We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DESTINATION EUROPE APPROVES - CHARMING B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Synopsis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Synopsis to your Saves list
Hotel Synopsis
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Nieuwe Keizersgracht 22-A, 1018 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 324 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Columbus, OH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“DESTINATION EUROPE APPROVES - CHARMING B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

WOW - having been to Amsterdam four times now and staying in many different hotels and in many different locations - this property is a true gem. If you are looking for a charming, elegant, romantic, and central property in Amsterdam - this is it. The rooms are luxuriously and elegantly appointed. They are large as are the bathrooms with a very nice and large tub. Elisabeth, the owner, takes great care in decorating the rooms and seeing to it that her guests are received warmly and have everything that they may need during their stay. The property is very central and about 10 minutes walking to the Dam Square - it is in an excellent location out of the seedy and noisy areas of the city in a charming and upscale residential neighborhood. There are many great boutique shops and restaurants in this part of the city - not as touristy as many other parts closer to Dam Square. I have used this property for many of our clients during their Honeymoons and now having personally visited and stayed there, I can say that our agents were right on with recommending this hotel to many of our clients. This is a true three star hotel with only three rooms and extremely personal attention. Thank you Elizabeth for a truly wonderful experience

Kayla Zeigler
Destination Europe

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton,England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Stayed end June 2009 in the garden room.
The hotel is well situated close enough to the main city centre attractions. Room was imaculate, large and well equiped. Mrs Witte was very helpful and made the stay special with lovely touches such as a welcome bottle of wine and chocolates. The garden was a bonus and made the room an oasis of tranquility. Didn't have the breakfast but there are loads of eateries locally. It is opposite the Hermitage museum which opended during our stay and is a bonus for the area.
Would definately return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karn@linkline.com
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

Thanks to another traveler who mentioned this hotel, we decided to give it a try. We have been more than satisfied. It is extre,e;y clean, tastefully decorated, located on a canal, very unique, and there are bus lines nearby to take you anywhere you want to go. Elisabeth,who runs the hotel, gave us a map, and each day we consulted her on how to best get where we were going. She was right on each time. There are only 3 rooms here, and so it is really more like a B&B, except that if you want breakfast, you pay for it. But it is so cozy and special, believe me, we totally enjoyed it. It is also quiet, and almost seems like we are among the locals. It is not in the center of town, in all of the hustle and bustle, but it is only a 10 minute walk away. Also, we have a computer with internet in our room. In fact, I am using it to write this! We are just loving Amsterdam!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

I've kept this review purely focused on the hotel. If you want more general information about Amsterdam and it's surroundings I highly recommend the 'The Rough Guide'.

The Synopsis does not meet the description of an 'hotel' in the normal sense. It would be better described as an upmarket guesthouse, as it lacks all the usual facilities one might expect in a hotel. E.G., There is no bar, restaurant or public lounge area. Bliss !

The Synopsis has to be one of the most comfortable, homely and welcoming places I've ever stayed in. Elizabeth de Witte, the owner/proprietor has created a lovely little establishment that makes you feel right at home the minute you walk in the door.
The 3 rooms are located in an old canalside building. The adjacent street is only for the use of residents and the occasional delivery vehicle, so there is no passing traffic to disturb you even if you are in the room facing the street (the other two are to the rear overlooking the garden).

All the rooms are equipped with a mini kitchen area where you can make tea/coffee/soup etc. Everything you need is include in the room rate and replenished daily, including still and fizzy water and sweets.
The fridge is also well stocked with fruit juices, a good selection of alcohol and mixers. You pay extra for these of course in the normal way.

As for the rooms, well what can I say ? They are spacious, beautifully decorated and well equipped with wireless internet (free), fans, safety deposit boxes and the comfiest king size beds in Amsterdam.
Bathrooms are equally impressive with hair drier, bath robes, slippers and toiletries supplied.

Cleanliness ? I get the impression that any speck of dirt would have to be VERY well hidden to escape the attention of the doughty Elizabeth.
The whole place is absolutely spotless.

Breakfast (an extra 12 euros, and good value in my opinion) consists of a choice of various savoury and sweet breads, cream cheeses, 4 different preserves, boiled eggs and coffee. You can add to this just about anything you like (at extra cost) from a long list, including omelettes, scrambled eggs, cold meats, cheeses and so on, but be warned, you had better be hungry ! Breakfast can be served in your room, the kitchen or out in the lovely garden if the weather is kind.

