We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Ibis quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam City West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
Ibis Amsterdam City West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #121 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Standard Ibis quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great value for money, everything went smoothly. Staff friendly and helpful. Decent location - Burger King underneath hotel and 15 minute bus to the centre from across the road or 15 minute walk to Sloterdijk train station. No major issues - bathroom smelt a little but not a great problem. Wifi, baggage room and English TV channels a bonus as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear guest,

May I offer a personal thank you for sending a review of our hotel to Tripadvisor.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    455
    158
    23
    7
See reviews for
135
346
51
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We arrived home yesterday after spending 4 nights here. The rooms were lovely and clean, comfy bed, wicked shower, the staff were polite, friendly and helpful, the breakfast was great, loads of choice and good quality too.

I was initially worried that I had booked too far away from the city centre, but with a bus stop a few minutes walk away with buses every ten minutes I had nothing to worry about. We bought a 72 hr travel card from the hotel 16.50 euro which enabled us to use public buses, trams and metro unlimited for the duration of our stay - getting around this city couldn't be easier!!

This hotel was nearly half the price of the majority of decent looking hotels in the city centre and as I said before so easy to get into the centre, I would book this hotel again without hesitation

Thank you Ibis City West!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Gina,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our newly renovated hotel.

Your kind words have been passed on to our team who made your stay a memorable one. This will certainly motivate them and us all to keep up the good work.

As from today public transportation is even better, busstop has been moved back to the front of the hotel, name Transformatorweg.

We thank you for your continuous support and look forward to serving you again soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Felt at home from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out! Service at Reception was EXCELLENT. Bedroom and bed were EXCELLENT. Service at the Bar could be better and faster. 10minutes Taxi ride to City Centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Gulshan R,

We are very proud to see that you gave us a 5 out of 5 review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sesimbra, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The hotel is located on the outskirts of Amsterdam only 15 min from the city center by bus and 10 min walking from Sloterdijk station.
To reach the hotel from the airport we took bus 69 to the end and then changed to bus number 36 and exit at "Kabelweg" and the hotel is right on the main avenue. We bought the GMV ticket so we decided to save 3,70€ on a train ticket (but be aware that the whole travel lasts 40min against only 15min by train to Sloterdijk station).
To reach downtown you can take took bus 48 (348 at night) which is about 3 minutes walk from hotel (when leaving the hotel walk to your left and it's right across the road). When coming back you should hop off on the stop before Sloterdijk station "Contactweg". At the hotel reception they will provide you a timetable if you ask for one.
Highly recommend you to take the breakfast package because it is a breakfast buffet and well worth the money when paid in advance. The room is comfortable and well equiped as all Ibis rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. There is a downside though if you get a room facing the nearby chimney factory you won't like it that much. However if you like hamburgers you will love this hotel since there is a burgerking right beside the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel is a good hotel & offers great value for money, especially if you make the most of Amsterdam's cheap public transport cards. The hotel was comfortable and only 15mins from the centre on bus

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Jon K,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our newly renovated hotel.

Our hotel is indeed located only 10-12 minutes by bus number 48 from Amsterdam Central Station. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam City West

Address: Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#95 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam City West 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City West is a modern 3-star hotel located between the city center and the main business districts of Amsterdam. The hotel offers 180 rooms, a restaurant with bar and terrace and 24-hr snack service. The hotel is surrounded by free public parking (between 7pm and 9am during the week and all day long during the weekend). The bus stop to Amsterdam Central Station is in front of the door (runs 24-hrs a day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.