We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don`t mind taking a bus everyday, its a good option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam City West

Save Saved
You added Ibis Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ibis Amsterdam City West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Transformatorweg 36, Amsterdam 1014 AK, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If you don`t mind taking a bus everyday, its a good option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The only thing around is the burger king. To go to center of amsterdam, you should walk around 8 min to a bus station, then, in 15 min you are at the central station. The bus is very good, all day and night. The hotel rent bicicles, too. Internet wifi worked around 70% of time. Breakfast may seem expensive, but is a good deal considering Amsterdam prices. I have run out of soap in my room :(

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel. We are indeed located close to AMsterdam Central Station by bus. The busstop will move back to the front of the hotel in a few weeks from now.

We hope to welcoem you back soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    354
    119
    18
    2
See reviews for
102
261
41
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My feelings regarding the hotel is very ambivalent.

The hotel itself is ok for a *** hotel, but the services in the room deserve only **.
Very simple but clean, ok for sleeping.
The officers at the reception desk are polite and helpful, but I was unlucky as I almost each time had to wait pretty much as both receptionist managed the problem of the same (one) client.

Nevertheless my impress altogether is not good, having a bit mislead feeling.
When I booked the room on the internet the hotel was indicated on the map as one situated quite near to the Central Station. Then it was an unpleasant suprise at late evening's arrival that it is far from the central and you are somewhere else you expected.
First I thought I might missed the hotel at booking, but then I met another guest who also said that he did his booking to the Ibis Hotel at Central Station but found himself here in the suburban.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear KatrinBUD,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel and review on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by our staffmembers during your stay.

Concerning the location of the hotel, we are indeed located just outside the centre of Amsterdamat Transformatorweg 36. You can take busnumber 48 which takes you in 10-12 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station. Perhaps you mixed up the hotel with the ibis Amsterdam Centre hotel. This ibis hotel is located right next to Central station.

We hope to welcome you back in our hotel in the future.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zeeland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel is a perfect base to visit the city when you have a smaller budget and when you do not mind to ride a short trip into the city centre. The location is perfect for tram, metro, train, bus and you travel easily to Schiphol. The hotel offers good rooms, an average luxury, clean and quiet. The personel is very much doing the utmost to help you, and the dinner is suprisingly good.
One little negative note: the breakfast room is too small if the hotel is completely booked.

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet i think, no big traffic or industry around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Keesd,

Thank you very much for your review about our newly renovated hotel.

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed at The Ibis City West for a long weekend. The hotel is very close to the train station, about a 10 minute slowish walk. There is a bus stop nearby where you can catch the number 48 bus into the city. Bus fare can be paid on the bus and it's possible to buy an hour ticket if you don't want to buy the 24/48 hour tickets. The bus ticket also covers travel on the tram, metro and I think the canal ferry. All of the bus drivers we met spoke excellent English (as did everyone we met). Hotel also sells these tickets too.

The hotel was very clean. Room was fairly small but adequate. Nice big shower in the bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable. The only issues during our stay were that on our last night there appeared to be a party going on in reception which started at around 3am and was still going on when we left the hotel at 5am (although I'm guessing this is not usual). Also, the rooms are very warm and when we opened the window there was a lot of traffic noise. I would suggest asking for a room that does not face the dual carriageway at the front. There is a Burger King next door where we went for tea in the mornings.

Room Tip: Noise from the road (only when the window was open) from the dual carriageway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. We do offer indeed the new and very comfortable "Sweet Bed by ibis" in all our rooms. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackheath, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My partner an i stayed at the Ibis Amsterdam City West hotel on our recent trip to The Netherlands , the location is perfect a short ten minutes to the city centre,located close to transport in quiet leafy suburb location, staff were knowledgeable and very helpful, quality of accommodation although 3 star plus was excellent , a place i highly recommend .

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Leslie D,

Thank you very much for your 5 star rating that you gave us. It was out pleasure to serve you in our recently renovated hotel.

Your kind words have been passed on to our team who made your stay a memorable one. This will certainly motivate them and us all to keep up the good work.

We thank you for your continuous support and look forward to serving you again soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scalloway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

the hotel is perfect for a stay in Amsterdam.not central, but a good location and the bus service,200 yards from the hotel, was very good.the hotel itself was very pleasant,as Ibis usually is,the staff were very helpful and polite.the drinks at the bar are pricey,but that's sadly what to expect. overall though, I think this a smashing hotel and well worth the cost. ten minutes into the town and hey presto very good indeed the only thing I would say,and it applies to all ibis hotels of this nature, is that, at 16 euros, the breakfasts are a bit on the pricey side, as good as they are.....all in all though, full marks to the staff and management

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Ian S,

Thank you very much for your review and recent stay.

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam City West

Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City West Hotel
Ibis Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam
Address: Transformatorweg 36, Amsterdam 1014 AK, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam City West 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City West is a modern 3-star hotel located between the city center and the main business districts of Amsterdam. The hotel offers 180 rooms, a restaurant with bar and terrace and 24-hr snack service. The hotel is surrounded by free public parking (between 7pm and 9am during the week and all day long during the weekend). The bus stop to Amsterdam Central Station is in front of the door (runs 24-hrs a day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.