We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis Amsterdam City West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam City West

Save Saved
You added Ibis Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam City West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Shiraz, Iran
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ibis Amsterdam City West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Ina quiet street - In a 10 Minutes to the city center by public transport - easy to go to the airport by public transport - There is 24 hours public transport to city center - Clean and comfort room - reasonable price compare to city center hotels - Expensive breakfast

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    403
    135
    23
    4
See reviews for
117
299
46
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paramus, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

In the afternoon when I checked in one staff in the front dest was very nice and professional. A few moment later, when I called up from my room and report an internet problem, she sent a technician to check and fixed the problem quickly.
but, in the evening, when I came down to borrow an international power adapter (I am from US), another staff asked for a cash deposit of 15 Euro. It happened I didn't have money with me. I suggest her to put it on my room account. She said no, she only accept cash deposit, and started to complained about some customers don't return a power adapter when they left, .... It is hard to believe a traveler who can afford staying in a hotel such as Ibis will "steal" an adapter and bring it back to home country (since it is useless there) or bring it to another hotel to use (since an adapter is such a small thing and is actually available to borrow without deposit or anything similar in other similar, less, or more expensive hotels). I am not sure this is a problem at the staff level, or the above level, but I strongly believe this kind of little things will eventually hurt the hotel itself.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Visited in march stayed for 3 nights while we visited amsterdam.

The hotel itself is lovely. reasonably sized, nice and quiet and away from the loudness of the central city!! Breakfast is pretty reasonable usually some meat and eggs in the hot counter, selection of cold stuffs and breads.

Bathrooms are a little small but you can still get by without issue!

I have read reviews saying the location is poor? This is ridiculous. You can buy a pass for 16euros that allows you UNLIMITED travel on buses trams and trains and there is a regular bus (10 minutes) that takes you from pretty much outside the hotel to centraal station and brings you back again.

Great hotel. Definately will stay here again when we return to amsterdam!!

Beer is quite cheap to ;)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

It was my fourth stay in Amsterdam and we've decided to stay at Ibis City West. Great Ibis standard quality, very nice breakfast, quick 20m bycicle ride to city center and great staff. It has a great cost/quality relationship.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Somehow I managed to book city west instead of central ibis and city west is in the worst location possible! 20€ cab ride from the city with NOTHING around it except for a Burger King which is attached. Literally cannot walk anywhere to any other place it's the worst location conceivable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We enjoyed staying here as it's close to airport and there is a frequent bus going to central train station. We took train to explore Delft, Rotterdam and Leiden, and visited beautiful Keukenhof! Buy an OV chip card to save time in buying tickets. TY!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam City West

Address: Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam City West 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City West is a modern 3-star hotel located between the city center and the main business districts of Amsterdam. The hotel offers 180 rooms, a restaurant with bar and terrace and 24-hr snack service. The hotel is surrounded by free public parking (between 7pm and 9am during the week and all day long during the weekend). The bus stop to Amsterdam Central Station is in front of the door (runs 24-hrs a day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.