We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel; value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam City West

Save Saved
You added Ibis Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Amsterdam City West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Good value hotel; value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel is a good hotel & offers great value for money, especially if you make the most of Amsterdam's cheap public transport cards. The hotel was comfortable and only 15mins from the centre on bus

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Jon K,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our newly renovated hotel.

Our hotel is indeed located only 10-12 minutes by bus number 48 from Amsterdam Central Station. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    404
    135
    23
    4
See reviews for
117
300
46
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK Somewhere
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hotel is nicely located on the outskirts of Amsterdam. But with great ease the city centre is accessible. There is a great cheap bus service but also the taxi service is nicely priced and very quick.
Rooms were clean, comfortable and warm. I would recommend requesting a top floor room over looking the road. A great view over the city outskirts.. :)

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting a top floor room over looking the road. A great view over the city outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor and ofcourse for staying with us. We are very proud that you gave us a top score from 5 out of 5.

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Booked this Hotel when I booked the ferry from Newcastle and was not disappointed at all. Very nice Hotel situated just outside Amsterdam. The Hotel was clean and staff where very friendly and helpful. The room was a double and it had loads of room with an amazing bathroom. There was a bus to Amsterdam just at top of the road and it took 15 minutes to get there. For a 48 hr travel ticket which covered buses and trams it was only 12.80 euros which is amazing considering the prices in Newcastle. I would recommend this Hotel to anybody going to The Dam...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our newly renovated hotel. Congratilations on your Anniversary from all of us here at ibis Amsterdam City West!

Your kind words have been passed on to our team who made your stay a memorable one. This will certainly motivate them and us all to keep up the good work.

We thank you for your continuous support and look forward to serving you again soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

During our recent trip through six European cities we stayed all in Ibis hotel except one in Vienna which was booked six months before our trip started. We choose Ibis because we wanted to sleep in the same comfortable bed in every city visited. Rooms are all same, small but clean. We ate breakfast in all but this Amsterdam one, because it cost sixteen euros per person and we can have better choice in downtown Amsterdam costs less then ten euros for both of us. You can have several public transportation choices to/from this hotel. To downtown we took bus 48 which is about ten minutes walk from hotel. Coming back at night by bus 48 to last stop Sloterdijk then transfer to either bus 36 (two stops) or metro (one stop to Isolatorweg) walk to hotel is one block away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our newly renovated hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Our hotel is indeed located just 10-12 minutes from Amsterdam Central Station. Also for the way back to the hotel you can use busnumber 48 (or 348 in the night) from Amsterdam Central Station (no need to change at Sloterdijk). The busstop is currently located at 5 minutes walking, but will be moved to the front of the hotel mid december.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A large group of 13 on stag weekend and all well catered for. Rooms wee clean and serviceable, if a little utilitarian with a modular shower room. The location I very commercial but the local bus rout. Number 48 is only a short walk or a taxi ride to the Central station. We only had coffee or tea in the morning and evening drinks without sampling the food but what we saw looked good.

Room Tip: Don't expect luxury d be careful of the intermittent shower temperatures..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Neal,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our newly renovated hotel.

We are glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon as a married man!

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in 2 rooms and arrived by car;Located two blocks east of the ring : A10 (S102 exit),a standard Ibis hotel with a clean,confortable room,
To reach Amsterdam centraal station in 15 mn ,take bus n°48,the bus stop (named contactweg)is one block west of the hotel ,and for runners,there is a red bricked path just beyond that stop that leads to a vast area of pastures,canals,with good opportunities for exercise.
Parking is free on week end in front of the hotel. Burger King right next door,for info we were disapointed by the coffe house located at the corner of contactweg.

A large group checked in before us and had trouble with their reservation.Line was building up and I suggest in this situation someone from the staff to show up either to take care of them or to check in with no delay the following people waiting.It was 6pm,so I guess someone else was available..
When checking out,,they first charged me a parking fee for 4 nights altghough I had parked only 2 days in the ibis parking as week end is free in the street,I had to make my point but after a few minutes they realized their mistake and apologized.check and keep bills...
But globally,a very good option when you aretraveling by car.

Room Tip: At night Transformator weg is not a busy road,so we did not have any noise problem;
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the quality of the service provided. We are indeed one of the only places within the ring of Amsterdam where you can park free of charge in the evenings and during the entire weekend.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

First things first: Yes, it's not in the city center and there is nothing close by; and yes, the breakfast is overpriced. But as long as you understand those things, you will have a very pleasant stay in this hotel. We stayed for three nights during the Amsterdam marathon and had a very relaxing a nice stay. The hotel is nowhere near the canals or the city center, which I was prepared for and didn't mind. The public transportation was close and fast, and you could be in the center in less than 20 minutes. The only downside of the location in a commercial/industrial area is that there is literally nowhere to eat nearby (except Burger King). We found the hotel restaurant a bit pricey (the breakfast is a lot pricey, though convenient) but since there was nothing nearby we had to order pizza delivery one night.

But the rooms are nice and clean, the beds are comfortable (and the location means that it was amazingly quiet), the bathroom 'pods' are quite interesting, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They seem to realize that the location isn't perfect and tried to make that up to us through their personality and friendly demeanor. Considering this hotel can cost half of what a worse one does in the center, the City West hotel is a wonderful option for travelers on a budget or business travelers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Starwrang,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our newly renovated hotel during Amsterdam Marathon.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern. Our hotel is indeed located just outside of the main city centre. Busnumber 48 brings you in 10-12 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station. Busstop is currently at 5 minutes walk from the hotel but will be moved to the front of the hotel early December.

We hope to welcoem you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam City West

Address: Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam City West 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City West is a modern 3-star hotel located between the city center and the main business districts of Amsterdam. The hotel offers 180 rooms, a restaurant with bar and terrace and 24-hr snack service. The hotel is surrounded by free public parking (between 7pm and 9am during the week and all day long during the weekend). The bus stop to Amsterdam Central Station is in front of the door (runs 24-hrs a day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.