We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place and delightful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suite 259

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suite 259
Save
You added Suite 259 to your Saves list
Overtoom 259, 1054 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic place and delightful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My family stayed for three nights at this wonderful bed and breakfast in the Grand Sahara Suite. Not only is the Suite beautifully decorated, with many thoughtful and comfortable touches (fruit, coffee and tea makings, juice and beverages in the fridge, slippers, robes) but the hosts are so welcoming. Peter can answer your questions before you even know what to ask and he just seems to know what is needed and when. The suite is great for relaxing after a long day of sightseeing - very spacious with comfortable beds and a wonderful patio space. Breakfasts are delicious and exotic but also include the wonderful little pancakes, prepared by Aziz. Rice is Nice, the new restaurant venture of Aziz, is something you must try, even if you don't stay here. Delicious Singapore home cooking, freshly made just for you. We felt well taken care of and would highly recommend Suite 259.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    15
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
79
110
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Our family of four stayed at Suite 259 for three wonderful nights. The Suite Grand Sahara was perfect for a family with two teenagers. The suite was very clean and had everything we needed for an extremely comfortable stay. The beautiful flowers and bottle of wine waiting for us as well as the soda, juices, and water were all little touches that made us feel at home. Suite 259's location suited us well, it is in a less busy part of the city but was easy to access by tram and by foot. Aziz treated us each day to a wonderful breakfast. The foods were delicious as well as beautifully presented. One family favorite was the plate of poffertjes that was served to begin each breakfast. While we were there, Aziz started a dinner take out business. One evening, after a long day of sightseeing we enjoyed one of his dinners on the balcony patio of the suite...it was a perfect ending to a lovely day. Peter was an excellent travel advisor for us. Each morning at breakfast we would tell him our plans and he would offer tips and advise on how to make the day better. He also recommended some lovely restaurants that served quality food at fair prices and were not in the high tourist areas. Our stay at Suite 259 made our visit to Amsterdam a memorable one.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Such good hosts, very welcoming and helpful. Food the best. The Grand Sahara suite was light and clean. Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We did enjoyed 3 nights there, nice suite like being at home, the beautful and tasty breakfast will be unforgetable forever. Peter and Aziz are very nice people. They did booked a fabulous restaurant for a chef table for us. Aziz said I was the 2nd Chinese tourist they have been entertained since this nice suite opened. The location is near a big park, and by walk , can go to the Vango's museum. You can see everything in this suite, like furnitures, decorations, sheet.. are all well designed and full of culture. The terance is very lovely, sitting outside with a nice drink is very romantic....

Room Tip: very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I stayed in the Grand Sahara room. It was clean, comfortable and roomy, however, if you have problems with stairs or are unsteady on your feet do not stay here! If you can handle the steps this B&B is a real treat. Aziz will prepare some wonderful breakfasts and Pieter will provide the "entertainment." He is a fun person to be around. A great conversationalist. He is knowledgeable about the city and beyond. He can assist with your itinerary and answer any questions you might have.

My wife and I looked forward to chatting with both of them each morning. Depending upon what your interests are it's a short walk to some significant museums and a short tram ride to anything else. Just ask Pieter and he will get you going in the right direction.

If you have been to Amsterdam before, I would suggest a one hour trip to The Hague. It's a smaller city but an interesting one that will keep you busy for a day. Or a day trip to Haarlem. Pieter can give you some details or use the Rick Steves book as reference.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We have just stayed at the wonderful Suite 259 for a conference in Amsterdam. This B&B is perfectly situated on the Overtoom with Tram number 1 outside the door - this tram takes you straight intop the centre of town. The beautiful Vondelpark is next door and the Van Gogh museum is within 15 minutes walk. The best part about this B&B, however, is the owners - Peter and Aziz . They are absolutely fantastic and could not have done more to make us feel welcome and cared for. I had a broken foot and Peter even offered me one of his antique walking sticks to use on the cobbled streets. The apartment (Grand Sahara) was enormous, decorated with antiques and exotic finds from Peter and Aziz's travels, very well equipped, with a kitchenette, 2 bathrooms, a gloriously comfortable bed, and a terrace covered in flowering plants where we could sit and enjoy the sunshine. All furniture and fixtures were high quality. There is a spiral staircase from living room to bedroom but I was able to manage it with a moon boot on! The highlight was our breakfast. Every morning we looked forward to a different treat from Aziz's kitchen. Each day there was a lovely bowl of freshly sliced fruit, plus freshly squeezed orange juice, and little blini-like pancakes with caramel syrup (these are a traditional Dutch dish and are amazingly more-ish). Aziz is from Malaysia and is the most amazing cook. Every morning he produced a different Malaysian inspired breakfast for us. The first morning we had large prawns (shrimps) , eggs, tomatoes and spices. Yum! The next day we had chicken marinated in lime and served in a curried sauce with steamed vegetables; the next day a mince and vegetable dish, and on the last day a fried rice dish with prawns. Every dish was superb - in fact it was the best food we had in Amsterdam - far better than any restaurant.. Peter and Aziz are a great team. Peter is a fantastic source of information about Amsterdam and was very helpful, organizing taxis, printing out train timetables, checking flight schedules - all without us even asking. And as well as that, they are great company and really interesting. Thankyou so much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

We stayed in the Grand Sahara Suite in early May. Peter and Aziz are super nice guys – they make you feel like you’re staying at a friend’s place. The suite is very spacious and has a nice patio. The location is good – out of the crowded tourist areas, but convenient; the tram stops one block away. My husband enjoyed jogging in Vondelpark nearby.
Every morning there was a fantastic breakfast spread waiting. Peter would chat with us (and make us laugh – he’s very funny) while Azziz was back in the kitchen making something yummy. During breakfast, their two doves would sing and laugh. We mentioned that we were cat lovers and they were nice enough to go upstairs and bring one of their cats down to meet us.
The breakfast starts out with fresh-squeezed orange juice, coffee or tea, a beautiful bowl of fresh fruit, assorted breads and spreads. Then, Aziz appears from the kitchen with your freshly cooked dishes. Most days he started us off with “Poffertjes” – tiny Dutch pancakes. Then (even though I’m full by then) out comes the main dish. It’s usually Singapore style, since that’s where Aziz is from originally. I remember one dish that was eggs, prawns, and scallions.
Pat and Russ

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suite 259? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite 259

Address: Overtoom 259, 1054 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suite 259, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.