We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for a weekend Tripp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam City West

Save Saved
You added Ibis Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam City West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #107 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“perfect for a weekend Tripp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My woman and i stay in this Ibis Hotel for 3 nights and enjoy it very much. I absolut recommend this hotel to everyone who need to spend some days in Amsterdam. Okay, it´s not really central, but 10 minutes one way by Bus direct to the city center, who cares :o)
a daily public transportation ticket you can buy at the reception for € 4,50.
The breakfast, one word amazing and i love the coffee.

everytime, i need to go to Amsterdam, i will book this hotel. I never sleep better in a Hotel Bed before and i sleep in a lot of Hotels over the last years.

we spend, with booking 1,5 weeks before we flight and spend € 200 for 3 nights incl breakfest

Room Tip: double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel and very positive review on Tripadvisor.

Your kind words have been passed on to our team who made your stay a memorable one. This will certainly motivate them and us all to keep up the good work.

We thank you for your continuous support and look forward to serving you again soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    406
    142
    21
    4
See reviews for
122
311
47
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with several mates march 2013 for two nights. A short inexpensive taxi journey to the city centre was no inconvenience as staff were very helpful in organising transport. Bedrooms very clean, fresh and well insulated from surrounding noise. At €4:90 for a pint of Heineken from the hotel bar this for me was the only distressing part of my short stay in this breath taking city.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My partner and myself stayed here from Monday to Wednesday as a city break, we had choose this hotel in particular as we didn't want to be to close to dam square and this seemed quite close to get to the centre.
When we landed at the airport we headed to bus stop b15 and caught the number 69 bus, stay on this bus till the end then get on the 48 bus which is next to the one you get of. after two stops your at the hotel. when you are heading to the centre you need to get back on the bus you came on (48) and head for central station.
The reception staff were very helpful and friendly, we bought our travel bus pass 72hr travel across bus and tram for 17 euro, really though we should have bought this on the first bus we got on!
The rooms are basic but what you need, there is a lack of a plug near a mirror but for a couple of nights you can make do.
There is no heating in the rooms aswel just a air con unit, but is you ask at reception they will bring a heater for you.
The bed was really comfy and the pillows to.
We paid £90 for two for two nights and it served us well a clean place to get your head down the bathroom was nice a big shower and nice and powerful.
We did not have breakfast so can not comment on food.
I would recommend this hotel if you are just going to use it as some were to sleep.
Amsterdam itself is wonderful its such a pretty city, really can not wait to go back, the people are so friendly and helpful and most people speak English so no language barriers.
I think any one visiting for the first time would be surprised at how beautiful Amsterdam is and how much there is to do.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I toured Amsterdam for the first time and chose this hotel. It was a little out of town but at least the neighborhood is very peaceful. It was so easy to get there by a cab or bus, depending if you have big luggage then I suggest you take the cab. Going out to town was easier too..cross the street and wait for bus no.48 and going back, you wait for the same bus no.48. The hotel room was big and spacious in compared to my room in Ibis France but both were so clean with fresh linens and towels..buffet breakfast served more options than France. Staffs were so energetic and speaks English fluently! I would like to come back to Amsterdam and might stay here again. See you again Amsterdam..

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Velarie,

Thank you very much for your very positive review with a 5 out of 5 scoring, we are very proud on that.

Your kind words have been passed on to our team who made your stay a memorable one. This will certainly motivate them and us all to keep up the good work. We thank you for your continuous support and look forward to serving you again soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great value for money, everything went smoothly. Staff friendly and helpful. Decent location - Burger King underneath hotel and 15 minute bus to the centre from across the road or 15 minute walk to Sloterdijk train station. No major issues - bathroom smelt a little but not a great problem. Wifi, baggage room and English TV channels a bonus as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear guest,

May I offer a personal thank you for sending a review of our hotel to Tripadvisor.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam City West

Address: Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam City West 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City West is a modern 3-star hotel located between the city center and the main business districts of Amsterdam. The hotel offers 180 rooms, a restaurant with bar and terrace and 24-hr snack service. The hotel is surrounded by free public parking (between 7pm and 9am during the week and all day long during the weekend). The bus stop to Amsterdam Central Station is in front of the door (runs 24-hrs a day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.