We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if you're looking for a place to sleep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Old Quarter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Old Quarter to your Saves list
Hotel Old Quarter
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel if you're looking for a place to sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a great hotel if you're the sort of person that doesn't hang around the hotel much, but rather for sleeping and having a good meal in the morning. we had a room at the 4th floor, and the view was EXTRAORDINARY!!!
So if you're going to amsterdam and want to explore the city, i recommend this hotel. if you're looking for a hotel with a spa and that sort of stuff, this is not for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    134
    91
    65
    77
See reviews for
20
125
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my stag do last weekend and it was happy to home all 14 of us. This place is right in the middle of Amsterdam, literally 1 minute away from the station centraal. The staff are very helpful, but he rooms are very very basic. Especially when we was charged £50 per person per night. I'd expect this sort of room for £20 maximum. The location doesnt quite make up for the price of the room as there are better around if your not travelling in a group. You won't be disappointed when you run into this hotel 2 minutes from the station, you will however when you see you're room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Found it perfect for a good nights sleep- really comfortable beds, decent breakfast and nice service for the price. It is small and the twin rooms are tiny but you get what you pay for.

Good shower and the free wifi is a bonus. I'd stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great staff very helpful,rooms very clean and spacious.Beds first class to get a good nights sleep in.Cost of the stay with a good breakfast in the morning first class.The location of the hotel is a plus as it,s located in an ideal area to explore everyhting Amsterdam as to offer.People who complain about this hotel must be expecting a 5star hotel you get what you pay for and ive stayed in some 5 star hotels,this one gives you everyhtibng you need for good base to explore

Room Tip: Room H1 very good and clean spacious as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I came here on a hen do - there were 11 of us girls in 4 rooms. All of them were big and clean, basic, but we didnt expect anything more. Could not give anyone a reason to complain!
The staff were friendy and the food was good, nice bar to have a few drinks and relax before we headed out.
It is situated right in the redlight district and the view of the canal was very nice!

I assume those bad reviews are people that expected the ritz, but actually got what they paid for. It is defiantely one of the cheapest places to stay in the centre. And for those that expected a toilet in your room maybe you should have selected a room that states it has an en-suite! It actually states that some rooms have shared facilities and they are cheaper so Im not sure how folk get confused over this! It also doesnt say anything about hospitality in your rooms so dont expect a kettle!

Overall I'd say to people if you are expecting a 'Premier Inn' style hotel in Amsterdam centre - this is not the one for you, and you won't find what you're looking for on a cheap budget.
For those of you wanting a bed for the night with a little perks such as a nice bar, good brekki & a lift, with clean facilities then this is definately a good find!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Please do not stay here ! I am confused by some of the ok reviews. I am the kind of person that can stay anywhere if its clean ! now after paying £180 for 2 nights I expected a clean room. The place is a dirty dump, no toilet in room all the way down the stairs, shared showers which I would have came out dirtier if I used. Good location, but absolute dirty, disgusting dump. Would not wish it on my worst enemy. This is more a hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Old Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Old Quarter

Address: Warmoestraat 22 | 1012 JD Amsterdam, 1012 JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Old Quarter 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Old Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Quarter Hotel
Old Quarter Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Old Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.