We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved staying here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Old Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Old Quarter to your Saves list
Hotel Old Quarter
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #276 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I loved staying here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great price, great location and outstanding staff, I would definitely stay here again for another long weekend! We stayed for 3 nights, on the first, we hadn't paid to upgrade to a canal view and I must say, it did look like we were staying in a shed. There were holes in the walls but hey, that's what you get for 1 star! haha. The second and third night, we DID upgrade and it was idea for us. Perfectly clean, lovely views and close to everything. Perfect for crawling back high at 2am!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get the room overlooking the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    145
    107
    76
    95
See reviews for
24
144
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed here with 12 lads on a stag do, I was the organiser so was obviously nervous about our choice of hotel!! We chose the Old Quarter mainly due to its central location and low price which lets face it is all you want on a stag do.

We had two quads and two doubles and I was located in the quads at the very top of the hotel so I cant comment on the doubles. The quads however were located at the very top of the hotel up the steepest stairs I've ever experienced in my life and 'overlooking' the centre of the hotel... basically all the other rooms.

The room itself was small but not horrendously so, we just had a bit of a laugh about it then went for a drink, lets face it, we didn't spend much time in the room!! The bathroom was good and was more of a wet room but the shower was great and certainly blasted the hangovers away!! The beds weren't the comfiest, the walls were a bit dirty, the tv was pointlessly small and the room was bland - but we were on a stag do and it was perfect for what we needed.

The hotel entrance is into the bar and the bartenders were all extremely friendly (if a little busy and rushed in the mornings) and they really did add something to our trip, I didn't catch his name but the guy behind the bar was particularly friendly and when we stumbled back in at 2am one morning still wanted to get us a drink and was very hospitable.

I didn't sample the breakfast any morning but we did have a burger there one night which was actually very good. The bar has a great selection of drinks too and had a very sociable and friendly atmosphere about it. During our stay we got talking to another stag do and a lone American businessman!

Finally, the location, this is where the hotel is the best. 5 minutes from the station, 5 minutes from Dam square and 5 minutes from the buzz and sights and sounds. Its about as central as you can get which was great for us.

All in all we had a great stag do and the hotel did help. No I wouldn't take the girlfriend here, no I wouldn't stay here on business but for our stag do it is deserving of its very good status and for groups of friends, tourists on a budget or people who aren't fussed about 5 star quality or the little extra's this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was my first ever stay over in Amsterdam and I was at least expecting somewhere clean to lay my head... The room itself was very basic to say the least (80 euros) & the shower floor was so manky I actually got showered in my socks and then threw them in the bin!!!! Unless you're smacked off your tits, give this hotel a miss! In addition, because its on the main 'coffee shop' street, there is relentless noise into the early hours and then just to make sure you can't possibly sleep there is an early morning glass collection by the local council.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries,Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

At last, a hotel you can smoke in! And it has cheery staff and a decent bar/restaurant. The rooms are wee and there are no doubles but they are serviceable and clean and the beds are cumfy, will stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Spend the extra euros for the canal view rooms. Stayed here a few times over the past 6 years, and it has always been a pleasure. Friendly and helpful staff, stupendous location and comfy room! 200 characters is way too many, thanks.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms, for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My bed sheets had not been changed and had been slept in by a woman who had bleed on the sheets from her menstrual cycle. Unfortunately, the bed was made and I didn't discover this to midway through the night when I got up to go to the bathroom. There were three single beds in this room. I said to my wife, who was as shocked as I was, that maybe they were stains from another time, which she said in a very knowing fashion, that no, these sheets had not been washed! Fortunately, there was another bed for me to sleep in. Unfortunately, the bed was broken. Other than that, a great location and good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I used to go to Amsterdam for the Week-end, I have already been 3 times in this hotel and each time, it was perfect.
The service is great, the front office agent is very nice always smiling and happy to see you here.
The complimentary breakfast is perfect to start a good days in this beautiful city.

Last time, we were udgrated to a canal view room and I really appreciate that, the view was incredible.

Room Tip: Canal View is awesome !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#238 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#210 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#250 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#253 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#227 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Quarter

Address: Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Old Quarter 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Old Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Quarter Hotel
Old Quarter Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Old Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.