We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doria Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Doria Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Damstraat 3, 1012 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“superb location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed at the Doria for 4 days and found the location brilliant, lots of attractions on your doorstep.
2 minutes walk to Dam square.
Plenty of bars, cafes and restaurants right outside hotel.
Rooms were small but adequate and clean.
We had a room at the back which was quite quiet, just the odd reveller heading home but we had our window open so can only expect to hear some noise.
We ate twice in hotel which is mostly Italian and food was good, also got 10% discount for eating there, breakfast was continental with an average range of food.
All in all not a bad wee hotel and would definitely return

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    227
    167
    40
    18
See reviews for
44
169
87
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thurso, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel recently and the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us.This is a great hotel, quite small rooms and bathrooms but very clean and that's what matters. The restaurant downstairs is very good, and it was great to sit at the tables outside and eat or have a drink. It is very close to Dam Square. It can be a bit noisy through the night but then we were there when the world cup was on. I would recommend this hotel as we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room nearer the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently while attending a concert in Amsterdam. Great location, just off Dam Square and minutes from the RLD. Rooms were on the small side but clean and more than adequate for our needs. Staff were extremely helpful and the continental breakfast was lovely. Free Wifi worked well throughout our stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Doria is a small city hotel on the edge of the RLD in Amsterdam.

The hotel is very basic, small rooms, small bathrooms. The rooms are clean though.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The location is great if you're in Amsterdam as a tourist. It's located in Dam street, just a few meters from Amsterdam's famous Dam square.
The RLD with all it's attractions is right around the corner.
Lots of restaurants in the hotels street.
It can get a bit noisy though, but this is normal all over De Wallen.
Make sure to get your own toiletries, as the room only has towels, toilet paper and liquid soap.
The hotel is a bit over priced, but most hotels in De Wallen are.
Over all I had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Doria Hotel is situated in a superb location and at the time of booking offered a very well priced room. My room was a little small but clean and very comfortable. I've stayed in a few other hotels in the immediate area with a similar price range and the Doria is the only one to provide a TV and a safe in the room. Although I never used the TV, the safe was a welcome addition.

The location is pretty close to the Red Light District and there are a number of fast food outlets and restaurants in the street. For this reason it was a bit noisy at night but certainly no worse than any other property in the area. Pack some earplugs and you will sleep fine. The staff were very polite and helpful and I would happily stay at the Doria again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doria Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doria Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Damstraat 3, 1012 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Doria Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Doria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doria Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.