We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and conveniently located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam City West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
Ibis Amsterdam City West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #123 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Comfortable and conveniently located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

We (my wife and I) stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in April 2009. It's good value for money, and the rooms are comfortable (albeit a bit cramped), and if you are staying for a couple of nights, this hotel is a good choice. I found the staff to be professional and courteous, and all of them spoke good English. Couple of things which come to my mind:

(1) Location and accessibility: Go to maps.google.nl, and search for "Transformatorweg 36 - 1014 AK AMSTERDAM", this will give you an idea of the location of the hotel with respect to the city centre.
Bus 48, which runs between Station Sloterdijk and Centraal Station has a stop (Kabelweg) which is about a minute's walk from the hotel reception. The bus runs very 15 minute (on an average) on all days, and it takes about 15 minutes to reach the Centraal Station from the hotel.

(2) There is Burger King next door, which previously was open from 10:00 AM to midnight, **** but now is open only till 9 PM***. In fact, if you go BK's Dutch site and locate this restaurant (its the one at "Isolatorweg 25"), the timings shown are still 10:00-24:00. When we showed up at 9:30 PM, we were told that the timings have been changed, but the web site has not been updated. Only the drive-in is open till late.

(3) There is a restaurant/bar by the reception. The restaurant's kitchen is open till 10:30 PM, and the bar is open till 1 AM. The grub served at the restaurant is rather lackluster - avoid if possible.

(4) Reaching the airport : Bus 48 will take you to Station Sloterdijk (about 4 minutes), from where you will get a direct train to the Amsterdam airport (Schiphol), and this takes about 12 minutes. This travel option is cheap, reliable and fast. In contrast, the airport shuttle takes a very long time to reach the airport as it goes around a lot of hotels in town.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    465
    161
    24
    8
See reviews for
137
350
51
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

I stayed 2 nights at Ibis Westcorner in march 2009 on a short trip to Amsterdam. I enjoyed the stay, and will recommend the hotel. Lots of parking space on the street and pay parking as weel, easy access to town center with bus 48 that stops 200 meters from the hotel, and the usual Ibis standard rooms. You know what you get. Tried the restaurant one night, and that was fine. Breakfast maybe a bit overpriced at 14.- Euro. Service at frontdesk fine as well, no complaint at all.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

This Ibis is quite new and clean (both the room and common areas) and is very close to a train station, just 5 minutes away. So, no problem to find it. The room is well-organized, bright with a big window and spotlessly clean, so is the toilet which is with a very nice standing shower. The room is not big and I didnt find it too small to be uncomfortable at all. Bed was also quite comfy.

The hotel is not located at the city centre and there is not much to see to do and see in the vicinity but there is a bus stop outside and you can get very good connection to the city just by taking a bus ride of 20 minutes. The breakfast was with limited choice but no complaints as I just paid for a budget hotel anyway.

Overall, my stay in westcorner was a pleasant one and it exceeded my expectation. It is modern, clean and efficient and the price is comparatively cheaper. (I live in asia and find the hotels in europe are way toooooo expensive). I definitely recommend it if you look for a decent budget hotel.

  • Liked — New and clean room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed at this rubbish hotel last week.

Two tiny rooms at Euro 125-00 each. You cannot swing a cat in the bedrooms - for a joke trying using the toilet and doing the necessary post toilet actions - impossible!

We left after one night - we woken by the builders next door drilling and hammering at 0630 am. The building work starts at 0600 and finnishes at 10.00pm.

You van do a great deal better elsewhere like the Novotel near exhubition centre.

  • Liked — Leaving the next day
  • Disliked — the builders next door - drove me insane.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

Reception was really helpful as much as they could, very pleasent girls. Room was clean and nice. The only one issue was that safe was not stuck to the floor, anybody could just take it. That was not safe at all, I would not leave there my passport or money. All in all we did enjoy our stay in Amsterdam. THX

  • Liked — reception very helpful
  • Disliked — safe in room was not stuck to the floor
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

1)From ariport - use conexxion hotel shuttle bus - you need to buy a ticket at airpot - desk is past airport information, right at the end in the corner on the right, not obvious! 19.50E return, the hotel will book your return, needs to be booked at least 2hrs before needed. 10 mins drive from airport to hotel.
2)hotel check in says 2pm but I arrived 12.30 and my room was ready.
3) Yes breakfast is not worth 11E but it is convenient, search for a deal that includes it. I used yeego.com and all in 100E per night with breakfast.
4)Staff very friendly and helpfull but not very knowledgeable
5)I took the bus into town No48, took 20 mins and cost 2.40E but couldn't find one to get back and ended up in a taxi at 18.40E!
6)Next tine I will use the train, turn right out of hotel walk about 10mins, or less and it's on the left,other side of the road. You can't miss it! It's one stop into central station which is where the bus also stops.
7)There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms so if you want this take a travel kettle in supplies!
8)The water in the room seems to be drinkable! if you want bottles go next door to burgerking as they sell 500ml bottles for half the price of the 300ml cans in the machines.
9)If you have a late flight, the hotel have a locked room for luggage and also you can hire a room by the hour if you want to extend or if you want to come back and shower but has to be before 7pm or it is classed as another night 10E an hour min 2hrs, alternatively at the airport, once through pasport control, upstairs in the Mercure hotel there is somewhere you can have a shower for 15E I presume this includes towel etc.I was just checking for next time.
Hope this helps, will use hotel again!

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — no tea and coffee facilities in rooms and nothing nearby to walk to
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

We stayed a week at this hotel and it was perfect. It is a 10 minute bus ride into town and a 5 minute walk to a car rental, or 12 Euro cab ride - don't except 20 Euros for a cab ride from town- we got fooled the first time!. Food was excellent. Breakfast was included in our stay through itravel2000. Plus there is a Burger King in the building, perfect for those late night munchies. The only thing to remember is to eat in town or bring something back with you if you come back late because the Burger King closes around midnight.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — no restaurants close after midnight
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam City West

Address: Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam City West 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City West is a modern 3-star hotel located between the city center and the main business districts of Amsterdam. The hotel offers 180 rooms, a restaurant with bar and terrace and 24-hr snack service. The hotel is surrounded by free public parking (between 7pm and 9am during the week and all day long during the weekend). The bus stop to Amsterdam Central Station is in front of the door (runs 24-hrs a day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.