We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for - bar and food is great quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Tulip Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added White Tulip Hostel to your Saves list
White Tulip Hostel
Warmoesstraat 87, 1012 HZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for - bar and food is great quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Great location - close to everything and good night scene. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived and we did have to wait a long time for it to be cleaned so we could stay there. However the room and the bathrooms were always clean and the bar and restaurand downstairs is brilliant value. The food and staff were excellent. Just hope that your room isn't on the top floor because the stairs is a killer!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    54
    32
    71
See reviews for
2
14
34
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

The staff were very helpful and happy to help us with any problems regarding rooms or tourist information. Staff on duty 24 hours a day.
Stayed in a 12 room dorm, very clean with fresh linen. they claim to clean twice a day, and it lives up to these standards. Bunks were comfortable, no problems here. Showers were nice and hot, although between cleanings the toilets could get alittle grubby due to the number of guests using just 3 toilets on each floor. Also available was a vending machine with essentials and also a computer for internet use.
Really good value for money, payed just over 40 Euros for 3 nights. Included was a 25% discount in the adjoining Irish pub that had amazing atmosphere and cheap beer.
Great location, right in the center of the red light district. Only about 5-10 minute walk from central station, very east to find with given instructions.
As the hostel is located right next to 'Oude Kerk' this means the church bells rings every quarter of an hour. An annoyance at times but you get used to it.
Overall we were very pleased with our stay, as you hardly spend much time at the hostel as there is so much to discover in such a beautiful city! Not a bad word to say about it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cozumel, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

I stayed at the White Tulip Hostel for 3 nights. January 4 to 7 The receptionist was very helpful, all the check in process was very fast. I liked the discount they give you for the restaurant and a coffeshop. The restaurant is very good!! good prices, nice place and good food.. i love Amsterdam because of the incredible service, the people is super nice, but at the restaurant i forgot to give my discount before ordering and gave it just minutes before and the girl kinda scolded me.. didnt like that at all.. im in Amsterdam to have fun and relax and she should understand a simple mistake and take it easy..
The coffeshop was also good.
The rooms at the hostel were OK, but the pictures on their web page were a little bit nicer...
The common areas were too small and the showers are horrible.. i think they should put something close there to put you clothes because its not cool to go to the showers naked with ur towel from the bedroom..
The location is perfect.. maybe a little bit noisy, but that was ok for me..
i could recommend this place for young travelers who are in Amsterdam for the party...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wandering American
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

My wife surprised me for my 30th birthday by booking a weekend trip to Amsterdam where I met up with some friends I hadn't seen in a while. The plan was to stay at an actual hotel but due to a booking faux pas the venue changed last minute and that's where the White Tulip came in.

I have only stayed in a hostel one time before this experience and it was in Abisko, above the arctic circle close to the Swedish/Norwegian boarder. Occupancy was very low and my wife and I had a room to ourselves. My expectations for the White Tulip were quite innocent to say the least....

Upon my arrival to AMS my Dutch friend picked me up and we took the train to central station; very simple and extremely affordable. The walk from the train station to the hostel is not very long at all. We arrived to the White Tulip early evening and proceeded to check in. Check in was a bit messy and disorganized because the desk in very small and it is crammed into a very small space next to the entrance of the Hostel. People are constantly walking in and out while others are trying to check-in with bags all over the place. However the process was very straight forward and the cost was around 36 euros per night. I have to say this is the most affordable place to crash for a weekend in the red-light district.

The room was nothing special, it wasn't particularly big nor small. There were 5 bunk beds in the room providing 10 beds to weary travelers. The beds had freshly cleaned linens and blankets and there were enough lockers for each bed. The front desk provided locks for a 5 euro deposit which was returned upon checkout. The bathrooms were a bit small but surprisingly clean for such a densely populated hostel. The showers were in good condition and provided a good level of privacy. The common area between the rooms and the showers/toilets was never very clean but this was not a huge concern to me.

Side-note: I served in the U.S. Marine Corps for 5 years and spent 7 months on a navy ship. My experience sharing space such as beds, showers and toilets helped me cope with this environment much better than the average American traveler. Most Europeans seem more comfortable with it since they have more exposure to this environment because traveling from Hostel to Hostel is more common in Europe than in the U.S. where hotels are much more affordable.

The white Tulip sits on top of an Irish pub with a restaurant. One of the benefits of staying at the White Tulip is the fact that the hostel and pub have a special agreement that provides customers of the hostel a substantial discount on food and drinks. This discount will definitely help travelers who are on a budget, plus the location is super convenient.

