We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Synopsis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Synopsis to your Saves list
Hotel Synopsis
Nieuwe Keizersgracht 22-A, 1018 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luxury in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Really comfortable room, very helpful accomodating proprietor & staff. Great breakfast! Just around the corner from the Hermitage Museum where you can catch the Canal Bus - a 48 hr ticket to jump on & off of this is a great way to see & get around the city. Couldn't ask for a better base for a city stay.

Room Tip: We didn't look at other rooms so can't advise on those but the Courtyard Room was lovely. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here last weekend and found the accommodation and proprietor to be very comfortable and welcoming. The courtyard room was clean and modern, with a large bath tub allowing a long soak! Everything was provided as per a hotel stay but with more of a b&b feel.
Elizabeth was welcoming without being intrusive, we would recommend Hotel Synopsis to anybody.
Location is also very good, you are just away from the bustle but close enough to enjoy all the city. We hired bikes independently but a previous reviewer states Elizabeth also has some for hire. This is by far the best way to explore the city.
Dank u wel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Synopsis Hotel is in the heart of Amsterdam, and 100 metres from the city tram. Elizabeth, the owner / manager is warm and welcoming without being intrusive. I stayed at this hotel 4 years ago in the courtyard room with my husband and this time I stayed in the garden room on my own. The garden room is located on the 1st floor and is accessible via a narrow, steep set of steps. If you are elderly, I would not recommend this room for you. Also, if you are travelling with heavy luggage, be prepared to lift it up the stairs. Once in the room, it is medium size, comfortable and has all the luxuries one needs for a comfortable stay. The bathroom is lovely and modern with a shower, toilet and basin. Just within the door forming part of the hallway is a small kitchenette. A lovely touch providing tea and coffee making facilities together with a small fridge stocked with drinks. Stepping in the main area of the room, you find a wardrobe, two chairs and a small desk with a desktop laptop for use for free. This was very convenient, allowing me to immediately make contact with my husband in Australia to let him know that I had arrived safely. The queen size bed is lovely and comfortable. The garden room has double doors that open out to an outdoor sitting area, which is also a nice touch. Breakfast is fantastic. Everything that a top 5 star hotel is on offer here. You have the choice of breakfast in your room or in the lovely garden. Since my last stay, Elizabeth has added bicycles to the list of things on offer. I hired one of the bikes for the day at Euro 10. The bikes are brand new and the price was very reasonable. This is definitely a fantastic addition. Once again, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I would not hesitate to recommend Synopsis Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed 1 night in the Garden Room ( accessed past the kitchen area by a short narrow steep staircase) - lots of nice touches -robes,slippers,chocs and biscs,mini bar and small kitchen area to make tea,coffee etc-plenty of coffee etc provided.
Enjoyed a complimentary glass of cava sitting on balcony area accessed from the room which overlooked the garden. this more than compensated for lack of bathtub in bathroom!(shower only) Room and bathroom spotlessly clean and well presented.
Owner Elizabeth very warm and helpful.We arrived early -just to leave bags-Elizabeth took time to provide map of area and show directions etc although was preparing rooms and it would have been inconvenient for her to spare the time.
Good idea to provide tick list of breakfast items available-each guest completes this on arrival to enable your breakfast to be just as you would like!-had breakfast in the kitchen-well presented and very good quality continental breakfast. Enjoyed the company of another couple and a chat with the owner during breakfast-felt like a welcomed guest in a home not a hotel.Pity weather not kind enough to allow breakfast in the garden which looked lovely.
This is so much better than a sterile chain hotel! -would highly recommend and would return again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, Nc
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We recently stayed two nights at the Hotel Synopsis in Amsterdam before boarding the Celebrity Constellation. The Synopsis is a very comfortable, well located, small Hotel in Amsterdam, close to several attractions as well as the tram. The Hotel is on the Amsterdam Conexxtion shuttle van route from Schipol Airport which makes it very easy to get to.

Our room was spotless, the bath facilities strictly modern, and the room included a computer with free internet access. Breakfast was extensive, totally fresh, and delicious.

My one comment as others have noted is that this really should be considered a B&B as much as a hotel, and as such would have to rank right at the top of B&B's in Amsterdam. We hope to stay there again the next time we return to Holland.

Room Tip: We were in the Canal Room and would recommend that one to others as it was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We liked the Synopsis very much, although with only a few rooms it doesn't really qualify as a hotel - more of a B & B format. Our room was lovely, spacious, ground floor with walk out to patio and a tiny kitchenette. .Bathroom was modern. There is a computer in the room all set up - very nice to have. The hotel is across the canal from the Hermitage and easy to access tram lines. The host, Elisabeth, is very helpful and made us feel at home. She welcomed us with a split of champagne and some cookies. My husband was ill, had to stay in his room all day, and she called a doctor for him. Elisabeth prepares breakfast in a small kitchen with a small eating area. One chooses from a set list the night before what one wishes to have for breakfast and what time. Because we were leaving too early to make breakfast one day, she gave us cereal and milk and fruit for out room the night before.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, england
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Stayed one night in a large and well-decorated room. Good location as I didn't want somewhere right in the centre, but that was well within walking distance of pretty much anywhere you wanted to go in Amsterdam. Received a very warm welcome and the owner was friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Enjoyed a good quality breakfast in the privacy of the room, which had lots of useful amenities like a computer with free wi-fi, a discreet kitchen area with minibar and some free items. The other items were priced very reasonable. Loved every moment of my stay at the Synopsis and hope to go back again when I next visit Amsterdam!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Synopsis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Synopsis

Address: Nieuwe Keizersgracht 22-A, 1018 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synopsis Hotel, established in a state classified historical canal house, is located in central Amsterdam's top-location. Situated on a quiet canal, Synopsis is surrounded by museums, theatres, restaurants, shopping centers, parking lots and public transportation. Synopsis offers two comfortable studios which are fashionably decorated with modern design furniture. In addition to the already comprehensive standard amenities extra services are possible; for example a full gourmet breakfast can be served in the room. Synopsis creates an oasis of tranquility in elegantly decorated rooms with guaranteed privacy and excellent services, in the midst of the hectic city life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Synopsis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Synopsis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.