canal view and I must say, it did look like we were staying in a shed. There were holes in the walls but hey, that's what you get for 1 star! haha. The second and third night, we DID upgrade and it was idea for us. Perfectly clean, lovely views and close to everything. Perfect for crawling back high at 2am!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get the room overlooking the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#235 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#144 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#212 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#249 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Hotel De Koopermoolen
#178 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#59 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Quarter

Address: Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Old Quarter 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Old Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Quarter Hotel
Old Quarter Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Old Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.