We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 2-room B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite 259

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suite 259
Save Saved
You added Suite 259 to your Saves list
Overtoom 259, 1054 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful 2-room B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This B&B is conveniently located near Vondelpark and across from the Line 1 tram that easily takes you downtown
My husband and I stayed at the Safari room for 3 nights. It is a large and very well organized room with a little kitchenette (microwave, coffeemaker, sink and dishes), and even a desktop computer (in addition to WiFI).
The room was very clean and when we arrived there were beautiful flowers, fruits, candies and a bottle of wine waiting for us. They also offer free water and beverages.
The best part of it all was the warm and friendly welcome from Peter and Aziz, who made our stay even more enjoyable. They even invited our daughter who was studying in Amsterdam to share a wonderful breakfast with us.
We definitely recommend it!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    15
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
78
110
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beilstein, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beautiful, gorgeous rooms and great hosts - Peter and Aziz! Plenty of food for breakfast. Poffertjes are my favourites! Thank you Peter for your good humour and Aziz for your splendid meal! We'll see us again hopefully! Kindest regards, Uschi and Captain Iglo

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at Suite 259 with our 3 kids (all under 4). What a brilliant choice. We had the Grand Sahara which was great with the little ones. Perhaps a little too good as the kids didn't want to leave the room to go sightseeing! They loved the enormous giraffe and tiger, the chocolate milk and snacks, the African and Asian knickknacks in every corner, the big jakuzzi (think the bubble bath was the highlight of their Amsterdam trip!) and hanging out with Peter and Aziz in their shop full of wonders. Their parents loved that the room had a sink, a microwave (to make it easier to give the kids warm milk in the evening), a fridge stocked with drinks and full fruit bowl, cutlery and crockery, good coffee, a small outside area and a separate floor for ourselves once they had gone to bed (the kids all slept in the lounge in the sofa bed and the cot that they provided, and our bedroom was up a spiral staircase). Everything was spacious, clean, comfortable and homely. The location was great - just spitting distance from Vondelpark (which had great kids playgrounds and a paddling pool), tram stop directly outside, and a short walk to the nearest hop-on-hop-off canal boat. Aziz's breakfasts were divine including wonderful fresh fruit (mangos, nectarines, strawberries, kiwis), little pancakes (which were the nicest we've had), eggs, bread, cake etc - and the best part was that Peter amused the kids when they were done, so we got to finish off our breakfast in peace. Peter was also so helpful looking into our train times for us and printing us off our itinerary and booking us a large car to us and our many bags to the train station. As many others have said, there are also all the little extras they do that make you feel truly special and looked after. It is not cheap, but a truly wonderful place to stay - a place that really adds to your holiday rather than just being somewhere to crash for the night - and we hope to go back really soon.

For those with very little kids, please be aware that the stairs to go up to the rooms are narrow, that there is a spiral staircase in the room to go up to the mezzanine where the main bed is, and that Overtoom is a busy road so you have to be careful outside - none of these were problems for us at all and we could not hear traffic noise at all from the room even though the windows were open - but good to be aware.

Peter and Aziz - if you read this - thank you so much for making our trip so great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Safari room for 3 nights and we couldn't have stayed at a better place! We were greeted by Aziz on the street and Peter showed us around the room. There were complimentary soft drinks and water in the fridge everyday as well as chocolates, fruit and a bottle of wine and beautiful fresh flowers. When our tour guide met us here the first morning, Peter and Aziz offered him breakfast at no extra charge. Breakfast every morning was delicious, especially the little pancakes (Poffertjes)! Aziz cooked us something different every morning and the last morning we were there, they had framed a picture they took of us the day before as a parting gift. When they found out it was my husband's birthday, they gave us a couple of different pieces of cake to enjoy in the room. Peter helped us plan our trip to Bruges by train and printed out our schedule and helped us purchase the tickets beforehand. The location couldn't have been better. We were right around the corner from the park and within walking distance of the major museums and also near a tram stop. We slept well at night and didn't really hear any street noise. The room was very large and very clean with a very comfortable bed. We fully enjoyed our stay and were very sad to leave. We are already looking into coming back and staying here again within the next year. Thank you again Peter and Aziz!

-Linda and James

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORKSHIRE
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent service
Lovely room
Good location
Breakfast to die for
Helpful Peter the owner did everything he could to make our stay even better
Take wander less than a mile to the relaxing part of outer canals for great canal side cafes but avoid the main areas where it is like all hideous shopping cities full of bloody tourists

Room Tip: There are two rooms take your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The rooms were large and very clean. That being said, Peter and Aziz made our stay superb. They were great sources of information and it was like staying at a friends house...except the friend never got in the way, only made the trip better!

The other thing that should be pointed out is what a gifted cook Aziz is. His breakfasts were creating and others great tastes.

In short, great location, great hosts...great breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a fantastic time in Amsterdam and were thrilled with our decision to stay at Suite 259. We stayed in the Safari Room, and it is a great room. Very spacious, beautiful windows, comfortable large King bed, good bathroom and shower, and stocked with water, wine, fruit, etc. Peter and Aziz are great hosts, and the breakfast each morning was delicious! My wife was particularly fond of the Poffertjes, which are little mini pancakes (sort of!) - they are a Dutch treat and they are GOOD - Aziz makes the best!

Also, the location of Suite 259 is very good - it is just a few minutes away from Central Amsterdam, where the crowds are hectic, but close enough for a very quick tram ride into town. The tram stop is about 1 block away, so very convenient! After a long day of touring Amsterdam, Suite 259 allows you to come back and really settle into relax mode. Also, it is right next to the Vondelpark, which is a beautiful park for a nice stroll, bike ride, or BBQ.

Thanks Peter and Aziz!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite 259? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite 259

Address: Overtoom 259, 1054 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite 259, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.