We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a rat pit!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Old Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Old Quarter to your Saves list
Hotel Old Quarter
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #290 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lincolnshire
1 review
“What a rat pit!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was my first ever stay over in Amsterdam and I was at least expecting somewhere clean to lay my head... The room itself was very basic to say the least (80 euros) & the shower floor was so manky I actually got showered in my socks and then threw them in the bin!!!! Unless you're smacked off your tits, give this hotel a miss! In addition, because its on the main 'coffee shop' street, there is relentless noise into the early hours and then just to make sure you can't possibly sleep there is an early morning glass collection by the local council.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minky_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dumfries,Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

At last, a hotel you can smoke in! And it has cheery staff and a decent bar/restaurant. The rooms are wee and there are no doubles but they are serviceable and clean and the beds are cumfy, will stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clareboob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Spend the extra euros for the canal view rooms. Stayed here a few times over the past 6 years, and it has always been a pleasure. Friendly and helpful staff, stupendous location and comfy room! 200 characters is way too many, thanks.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms, for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkingwindows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My bed sheets had not been changed and had been slept in by a woman who had bleed on the sheets from her menstrual cycle. Unfortunately, the bed was made and I didn't discover this to midway through the night when I got up to go to the bathroom. There were three single beds in this room. I said to my wife, who was as shocked as I was, that maybe they were stains from another time, which she said in a very knowing fashion, that no, these sheets had not been washed! Fortunately, there was another bed for me to sleep in. Unfortunately, the bed was broken. Other than that, a great location and good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I used to go to Amsterdam for the Week-end, I have already been 3 times in this hotel and each time, it was perfect.
The service is great, the front office agent is very nice always smiling and happy to see you here.
The complimentary breakfast is perfect to start a good days in this beautiful city.

Last time, we were udgrated to a canal view room and I really appreciate that, the view was incredible.

Room Tip: Canal View is awesome !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed in a canal view room with a bathroom.
Check in was easy, and we had our bags stored in the cupboard - as ours were big bags, it was easy to find them again however if you had small bags they would quickly get lost.
Our room was on the 3rd floor - very basic amenities however the view was simply amazing!
Wifi is free when in reception and the women working the bar & reception were very lovely & welcoming.
We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PugglyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Had to stay here for work because all other hotels full. Absolutely horrific room like a prison cell - one dim bulb, too dark to read. Filthy and everything was broken - TV, lights, soap dispenser. Stained towels and bed linen. Is hard to believe the pics here are the same hotel I went to. The bar was perfectly nice everything else was terrible. And it cost 150 euro a night yet was worse than any hostel I stayed in backpacking.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura1973work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#152 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 972 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#216 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,622 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#257 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#58 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Quarter

Address: Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Old Quarter 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Old Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Quarter Hotel
Old Quarter Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing