We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite 259

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suite 259
Save
You added Suite 259 to your Saves list
Overtoom 259, 1054 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 324 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Peter and Azis are consummate hosts which made our stay at suite 259 so much more enjoyable. The attention to detail was fabulous , from having my favourite flowers in the room to providing small toys for our children to play with. The suite was extremely comfortable, clean and well appointed. We particularly loved the fresh fruit, and well stocked refrigerator. Azis even did a load of laundry for us ! We stayed in the Grand Sahara suite with a beautiful outdoor area which we wished we had more time to use. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and plentiful. The location is great , a lovely walk to the historic sights of Amsterdam or a quick tram ride. Our only regret was that we were not here long enough. A great find we'll be telling everyone about!

Room Tip: Grand Sahara suite was very comfortable for a family of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    16
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
83
110
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Wonderfully close to the historic centre without being in the very heart. An easy walk or tram ride to everything. Yes the breakfasts are lovely! Thanks Aziz. The stairway is steep & narrow but only one flight & Peter offered to helped with my suitcase. The park nearby is well used by locals and a great insight to life in Amsterdam. Our stay was too brief at Studio 259...would have loved to stay longer.

Room Tip: Safari room is very spacious with double glazing but being at the front of the apartment has maybe m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Aziz and Peter are wonderful hosts.
We stayed in the Grand Sahara for 3 nights and had a great time.
The location is perfect with easy access to public transportation.
The suite is clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The small patio is very cute. Breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Thanks Trip Advisor for leading us to this fantastic B&B. The hosts are friendly and very hospitable, unobtrusive but on hand to offer advise and help with sightseeing plans. The apartments are well appointed, clean and spacious. We welcomed the little added complimentry extras in the rooms. The breakfasts each morning were plentiful and delicious. Conveniently located with tram at front door, bike and car hire close by,a variety of eateries and shopping within a short stroll, oh, and Vondell Park at the back door, the location will not disappoint. Only drawback is steep stairs up to the apartment, but this is common for Amsterdam. Dont overpack your luggage making your bags too heavy or bulky and it will not be a problem, although Peter will gladly assist. Do yourself a favour and seriously consider staying at Suite 259. It will not disappoint!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We found this on TripAdvisor (as we find all our hotels, etc.) and were not disappointed. Peter is hilarious and his anti-American sarcasm is distinctly European. Aziz's breakfasts were lavish, exotic, almost formal affairs with too much food, but our family loved it. The Grand Sahara Suite was two levels and perfect for our family so we each had our own "areas." A few things to be mindful of (none of them dealbreakers): the place itself isn't the most convenient location to the "heart" of Amsterdam, although we could walk to the Museumplein. The stairs both up to the room and to the second level inside the room are very narrow and steep, so don't overpack. A few good restaurants within walking distance, as well as a grocery store.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our family of four returned for a three night stay at Suite 259, one year after our first visit. We stayed in the Grand Sahara Suite. As was true with our first visit, everything was completely to our liking. Peter and Aziz welcomed us warmly and took care to make sure we were well cared for. The suite is lovely. It is spaceous, very clean, and comfortable. Aziz provided a delicious breakfast each day including our favorite poffertjes (and even provided a "ready to go" breakfast on the morning we left early for the airport). We enjoyed a special dinner on our last evening from "Rice Is Nice" the take out dinner service of Aziz. It was delicious and a wonderful way to end our vacation. Peter took care to make sure our sightseeing was planned to perfection. His tips for transportaion and timing were welcomed. Peter also printed out boarding passes and called a cab making our departure easy. Suite 259 is located in a lovely part of Amsterdam...a bit away from the busy tourist areas but easily accessable. We enjoyed both stays at Suite 259. We would recommend it to anyone visiting Amsterdam... and would happily return ourselves!

Room Tip: The Grand Sahara was perfect for our family of 4. It was spacious offering two full bathrooms and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Peter was actually on the street to meet us when the cab dropped us off. From there he and Aziz showed us such warm hospitality. Peter called us a cab several days later for our departure and got up with us at a ridiculously early hour to help us carry our luggage. Breakfast with Aziz was terrific - his internationally known pancakes were a big hit with the kids. The B & B also offers a Malaysian-type dinner that Aziz prepares and we had that on our last night - very delicious and reasonably priced. We rented both the suites available for 5 of us. Nice touches like cold beverages in the fridge in each room and fruit and a welcome bottle of wine. The rooms were perfect for us. The air conditioning was great at night. Nice bathroom facilities. All in all, all the luxuries of a really nice hotel but more space, more individual attention at cheaper price!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite 259? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite 259

Address: Overtoom 259, 1054 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 324 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite 259, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.