We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doria Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Doria Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Damstraat 3, 1012 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dundalk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently while attending a concert in Amsterdam. Great location, just off Dam Square and minutes from the RLD. Rooms were on the small side but clean and more than adequate for our needs. Staff were extremely helpful and the continental breakfast was lovely. Free Wifi worked well throughout our stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    231
    176
    43
    18
See reviews for
44
174
92
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Doria is a small city hotel on the edge of the RLD in Amsterdam.

The hotel is very basic, small rooms, small bathrooms. The rooms are clean though.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The location is great if you're in Amsterdam as a tourist. It's located in Dam street, just a few meters from Amsterdam's famous Dam square.
The RLD with all it's attractions is right around the corner.
Lots of restaurants in the hotels street.
It can get a bit noisy though, but this is normal all over De Wallen.
Make sure to get your own toiletries, as the room only has towels, toilet paper and liquid soap.
The hotel is a bit over priced, but most hotels in De Wallen are.
Over all I had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Doria Hotel is situated in a superb location and at the time of booking offered a very well priced room. My room was a little small but clean and very comfortable. I've stayed in a few other hotels in the immediate area with a similar price range and the Doria is the only one to provide a TV and a safe in the room. Although I never used the TV, the safe was a welcome addition.

The location is pretty close to the Red Light District and there are a number of fast food outlets and restaurants in the street. For this reason it was a bit noisy at night but certainly no worse than any other property in the area. Pack some earplugs and you will sleep fine. The staff were very polite and helpful and I would happily stay at the Doria again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This budget hotel is in a great location, perfect for those who want to be in the middle of it. You are about 1 minute walk away from Dam Square, and a close walk from many other attractions. This location howere comes with one drawback - the noise. Our room was overlooking the main road (Damstraat) on the first floor so we didn't get much sleep whilst here it must be said. For a short stay though it was perfect - if you want better sleep though ask for a room at the back where it'll be quieter. Another problem for us non-smokers was that our room smelt very strongly of marijuana, despite being "strictly" non-smoking. the smell clung to the bed sheets like all strong smells do. All in all this is a good budget option. If I do ever return to Amsterdam I'd probably stay in a quieter location for a little extra cost.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Well the Doria certainly hasn't been the classiest of hotels i've ever stayed in but to be honest we couldnt ask for much more.

The rooms were very tiny but it was clean and the beds were so comfy!! The staff were lovely, food was good and location was perfect! We were at the front of the hotel which was very busy but the windows were pretty thick so blocked a lot of the noise out. I would return here without hesitation!

Thanks Doria!! We had a blast!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutaisi, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Very central and convenient location, just behind the Dam square. Amsterdam Central Station is 10-12 minutes of walk. You can also use tram line. Friendly and helpful staff, good service. Not a luxury hotel, but for "sleep & breakfast" it is nice. Reasonable price. Small rooms with basic but nice service.

and yes, you should expect street noise at night. But it is Amsterdam guys...

Room Tip: rooms on the street side and law floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doria Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doria Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Damstraat 3, 1012 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Doria Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Doria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doria Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.