Your host, Elizabeth, is a mine of information about her city. I get the impression that anything she doesn't know isn't worth knowing, so feel free to ask her about the best reataurants to visit and so on.

I should perhaps explain why I have given the Synopsis a 5/5 for location. As said above, the hotel is in a quiet area well away from the 'hot spots' which suited us perfectly, although I realise that may not suit everone.
An easy 15 minute stroll will, however, take you to a good selection of cafes and restaurants. You are also fairly close to tram and metro links which will take you anywhere across the city.

If you want big hotel facilities bang in the middle of things, then you may want to look elsewhere. If, however, you want a comfortable well run little 'home from home' in Amsterdam then look no further.
Book early and enjoy !

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

Honestly I chose this hotel after reading some TripAdvisor reviews, and the actual experience has been even better than what I was expecting at first.
I will not add many details because a lot has been written already.
I have traveled quite a lot for business, as well as for leisure, and I'd say I'm pretty fussy about hotels, especially about the price/value ratio. I've happily slept in cheap hotels that were correctly inexpensive, and I've experienced a great Four Seasons resort at Hawaii which was as good as it was, correctly, expensive.
This hotel gives you more value than what you're going to spend, no matter how you look at it, as long as you're not looking for anything that's not strictly related to a hotel. There is no spa, no swimming pool, no restaurant, and generally there's not much "common" space.
It is basically a bed&breakfast with no breakfast, because you have to pay extra for the breakfast, but the whole point is the quality of the room, the hotel position, and the hotel manager.
I was in the room with the external patio, which is great for smokers like me and my wife, as it provides a "smoking area" without choosing a smoking room which is often smelly in most hotels.
The room is perfect, with everything you'd expect and even more, it is basically a small flat with a spacious bathroom, a "kitchen" area and even an actual PC which uses the available free Wi-Fi connection (so that you can use the Internet also with your own devices). Even though, as I wrote above, you have to pay also for a basic breakfast (but you can get some more interesting breakfast paying a little more), you can have your breakfast in your room for no extra cost, so it really feels like your home in Amsterdam, as some other reviewer has written.
The position is great, central, and we walked everywhere, from the Museums area (pretty close) to the train station (about 25 mins walk), with no need for taxis or even bicycles. In terms of well known spots, it's really close to Rembrandtplein.
Finally, the hotel manager is lovely, Elisabeth is really friendly and willing to help you make the most out of your stay.
I bet it will be difficult to find another place matching the good surprise I've experienced at the Synopsis, probably the closest one so far is one in French Polynesia, but there it's a lot easier to be "magic" than in Amsterdam... ;-)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Synopsis for a weekend in January. The rooms have everything you could possibly need. There is a small kitchen area that closes to look like a closet - the fridge is stocked with snacks and drinks (some are free some you must pay for - very reasonable prices). There is a computer with free internet access. There are bathrobes and slippers and a really nice tub which I took full advantage of.

The bed was extremely comfortable - I didn't want to get out in the morning and slept really well each night.

Elizabeth is a classy host that truly cares for her guests. We really enjoyed our morning breakfasts with her.

If you take a taxi make sure they use the directions Elizabeth emails to you. We got dropped off a couple blocks from the hotel but were able to find it after asking for directions (the Dutch are SO friendly).

Outside there is a very lovely garden and patio area - although it was too cold for us to enjoy I could imagine sitting out there in the summer enjoying a glass of wine before dinner.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

Large room, large marble bathroom, private garden, and many small touches make this hotel an unusually well priced luxury.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Synopsis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Synopsis

Address: Nieuwe Keizersgracht 22-A, 1018 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 324 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Synopsis 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synopsis Hotel, established in a state classified historical canal house, is located in central Amsterdam's top-location. Situated on a quiet canal, Synopsis is surrounded by museums, theatres, restaurants, shopping centers, parking lots and public transportation. Synopsis offers two comfortable studios which are fashionably decorated with modern design furniture. In addition to the already comprehensive standard amenities extra services are possible; for example a full gourmet breakfast can be served in the room. Synopsis creates an oasis of tranquility in elegantly decorated rooms with guaranteed privacy and excellent services, in the midst of the hectic city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Synopsis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Synopsis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.