We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kims dodgey do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Old Quarter

Save Saved
You added Hotel Old Quarter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Old Quarter
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #240 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kims dodgey do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Old Quarter for a hen weekend, we booked for 18 and everyone enjoyed, rooms were clean and adequate for what we wanted. Was in great location central for everywhere we wanted to go. Staff were excellent from the moment we arrived until we departed really friendly and couldnt do enough for us. Service was great at the bar and food was excellent. This has to be the cheapest hotel that I have stayed in and probably the best staff. (have stayed in many big hotels and staff not friendly). When we return to Amsterdam would definately be booking the Old Quarter.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    127
    79
    58
    72
See reviews for
18
120
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights and were more than happy with our stay. We had a canal view room which was small but clean and comfortable with a small bathroom with a shower. It included an adequate breakfast of bacon and eggs or full English breakfast. It was an excellent location and was close to railway station, all kinds of restaurants and fast food, "coffee shops", and many attractions. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was a pleasure to be in the bar/restaurant there where the food and service was very good. We would not hesitate to stay there again. I would recommend a canal view room to get you away from the street noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in a good location, within 10 minutes walk from the central station and lots of bars, restaurants around. In fact, check-in was located inside a restaurant reception area.

The room was on the 3rd floor in the building opposite the restaurant where I checked in. It was tiny and had a double bed which took up most of the room. Furnishings looked cheap and basic, but usable. Small tv with so-so reception. Surprisingly big and clean bathroom with a toilet, shower and sink.

Soundproofing wasn’t great. The area is full of bars and restaurants, and at night you could hear people talking and laughing on the streets till late at night. Bad news if you are a light sleeper.

Breakfast is prepared fresh at the restaurant, with bacon, eggs and toast. It’s so nice to have freshly-prepared breakfast.

They had a store room where you can store your luggage if you came too early before check-in or if you still wanted to wander around the city after check-out. A word of caution, if you are one of the first to put your bags in, you could come back at a later time to a full store room, and you would had to dig through the mountain of bags to locate your bag underneath (haha!).

In short: good location, light sleepers beware!

Room Tip: Higher floors less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playa del rey, ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

If you just want to have a place to crash, close to the station, in the middle of Dam Square then this is a great place. If you're looking for nice accommodations with your own private bath then this is not the place. The room we had stunk of cigarette smoke and was tiny for 3 adults. But it served it purpose as a place to spend the night since we were only in Amsterdam for a night.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel is in a good location within 5-7 minutes walk from central station and close to bars, restuarants etc. Breakfast was freshly cooked with bacon/egg/coffee/hot toast. We have a twin room and it was TINY, very very small with almost no room to move, a room only good for sleeping. The furnitures was cheap and basic, but seem quite clean and the towels were replaced daily. Wifi was provided but we could only get it in the restuarant area but not in our hotel room. It was a bit over priced. We most likely will not want to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a great hotel if you're the sort of person that doesn't hang around the hotel much, but rather for sleeping and having a good meal in the morning. we had a room at the 4th floor, and the view was EXTRAORDINARY!!!
So if you're going to amsterdam and want to explore the city, i recommend this hotel. if you're looking for a hotel with a spa and that sort of stuff, this is not for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Quarter

Address: Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Old Quarter 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Old Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Quarter Hotel
Old Quarter Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Old Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.