On another note, the hostel is located right next to the church in the red-light district. This should not come as a surprise if you've read many of the other reviews, let's just say it may ring a bell..... Yes, the church bells are extremely annoying, mostly in the morning and can make getting some shut eye nearly impossible. Depending on the level of debauchery the night before, if one is intoxicated enough they may be able to sleep through it but please do not consider this a recommendation. Consider earplugs a necessity.

I would recommended this place to anyone of my friends who was planning a few days in Amsterdam. The location is great, the price is right and if you're in Amsterdam you want to see the sites, not your room. If you're thinking about staying here just take the plunge and go for it, you'll probably be surprised about how much you end up liking it.

Until next time....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Good: Hostel was in a great location in the Red light district with a cool Irish pub downstairs.

Bad: Our room had bed bugs and the mattresses were mouldy, rooms had bad ventilation. I could handle the noise but seriously you do not want to get bitten by bed bugs! They itch like crazy for days!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

All the reviews seem to be moaning about the sleep quality, but we did not have one problem!! We shared a 12 bed dorm (myself and 2 friends, ages- 20, 21 and 22) from Monday 11th Oct until Friday 15th Oct 2010.
We got there early on Monday morning and checked in as standard, a key card for the room costing 5 euros deposit (getting this back upon check-out). Up to the room and it was a mess but we realised the cleaners had not had chance to clean up after the previous occupants. Once it had been cleaned the room was amazing!!!

During our stay we were with 9 other people who all knew each other (the week we were there it was "fall break" holiday for schools in Europe so was generally busy) which was fine. We were courtious to them and they did the same to us, in terms of coming in late at night whilst people were asleep. The hostel is a no smoking hostel and we found this was lightly adhered to in the sense that other rooms were smoked in.

The bathroom (on the second floor) was cleaned twice daily and had four showers and four toilets. We really could not complain with the hygiene of this area as we found it was definitely clean. Toilet roll was always available and clean towels available for free from reception each late evening or morning (as many as you wanted).

The reception area was always manned (24/7) and they were there to help with any problems or queries. There are lockers in the rooms which require a padlock to use them which can also be 'hired' from reception for a deposit which is returned upon giving it back.

What else... ...the IRISH BAR/PUB downstairs was very good indeed!!! Staying in the hostel gets you 25% discount on drinks and meals in the pub which worked out well for us as we ate there twice in the evening and breakfast each day there to. For example, a "Full Irish breakfast - eggs, bacon, toast, black and white pudding and hash browns" cost 9 euros WITHOUT THE discount and so became 6.75 euros. A sausage sandwich was 4 euros without discount (to give a feel for prices).
There was also free wi-fi in the bar which was good for I-phones, laptops and other phones. This wi-fi did work just about on the 2nd floor but I assume would be fine on the 1st floor.

That is pretty much it for the hostel and as you can see it was fine. The bells which people talk about were not loud at all and they are right outside the window at the back of the hostel. This really is the truth and we did not get drunk as such on this break and were not stoned either yet still slept perfectly. The beds are pretty comfy and clean linen/bedding is provided.

You get what you pay with this hostel and probably a bit more, seriously cannot fault it!!

Oh yeah.. the location is truly immense!! It is bang in the centre of the Wormoestraat (Red Light District) and in between the Centraal Station (Train st.) and Dam Square. It is on the back of the red lights and there is much to see in the area ;) and coffeeshops!!

Any questions email me.. :) we also visited Anne Franks House, The Sex Museum and I amSterdam letters which are all worth it. Also Van Goghs, Rijsmuseum and Heineken Experience are all worth it..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Was the cheapest hostel we could find in central Amsterdam. Was right in the action on one of the main streets for bars and pubs next to the red light district. Enjoyed this as there was always something excited going on outside. Would not be a good hostel if you wanted a good night sleep! Esp with the church bells right behind the building going off ALOT! But great place if you are there to party and enjoy the coffee shopes :) Bathrooms are mixed and not too pleasant but you get over it. Friendly staff, cool irish pub below.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Tulip Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Tulip Hostel

Address: Warmoesstraat 87, 1012 HZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Tulip Hostel is located near everything. We are close to all the major attractions of Amsterdam including the Dam Square, Central Station, coffee shops, Amsterdam's night life, the Flower Market, Madame Tussaud, various museums and much much more! We will be happy to guide you to the most famous places to hang around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your White Tulip Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Tulip Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Tulip Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.