We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay, but lack of places to eat around hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Amsterdam City West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
Ibis Amsterdam City West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #121 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Russia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good place to stay, but lack of places to eat around hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel is good place to stay: room was quite enough for 2 people, clean, bathroom with new equipment. People on reception were polite and answered all questions.
However, when we arrived to hotel on Saturday evening, it was problem to find some restaurant or shop with food. There is a tiny restaurant on the ground floor of hotel, but it was full of people.
Certainly, there is a fast food Burger King in the same building, but is just a fast food, when I wanted full supper.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear CopperTeaPot,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the service provided by the ibis team memebers.

I do apologize for the fact that the restaurant was extremely busy during your stay. Since the full renovation earlier this year our restaurnt is very populair, but you can always vbook a table at reception.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    465
    161
    24
    8
See reviews for
137
350
51
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed with friends for short break. Hotel put three rooms together which was good. Basic facilities in a smallish room but adequate for a short or overnight stay. More of a hotel for business stopovers. Not family hotel. Not a lot of storage space for two people. Clean with small but fine bathroom (good shower). Towels seen better days, small and pretty thin. Reception and staff polite and very helpful.
Location is out of town 15 mins on bus but stop just down road and buses frequent (every 10 mins) to Amsterdam Central Station.
All in all enjoyed stay, Amsterdam is fabulous. Would use hotel again and was good value for money. Did not eat at hotel but seemed fairly expensive. Amsterdam offers wonderful range of food outlets to meet everyones needs at price you want to pay.
The OV Chipcard giving unlimited travel on buses trams and metro is good value and you can buy 1,2,or 3 days cards from the hotel.(16.5 euro for three days)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear RayD,

We would like to thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at ibis Amsterdam City West.

We hope to welcome you back to the lovely city of Amsterdam!

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We looked at many hotels of all types & prices before booking Ibis City West. Have stayed at ibis hotels in UK & Europe & this was a good standard for a budget hotel. Room was on 6th floor & was very clean, tidy, modern, & of reasonable size for budget hotel.
We had taken train from Schipol to Slotterdijk station, 15 min ride @ €3.70 ea, then 10 min walk to hotel.
Hotel staff were all very helpful, from reception & bar staff to the room maids.
Reception gave advice on travel to centre by bus route 48 which is 5 min walk to bus stop & then 15 min ride to Amsterdam central station. You also buy GVB travel pass form reception which gives unlimited travel on all local bus, tram & ferry route to Amsterdam city. 72 hour pass costs €16.50 each which is great value.
We did not try the breakfast or bar meals so have no comment on this. Burger King is next door so you can get good coffee & fast food at reasonable price.
There is small cafe also near by, but this seemed closed this weekend. Chinese restaraunt also about 10 min walk from Ibis, again we did not try this.
Lidl supermarket is also very close so you can supplies of essentials if you need so.
We both found this a great base to explore Amsterdam as we do not mind short journey to the centre, unlike London which takes a long time by public transport.
Our only disappointment was that the room did not have facilities for tea/coffee making, unlike most budget hotels in UK. Also there was some noise from Burger King but this only when you had the window open.
Would we recommend, yes we would & we are already planning next visit to Amsterdam & will use this Ibis again for that visit.
Good location, good hotel (budget), good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Rugbyman10,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Amsterdam.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

1/2 Hour walk into Amsterdam centre, bus service good , train station 10 min walk direct to airport 2 stops 3.50 per person. Taxi from airport 50 euros big difference.
Rooms clean but basic breakfast good, staff extremely helpful.
Would return again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear susiemos,

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Reagrds,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aydin, Turkey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you can afford, prefer a hotel at city center, but if you have a limited budget, this location is not bad too. You can reach to hotel by bus number 48, it takes 10-15 minutes from Centraal Station.
Staff was helpful, rooms were OK, neighbourhood was quite.
It would be better if there were mini bar and bathroom slippers in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Melll6,

May I offer a personal thank you for sending a review of our hotel to Tripadvisor.

We hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

this hotel is standard value for Ibis Hotel. but i dislike the location, i travel with big family, should choose ibis Airport Schippol instead i guess. the location quite far from the bus stop and the tram! since the nearest bus stop (in the google map, in front hotel) NOT functioned .. and nothing to see nearby, even restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiscitywest, General Manager at Ibis Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Handara,

I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to write a review of ibis Amsterdam City West on TripAdvisor.

I am very sorry to hear that you didn't like our location. Our location is within the ring of Amsterdam at about 10 minutes by bus (line 48) to Amsterdam Central Station. Subway line 50 is directly behind the hotel with a connection to Rai congres centre. If you are looking for a airport location, you can indeed better go for ibis Amsterdam Airport. Our hotel is very close to the city centre of Amsterdam and not the airport.

We hope to welcome you back soon in one of the ibis hotel in Amsterdam.

Best Regards,

Martijn van der Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Amsterdam City West

Address: Transformatorweg 36, 1014 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#97 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Amsterdam City West 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Amsterdam City West is a modern 3-star hotel located between the city center and the main business districts of Amsterdam. The hotel offers 180 rooms, a restaurant with bar and terrace and 24-hr snack service. The hotel is surrounded by free public parking (between 7pm and 9am during the week and all day long during the weekend). The bus stop to Amsterdam Central Station is in front of the door (runs 24-hrs a day). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Amsterdam City West Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Amsterdam City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.