We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to train station but completely ruined impression of Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of White Tulip Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added White Tulip Hostel to your Saves list
White Tulip Hostel
Warmoesstraat 87, 1012 HZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Close to train station but completely ruined impression of Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I chose this place because it was close to the train station, but was rather put off by the run-down state of the place. True it's in the Red-light district and lots of people who party might find it convenient, but sharing the bathroom outside the room like a dorm and doors that don't close and send alarms off wasn't that great. Lockers were so beat up that not everyone has a locker with a lockable door in the room.
Staff was ok and good location and near laundry-mat and lots of restaurants to choose from. Also quite safe even if having to return late at night - on that aspect it's great. Just the run-down state is hardly bearable...Left a bad impression of Amsterdam, but I am probably too naive to hope for a better conditioned hostel with that price in the location.

Room Tip: Better make sure you can sleep through the noise even if you choose one with fewer people sharing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    54
    32
    71
See reviews for
2
14
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I can't imagine what staying in a shared room would be like in this hostel and would certainly not want to experience it. There was four of us staying luckily. We had our own room up on the third floor. The epic journey up the stairs was enough. I felt like Sir Edmond Hillary. I should have carried my oxygen tank with me. The room had two sets of bunks a table with three chairs and a window. The room was warm. We received clean sheets and a blanket. Towels were complimentary. Check in was smooth, we got there at 11am and our room was available. Downfalls were the toilets were grubby. The floors in the bathrooms were greasy. Out of the three day stay I got one scolding hot shower and the other two felt like shards of icicle pellets burning small acid holes in my body - not very pleasant after an indulgent night out.
Anyway the location is pretty awesome. Close to the train. Close to the RLD. Close to the discounted bar (which was pretty cheap). Close to shops that sell interesting stuff. They make you pay a city tax on top of your original booking price. They bells are pretty 'pleasant' too (they go off every 15mins or so). Not the best yet not the worst place I've stayed in.

Room Tip: Don't get level 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Ugh- the White Tulip- I still have nightmares! Out of all the hostels I've ever been to, this is by far the worst.

We were in a room where the window didn't close properly, so we constantly had noise from the street. The bathrooms are tiny and disgusting- I felt dirtier AFTER showering.

The power went out periodically, which meant you couldn't get into the rooms unless there was someone already inside who would open the door for you.

We had some random guys banging on our door at 5am one night. Our room was full but they were demanding to get in- it was pretty scary. Apparently they had left their luggage in our room the day before- I think it's pretty irresponsible of the hostel to allow people to leave their luggage for a day after they check out, and to let them into the hostel again at that hour!

The food at the bar downstairs is pretty good, and at least the rooms have large lockers (bring your own lock if you don't want to pay for them). The people at the front desk are friendly, but the "luggage room" is accessible to anyone, so I wouldn't leave your stuff there.

This is a great location for going to bars, coffeeshops and restaurants, but it's just so noisy. The church bells also drove me crazy!

I really wouldn't recommend this place- I think you'd be better off staying in a less touristy area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The location is perfect, next to RDL and only 5 min walk from Central Station. However right next to a church playing bells every 15mins every morning.
Stayed with friends, was perfect for the 3 nights we stayed however don't think i could of managed another!.
Beware of extra fee on arrival!?

Room Tip: All rooms very loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The location is great of only 5 min walk from Central Station. For us the staff was nice and during our stay bathrooms and showers were clean. After the first night we decided to stay another but hostel was fully booked, so me and my friend shared a bed and payed it half, which was great. :D Located in the centre, but next to a church playing bells every morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Definitely wouldn't stay here again, the worst place we've stayed. Unclean (we even had a friendly mouse running around our room), unwelcoming, very plain, dodgy bathroom (I could barely even fit in a cubicle and the showers don't drain properly), and the staff "accidentally" took my microfibre towel and were unable to return it before I left - making it an expensive and inconvenient stay. The only advantage is its central location, though be warned it is in the red light district. I advise staying away from this place.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

There was just one good thing. And that one was being close to center.. I paid for 3 days but after 2 days i run away..
I had silly problem with receptionist at 4 am when i turned bac to hostel.. Almost i couldnt enter my room..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Tulip Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Tulip Hostel

Address: Warmoesstraat 87, 1012 HZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Tulip Hostel is located near everything. We are close to all the major attractions of Amsterdam including the Dam Square, Central Station, coffee shops, Amsterdam's night life, the Flower Market, Madame Tussaud, various museums and much much more! We will be happy to guide you to the most famous places to hang around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your White Tulip Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Tulip Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Tulip Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.