We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located - could be improved!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Central Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Central Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Amsterdam Central Bed and Breakfast
Oudebrugsteeg 6-II, Amsterdam 1012 JP, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well located - could be improved!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent 3 nights in Amsterdam and staied at the lower room. The location ist perfect. A few minutes to all the hot spots and only a short walk to Central Station.
The room had a good size. The bath was tiny but it had everything we needed. What we really dind't like was the fact that there was carpet everywhere. It was filthy and had a very bad smell. So it was impossible to close the window in the room.
The kitchen was nice. Although we would have appreciated more choice for breakfast. We had the same cheese and sausage during the whole time. Some yogurt would have been nice too.
Lets not talk about the stairs...a challenge :-) But definitely unforgettable. Would be good to mention it on the Website as it is impossible to manage for handicapped people.
The host was nice and helpful,, the location couldn't be better. But I think I wouldn't stay there again as it was just a bit to filthy and dark.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
34
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Husband & I were in Amsterdam on work/pleasure trip, needed to be close to Amsterdam Central railroad station, knew nothing about lodgings/neighborhoods. We chose this B&B partly because my husband's on a restricted diet and we could use the guest kitchen and our room would have a small fridge. We were delighted with everything. Right in a lively area yet our double set of windows kept the street noise down to a pleasant background hum of people having fun. Actual red light businesses are at least 3 blocks away. Our host Cees (pronounced like case) was so helpful in every way and we shared several chats in the evening. The wide choice of breakfast provisions (serve yourself) were delicious and the kitchen was bright. Free internet access was a plus and Cees helped us in ways too numerous to list here. Ditch the boring hotel room and stay here!

Room Tip: Loft room has nice view of church bell tower. If you can't deal with stairs, or the fact that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Close to main train station and Trams. Coffee shop, sex shops and the Red Light District around the corner. We stayed in the Loft room and it was fantastic. High beamed ceilings, in suite full bathroom, fridge. The kitchen room is all set up with what you needed to make your own. Eggs, meats, cereals, breads, yogurt, cheese, etc. Had breakfast with a couple from South Africa and enjoyed making breakfast together. To get to the loft you walk up stairs that are bizzare. Almost like climbing a ladder. You get used to them and will talk about them forever. The host is informative and then stays out of the way. Even let us do our laundry in house. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The neighborhood is a bit noisy but being in the loft room with windows closed helped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We were 3 friends and we rented the apartment Old Bridge. One living room with kitchen, small room with 4 beds and private bathroom. Good House , not perfect as you can see in photos on wibsite but anyway very practice and every comforts in the kitchen (even a dishwasher). Very clean bathroom and sheets (the rest of the apartment so and so, dishes very clean anyway).
Perfect shower and warm water .
Very quite the bedroom (even if one night we heard air conditioned machine in use or something like that from near house or whatever )
Location: very very good. Near to Dam square , central station, at the entrance of red light district. The place is very strategic to visit Amsterdam .
Case or Cees, i dont know how to write his name , the owner , is very kind and helpful.
I recommend this place . Enjoy your visit in Amsterdam , amazing town

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The loft room is small and compact but very cosy and warm. Has a lovely view of the church spire and you can hear the church bells ringing but not so loudly to disturb your sleep. If you are very tall this room may not be the best for you, the beams were very low in the small bathroom. The room has character. The kitchen is lovely and the self serve breakfast was great, served until 2pm so no need to wake up early. Also possible to make tea coffee anytime. As other have said the stairs are seriously steep.

The location is spot on, we walked nearly everywhere. The only thing I didn't like was that on the double bed there were two single duvets.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Just spent 3 nights with teenage kids at the B & B. The location is perfect, 5 mins walk from Central Station. Both rooms are clean, spacious and romantic, much better than some hotels in Europe (kids love the loft room), kitchen is well organized and with wide selections of bread, cereal, cold cuts, juices,tea, coffee, fresh milk, eggs etc......guarantee you a satisfy breakfast each day. Going up and down the steep stairs will become fun after the first day......walking distance to many restaurants and bar and also the red light district, very happening area but safe and can have good sleep. Free wifi is a bonus, connection is fast.
The host, Cees is friendly and lovely, just like your best friend, he did the washing of dishes for us and helps with our luggage even though we left early in the morning. Will definately come back when visit Amsterdam again and recommend to all to try this lovely B&B in this lovely city :) Reminder : Don't mess up the place, is very clean and well organized ;)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We arrived, and couldnt find the door, then were slightly scared that it was between the hustle & bustle of a cake shop & cafe. But fear not, when we were greeted by the lovely Cees, we were shown to The Lower Room. It was great, just big enough for us two. The kitchen upstairs had everything, even for fussy people like me. We spent ages hanging out he window watching the world go by, its a noisey street, but once u shut the windows, u cant hear a thing. Its a great location, 2mins walk to lots of pubs/cafes & restaurants. Right next to red light, but it wasnt in your face really, only late at night. Yes the stairs are steep, but very funny. It was a week break for my boyfriends 40th. Hope to stay there again and get on the tram & go further.

Room Tip: im guessing The Loft is very quiet at the top, but The Lower Room was quiet enough for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Central Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Central Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
Amsterdam Central Hotel
Amsterdam Central b&b
Amsterdam Central Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Oudebrugsteeg 6-II, Amsterdam 1012 JP, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast rooms and apartments in the city center at 5 minutes walking distance from the central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Amsterdam Central Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Central Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.