We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite 259

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suite 259
Save
You added Suite 259 to your Saves list
Overtoom 259, 1054 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Pound Ridge, New York
1 review
“Better than home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Peter and Aziz are fantastic hosts and made our Amsterdam stay simply sensational. We had every creature comfort imaginable in our apartment, and Aziz make the most extraordinary breakfasts. Peter is a wealth of information about all things Amsterdam, and his recommendations are worth listening to...he recommended an Indonesian restaurant and we went and had an usual and delicious experience---and one of the best meals of an entire two week trip!

Room Tip: With only 2 rooms, either one is fine, the Sahara Suite being a duplex with a large upstairs bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    15
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
79
110
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamar, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My family and I stayed at Suite 259 and we really enjoyed our stay. Our kids loved coming back to this apartment after our day trips are over. They also loved the special attention given by Peter and Aziz. They even gave special attention to the birthday of my eldest daughter and gave her a cake.
We have travelled in other European cities and this place and the owner are really extraordinary. Peter and Aziz really made us feel at home and weel taken cared of.It was really home away from home. It's very seldom that one finds a warm and cozy place like this. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and me love this place very much. The location is excellent: quite near the Vondelpark and the bus station. The room is well decorated. Peter and Aziz are so kind. Peter told us how to have fun in Amsterdam. Aziz cook many delicious Chinese food for us. We like the food very much. It is the best food I have eat in Europe. If you want to travel in Amsterdam, I strongly suggest to stay Suite 259.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We booked Suite 259 because of the experience of friends of ours a year earlier. Their positive experience was influential. It was also correct in every respect as Peter and Aziz provide a superior environment from which to enjoy the marvelous city of Amsterdam.

The major museums are with in walking distance, the trams can take you anywhere and your are able to enjoy because Suite 259 has provided a substantial and very high quality breakfast to send you on your way.

The room is absolutely clean and appointed with furniture that is welcoming and attractive. And the detail to your stay is illustrated by Peter asking before your arrival "what is your favorite flower?" and when you arrive that very flower is in your room!

We can't recommend Suite 259 highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We started our December 2013 holiday with a week long stay at Suite 259. Our room, the Safari Suite was spacious and clean, and there were vases of roses outside our door, inside the room, and next to the bathtub. Our 4 year old was super happy to find a gift, a cute little teddy bear waiting for her when we arrived. And by the time we left, she received 3 more. Apart from the many drinks in the fridge, there were also chocolates, fresh fruit, a bottle of red wine, a box of Dutch bread, and even a special welcome cake for us.

The king bed was comfortable, and the pillows were perfect. Slippers were provided, and instead of the usual bathrobes, there were cool kimono type robes. I liked that there were tubs of cotton pads and earbuds in the bathroom, as people often forget these little things.

Everyday at breakfast, we had freshly squeezed orange juice, fruit salad, and the yummiest little pancakes dusted with castor sugar and drizzled with syrup. There were also eggs, cold meats, cheese, and different types of bread. Our two favourite breakfasts were the Dutch pea soup, and dhallcha with paratha. The pea soup has spicy sausage in it, and is one of the best soups I’ve tasted. The dhallcha was perfection. Breakfast is prepared by Aziz, who is 1 of the 2 owners (we never met Peter, as he was away). Originally from Singapore, Aziz gives you a choice between the usual breakfast (eggs etc) and tropical breakfasts from Singapore and Malaysia.

Aziz was truly the most incredible host! He’s so friendly and helpful, and it was actually sad to say goodbye.

Suite 259 is situated on Overtoom, the longest road in Amsterdam. It’s a ten minute walk into the city centre. There’s also a tram stop across the road. This perfect location, combined with the brilliant service you receive during your stay make it a must visit if ever you’re in Amsterdam. I know that if we’re there again, there’s nowhere else we’d rather stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were there last week and this was truly a wonderful stay. Peter and Aziz are so welcoming and our room was inviting with large windows, lots of light, and the location is perfect. If I ever go back to this wonderful city I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Celebrated a 40th birthday in Amsterdam with my partner in mid October. Stayed in the Grand Sahara room at the back. All I can say is I totally echo all the reviews and praise heaped on Peter, Aziz and suite 259. So friendly, so welcoming, room was great, breakfasts to die for. If I ever go back to Amsterdam I wouldn't stay anywhere else and neither should you.
Thankyou Peter and Aziz.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite 259? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite 259

Address: Overtoom 259, 1054 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite 259, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.