We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Hotel for Budget/Business Travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam City West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
Ibis Amsterdam City West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Value Hotel for Budget/Business Travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

First things first: Yes, it's not in the city center and there is nothing close by; and yes, the breakfast is overpriced. But as long as you understand those things, you will have a very pleasant stay in this hotel. We stayed for three nights during the Amsterdam marathon and had a very relaxing a nice stay. The hotel is nowhere near the canals or the city center, which I was prepared for and didn't mind. The public transportation was close and fast, and you could be in the center in less than 20 minutes. The only downside of the location in a commercial/industrial area is that there is literally nowhere to eat nearby (except Burger King). We found the hotel restaurant a bit pricey (the breakfast is a lot pricey, though convenient) but since there was nothing nearby we had to order pizza delivery one night.

But the rooms are nice and clean, the beds are comfortable (and the location means that it was amazingly quiet), the bathroom 'pods' are quite interesting, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They seem to realize that the location isn't perfect and tried to make that up to us through their personality and friendly demeanor. Considering this hotel can cost half of what a worse one does in the center, the City West hotel is a wonderful option for travelers on a budget or business travelers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Starwrang,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our newly renovated hotel during Amsterdam Marathon.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern. Our hotel is indeed located just outside of the main city centre. Busnumber 48 brings you in 10-12 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station. Busstop is currently at 5 minutes walk from the hotel but will be moved to the front of the hotel early December.

We hope to welcoem you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    549
    187
    29
    10
See reviews for
159
420
58
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend whilst on a stag do. Initially we ordered 3 triple rooms and 2 double, upon arrival there was a massive mix up and we ended up with a triple and 5 doubles. Communication was very poor upon check in and the staff didn't seem to know what rooms they had allocated us or not.

The rest of the stay was very pleasant, the rooms are of a good size and newly refurbished. Bus stop 300 metres away which takes about 20 minutes to get into town or a taxi will drop you off for 18 euros.

Room Tip: One side overlooks a power station and the other a main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear 1989AdamLee,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our newly renovated hotel.

I would like to offer my sincere apologies regarding the misunderstanding upon checkin. We were short on triple rooms and gave you extra double rooms free of charge to accommodate all the guests.

However, I am very pleased to read that you did enjoy the quality priovided by the hotel. I hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel is ideally located close to good public transport links into Amsterdam Centraal station which takes approximately 10 minutes, staff are friendly and have good advise for getting around the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Chris D,

I would like to thank you very much for staying in our newly renovated hotel and posting this review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Reagrds,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had a couple of days in Amsterdam, did not want something in the centre of the city, this hotel was perfect a short ride by bus and you are right in the middle of things.
A warm welcome, helpful staff and a comfortable room at a good price-Ideal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Davieboy,

Thank you very much for your recentstay in our newly renovated hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the quality provided by the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denzlingen, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Have to agree with the recent reviews.Hotel overall very clean and the personal is very friendly.Nice offering for a 3star hotel category.Only saddening is the breakfast for an additional fee of 16€... Too much pay for too less breakfast.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Markus Z,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel its self is located around 10 minutes away on the bus from the city centre. Bus no. 48 going 4-5 times an hour on week days and 3 times an hour on weekends, stop about a minute walk away from the hotel. The surrounding area of the hotel is very nice and clean and very quiet. Just hop on to the bus and you are right in the middle of the action in less than no time. So it is perfectly located. Lets you get some sleep at night but still close enough to the action. The actual hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly. The rooms are not huge but are big enough for what I needed, all very clean and the beds are super comfortable. There is also free WiFi throughout the whole hotel and in every room, the connection is nice and fast too. Every room also comes with an easy to use safe, I found this very helpful.
The hotel also has a bar that is open every day until 22:30 in the evening, and the prices are reasonable. There is also food served at the hotel, however a little on the pricey side.

The Hotel is easy to reach from Amsterdam Schipol Airport (AMS) - Take the train from AMS, platform 3, get off at the second stop Sloterdjik and then bus number 48 for one stop and the hotel is on the left hand side.

Over my experience at the hotel was a very good one, and I would definitely recommend it to a friend and would most certainly stay there again my self. For the price I do not thing you will find anything near as good as this in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: All rooms come with free WiFi so no need to pay extra when using some booking websites. And the doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel.

Your kind words have been passed on to our team who made your stay a memorable one. This will certainly motivate them and us all to keep up the good work.

We thank you for your continuous support and look forward to serving you again soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ibis Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam City West

Address: Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam City West 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City West is a modern 3-star hotel located between the city center and the main business districts of Amsterdam. The hotel offers 180 rooms, a restaurant with bar and terrace and 24-hr snack service. The hotel is surrounded by free public parking (between 7pm and 9am during the week and all day long during the weekend). The bus stop to Amsterdam Central Station is in front of the door (runs 24-hrs a day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.