We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay in the city but quite far from the centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam City West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
Ibis Amsterdam City West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 15% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #126 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    582
    200
    30
    10
See reviews for
171
450
59
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

A clean and basic hotel which did the job for me fine. I was in Amsterdam mid July, and it wasn't warm at the time, yet the room was a touch stuffy and the climate control AC wasn't that efficient. So just a warning, if you get a few warm Amsterdam days, and you don't like the heat, you may be slightly uncomfortable.

Otherwise, it's a pretty good value hotel outside of the city. There is a bus literally across the street which is about 12 mins direct into the city. There is also a Burger King next door.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear guest,
many thanks for sharing by writing your review. We regret the issues you have experienced with the climate control in your room. Regrettably we have found no record of this incident, which means we have not been able to solve the issue during your stay. Please inform us by mail directly of your details, allowing us to solve any outstanding technical issues, prevent reoccurrence and discuss a solution for your inconvenience. Best regards.
F. Weeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I had visited Amsterdam in Oct 2012 with wife & friends (couple). The place is very easy to find and accessible by bus route with bus stop just at walking distance.

The rooms are small but very comfortable and enough for a couple. The hotel staff was very helpful and provided us information on what all to see/ places to visit in Amsterdam and also helped us in selecting right travel pass - saving travel cost for us. The view from the hotel rooms is good and pleasant.

Good place to stay at a very reasonable cost.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

many thanks for taking the time to describe your experiences on Trip Advisor. We are more than happy that you have enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here after getting the ferry over from Newcastle, as we were beginning our Interailling Europe holiday. We stayed for 2 nights, for about €90-100 per night, and were absolutely delighted. Upon arrival we were welcomed with friendly staff who spoke fluent english, good location and a generally great hotel. We were told you could get the number 48 bus to the city centre, the bus stop being just up the road from the hotel. It gets you there in 10 minutes, and it is €7.50 for an Adult 24 Hour Ticket and only €2.50 for a child. The rooms were spacious, extremely clean and had comfy beds. The decor is modern and has good A/C for the summer months. Would reccomend staying, I plan to again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear guest,

please allow me to thank your for taking the time to write about your experiences whilst staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Fiona Weeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
READING
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Standard ibis quality, staff extremely polite and helpful.

Good idea to have shower gel in the bathroom and a hair dryer
Easy to get to from the centre of amsterdam by bus
Bed and pillows very uncomfortable
Bathroom looked like something from virgin trains, felt very small and cramped. The shower door did not meet the bathroom floor so the water came out and made the bathroom into a wet room.
Breakfast was disgusting, the milk was warm and the pastries were either burnt or stale. I'd advise you to save your money and go to burger king next door.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear sir/madam,

please allow us to offer our sincere aplogies for your experience. Regrettably this has been less than staisfactory and deffinately not the level we strive to achive. Please allow us the opportunity to contact your personally by mail or phone by forwarding your information by mail to the hotel.

Many thanks for taking the time to inform us of your experience and therefore allowing us the chance to inprove.

Best regards,

Fiona Weeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed two nights in this hotel and found it a good low cost option for staying in Amsterdam. The hotel is only a 10 minute bus ride away from the city center and it sells bus passes so it is easy to get around the city. The room was tight for three people but we made do. Ibis West was clean and the staff very helpful. The breakfast was good but I thought pricey but you don't really have any option unless you want to take the bus and look for food on the way to or once you arrive in the city center. Overall a very good experience if you are traveling on a budget. The wifi was excellent.

Room Tip: For three people I thought the room was small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#139 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,236 reviews
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#122 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,836 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
#131 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam City West

Address: Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam City West 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City West is a modern 3-star hotel located between the city center and the main business districts of Amsterdam. The hotel offers 180 rooms, a restaurant with bar and terrace and 24-hr snack service. The hotel is surrounded by free public parking (between 7pm and 9am during the week and all day long during the weekend). The bus stop to Amsterdam Central Station is in front of the door (runs 24-hrs a day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.