We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shelter Jordan

Save Saved
You added Shelter Jordan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shelter Jordan
Bloemstraat 179, 1016 LA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Sassari, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hostel is good, always clean and the staff is really available. Breaksfeat is good with two choices each day. The location is good and fairly close to the center. You also can rent a bike there, and It's recommended. It's a cristian hostel, but no one is obliged to participate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    39
    20
    9
    5
See reviews for
5
2
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We wanted a quiet place so we were happy with Shelter Jordan. It's close to the tram and you can also rent bikes to get around. The staff was friendly. The kitchen had more food options than any hostel I've ever stayed at and at reasonable prices. Wifi was good. Beds were comfortable. If you're looking for a party hostel, don't come here. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have been here for one night and I think it was one of my horrible experience i have ever had during my vacation life. there was not any peace moment and you should have put you pillow into your ears holes due to noisy room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you go to amsterdam and want a little more than alcohol and drugs, this hostel is a good option. is a christian hostel, but that values ​​the organization, calm nonjudgmental. But you must be willing to follow the rules. And they still separate rooms womens quarters of men.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I began the search of finding a hostel in Amsterdam which allows you to stay only one night, this one was the best one I cane across in my price range and I am very glad I did. From check-in to check-out, the experience was great. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and helpful in finding everything you need,from directions to travel advice. The hostel also makes provision for the needs of their guests, and we were able to buy locks, postcards, museum tickets and (best of all) a really cute umbrella which was handy due to the horrible weather. The rooms are very small, but the beds were comfortable and everything was very clean and well maintained. The hostel, while being quiet, had a lively atmosphere in the cafe and you can have a great meal at a very reasonable price. We also got free coffee and breakfast which was great and very tasteful. It is close to all the major attractions and in the lovely neighbourhood of Jordan so you can walk or bike while you enjoy the beautiful city. There is also no lockout. You can also leave your luggage after checkout in a luggage room whilst you explore the city.

The price was a little steep for a 4 person room, but our stay was so wonderful it was worth it. I wont hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Shelter Jordan. The rooms were typical hostel, somewhat cramped and such. But we really enjoyed the atmosphere overall at the hostel – quiet and peaceful. We found the staff friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the Dutch food tasting in the evening (free of charge). The included breakfast is a nice touch, although not having access to kitchen facilities was a bit of negative. That being said, they did have a microwave and fridge.
I see a few negative reviews here, even referring to this place as “weird”, largely due to the no drugs and alcohol policy. It probably isn’t for everyone, although you certainly don’t have to be a Christian to stay there. So if you think that actually being able to sleep at a decent hour in a quiet atmosphere and a comfortable place is odd, please stay away! But on the other hand if this thought kind of turns your crank, by all means please stay there.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Okay, so I didn't really look up much on this hostel before booking it. Cause we booked a little late, and didn't have too many options. While I understand that it's Christian hostel, but the no alcohol-drug policy doesn't gel well with, well, Amsterdam.
On the downside, rooms were really small and cramped, the drug-alcohol restrictions and the limited facilities at the hostel and the price didn't feel money's worth. No lift, so if you have luggage, you may struggle a little.
On the upside however, some of the staff was helpful. A huge relief was the included breakfast and subsidized meals. And location. Not too far from everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shelter Jordan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter Jordan

Address: Bloemstraat 179, 1016 LA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Shelter Jordan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelter Jordan Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelter Jordan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.