We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean and very friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam City West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ibis Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
Ibis Amsterdam City West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #116 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good clean and very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

A large group of 13 on stag weekend and all well catered for. Rooms wee clean and serviceable, if a little utilitarian with a modular shower room. The location I very commercial but the local bus rout. Number 48 is only a short walk or a taxi ride to the Central station. We only had coffee or tea in the morning and evening drinks without sampling the food but what we saw looked good.

Room Tip: Don't expect luxury d be careful of the intermittent shower temperatures..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Neal,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our newly renovated hotel.

We are glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay in our hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon as a married man!

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    441
    153
    22
    6
See reviews for
129
340
49
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aix-en-Provence, France
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in 2 rooms and arrived by car;Located two blocks east of the ring : A10 (S102 exit),a standard Ibis hotel with a clean,confortable room,
To reach Amsterdam centraal station in 15 mn ,take bus n°48,the bus stop (named contactweg)is one block west of the hotel ,and for runners,there is a red bricked path just beyond that stop that leads to a vast area of pastures,canals,with good opportunities for exercise.
Parking is free on week end in front of the hotel. Burger King right next door,for info we were disapointed by the coffe house located at the corner of contactweg.

A large group checked in before us and had trouble with their reservation.Line was building up and I suggest in this situation someone from the staff to show up either to take care of them or to check in with no delay the following people waiting.It was 6pm,so I guess someone else was available..
When checking out,,they first charged me a parking fee for 4 nights altghough I had parked only 2 days in the ibis parking as week end is free in the street,I had to make my point but after a few minutes they realized their mistake and apologized.check and keep bills...
But globally,a very good option when you aretraveling by car.

Room Tip: At night Transformator weg is not a busy road,so we did not have any noise problem;
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the quality of the service provided. We are indeed one of the only places within the ring of Amsterdam where you can park free of charge in the evenings and during the entire weekend.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

First things first: Yes, it's not in the city center and there is nothing close by; and yes, the breakfast is overpriced. But as long as you understand those things, you will have a very pleasant stay in this hotel. We stayed for three nights during the Amsterdam marathon and had a very relaxing a nice stay. The hotel is nowhere near the canals or the city center, which I was prepared for and didn't mind. The public transportation was close and fast, and you could be in the center in less than 20 minutes. The only downside of the location in a commercial/industrial area is that there is literally nowhere to eat nearby (except Burger King). We found the hotel restaurant a bit pricey (the breakfast is a lot pricey, though convenient) but since there was nothing nearby we had to order pizza delivery one night.

But the rooms are nice and clean, the beds are comfortable (and the location means that it was amazingly quiet), the bathroom 'pods' are quite interesting, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They seem to realize that the location isn't perfect and tried to make that up to us through their personality and friendly demeanor. Considering this hotel can cost half of what a worse one does in the center, the City West hotel is a wonderful option for travelers on a budget or business travelers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Starwrang,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our newly renovated hotel during Amsterdam Marathon.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern. Our hotel is indeed located just outside of the main city centre. Busnumber 48 brings you in 10-12 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station. Busstop is currently at 5 minutes walk from the hotel but will be moved to the front of the hotel early December.

We hope to welcoem you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend whilst on a stag do. Initially we ordered 3 triple rooms and 2 double, upon arrival there was a massive mix up and we ended up with a triple and 5 doubles. Communication was very poor upon check in and the staff didn't seem to know what rooms they had allocated us or not.

The rest of the stay was very pleasant, the rooms are of a good size and newly refurbished. Bus stop 300 metres away which takes about 20 minutes to get into town or a taxi will drop you off for 18 euros.

Room Tip: One side overlooks a power station and the other a main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear 1989AdamLee,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our newly renovated hotel.

I would like to offer my sincere apologies regarding the misunderstanding upon checkin. We were short on triple rooms and gave you extra double rooms free of charge to accommodate all the guests.

However, I am very pleased to read that you did enjoy the quality priovided by the hotel. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel is ideally located close to good public transport links into Amsterdam Centraal station which takes approximately 10 minutes, staff are friendly and have good advise for getting around the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Chris D,

I would like to thank you very much for staying in our newly renovated hotel and posting this review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Reagrds,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had a couple of days in Amsterdam, did not want something in the centre of the city, this hotel was perfect a short ride by bus and you are right in the middle of things.
A warm welcome, helpful staff and a comfortable room at a good price-Ideal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Davieboy,

Thank you very much for your recentstay in our newly renovated hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the quality provided by the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denzlingen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Have to agree with the recent reviews.Hotel overall very clean and the personal is very friendly.Nice offering for a 3star hotel category.Only saddening is the breakfast for an additional fee of 16€... Too much pay for too less breakfast.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Markus Z,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam City West

Address: Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam City West 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City West is a modern 3-star hotel located between the city center and the main business districts of Amsterdam. The hotel offers 180 rooms, a restaurant with bar and terrace and 24-hr snack service. The hotel is surrounded by free public parking (between 7pm and 9am during the week and all day long during the weekend). The bus stop to Amsterdam Central Station is in front of the door (runs 24-hrs a day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.