We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilled out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Old Quarter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Old Quarter to your Saves list
Hotel Old Quarter
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #278 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dumfries,Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Chilled out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

At last, a hotel you can smoke in! And it has cheery staff and a decent bar/restaurant. The rooms are wee and there are no doubles but they are serviceable and clean and the beds are cumfy, will stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    145
    105
    76
    94
See reviews for
23
144
43
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Spend the extra euros for the canal view rooms. Stayed here a few times over the past 6 years, and it has always been a pleasure. Friendly and helpful staff, stupendous location and comfy room! 200 characters is way too many, thanks.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms, for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My bed sheets had not been changed and had been slept in by a woman who had bleed on the sheets from her menstrual cycle. Unfortunately, the bed was made and I didn't discover this to midway through the night when I got up to go to the bathroom. There were three single beds in this room. I said to my wife, who was as shocked as I was, that maybe they were stains from another time, which she said in a very knowing fashion, that no, these sheets had not been washed! Fortunately, there was another bed for me to sleep in. Unfortunately, the bed was broken. Other than that, a great location and good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I used to go to Amsterdam for the Week-end, I have already been 3 times in this hotel and each time, it was perfect.
The service is great, the front office agent is very nice always smiling and happy to see you here.
The complimentary breakfast is perfect to start a good days in this beautiful city.

Last time, we were udgrated to a canal view room and I really appreciate that, the view was incredible.

Room Tip: Canal View is awesome !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed in a canal view room with a bathroom.
Check in was easy, and we had our bags stored in the cupboard - as ours were big bags, it was easy to find them again however if you had small bags they would quickly get lost.
Our room was on the 3rd floor - very basic amenities however the view was simply amazing!
Wifi is free when in reception and the women working the bar & reception were very lovely & welcoming.
We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Had to stay here for work because all other hotels full. Absolutely horrific room like a prison cell - one dim bulb, too dark to read. Filthy and everything was broken - TV, lights, soap dispenser. Stained towels and bed linen. Is hard to believe the pics here are the same hotel I went to. The bar was perfectly nice everything else was terrible. And it cost 150 euro a night yet was worse than any hostel I stayed in backpacking.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Old Quarter for a hen weekend, we booked for 18 and everyone enjoyed, rooms were clean and adequate for what we wanted. Was in great location central for everywhere we wanted to go. Staff were excellent from the moment we arrived until we departed really friendly and couldnt do enough for us. Service was great at the bar and food was excellent. This has to be the cheapest hotel that I have stayed in and probably the best staff. (have stayed in many big hotels and staff not friendly). When we return to Amsterdam would definately be booking the Old Quarter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#235 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#144 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#212 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#249 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Hotel De Koopermoolen
#178 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#59 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Quarter

Address: Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Old Quarter 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Old Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Quarter Hotel
Old Quarter Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Old Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.