We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“David Bowie show...to be missed.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Foam - Photography Museum Amsterdam

Foam - Photography Museum Amsterdam
Keizersgracht 609, 1017 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
+31 20 55 16 500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 247 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Foam enables people all over the world to experience and enjoy photography, whether it's at our museum in Amsterdam, on the website, via Foam Magazine or in our Editions Gallery.Completed in 1716, the building where Foam is situated - Keizersgracht 609 - first operated as a warehouse. In 2002 it became Foam and has since been a hotspot for photography lovers.Foam nurtures and shows upcoming artists in combination with exhibitions of well known photographers and historical work. It has a gallery, library, bookshop and cafe.
From Here to There
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“David Bowie show...to be missed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were quite disappointed with the David Bowie show at the annex Foam building on Vijzelstraat. The show was very small...very very small...there were of course a few interesting images, but by a few I mean literally, a few. The photography was mediocre, and all I could think was, jeez...I wish a better photographer had the chance to shoot these shots. The quality of the reproductions was beyond poor...highly digitized pixelation, poor quality paper, what a waste! Sorry to the artist...I'm sure this isn't an accurate depiction of your best work.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    82
    40
    21
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
859 reviews 859 reviews
472 attraction reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
1,139 helpful votes 1,139 helpful votes
“The buildidng is the star.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went tonight to the opening of the Edward Steichen exhibit of fashion photography, mostly from the '30's. It was ok. The structure of the museum is actually several canal houses joined together. The cumulative garden area behind the houses forming the museum is lush, green and perfect for whiling away some time on a nice summer day. The museum is free on thursday evenings after 5:30, and here is a discount for seniors and students. There is a cafe on the premises.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We really enjoyed the special exhibits when we visited. Also, nice garden out the back. The café looked nice, but we didn't try it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Thought-provoking museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

As holders of a Museumkaart, we were looking for as many different museum experiences as we had time for during our 4 days in Amsterdam. We walked into FOAM with a mild curiosity, and left it as great admirers. The Stephen Gill exhibition in particular is a wealth of material that is fascinating and provocative. As a photographer, his creative process is diverse and well-represented here at FOAM. The other exhibitions were not as extensive but still engaging. Keep your eyes peeled for the tucked-away library (available by appointment only, we assume, as it was locked) that is a clever use of space.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I really enjoyed the photography and the amount of works there. The staff was friendly and, since the first time I went there I was with someone in a wheelchair, wheelchair let me come back the next day to see what I had to skip due to my friend not being able to join. On that note, I do wish there were more handicap accessible ramps. Besides that, my one true complaint was the price. It was a bit steep for myself as a student traveling to study contemporary art.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foam - Photography Museum Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Foam - Photography Museum Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foam - Photography Museum Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.