We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doria Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Doria Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 3, 1012 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Super location between Red Light area and Dam Square, very easy to find anytime day or night.Reception staff were ok but not over friendly. Room small but adequate for 2 people. Soap dispenser only so take own shampoo etc. Bed worn, and the pillows - 2 each bed, fair play!- were rock hard and, frankly, awful. Breakfast was plentiful, and served til 10.45, which was very useful. nothing special, but all edible. We stayed on the street side, and , yes, it can be noisy early morning - and maybe late at night too, but we wern't getting in til 3.am ourselves!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    254
    197
    52
    18
See reviews for
51
194
102
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

very good location next to the main attractive area of Amsterdam and transportation, room was clean; in my rate breakfast was included and it was ok.Don't pay with credit card because they charge 5%fee, we pay cash because we knew before the arrival.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night stay at The Doria. We found all the staff friendly and very helpful. The rooms are on the small side, but what do you expect in the centre of Amsterdam?. Our room (102) on the first floor looked out onto the bustling street & was amply big enough, the bathroom was on the small side but ok.
If you want a cheap place to sleep & get showered & changed then this place is ideal. Breakfast was typical continental cereal, toast, bread rolls, cheese, ham ect; . If you eat in the restaurant below you get 10% discount.
I would defiantly stay here again & i recommend it.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petropolis, RJ
Level Contributor
210 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I picked this hotel by its location. I already knew the area and wanted to stay there. The room is super tiny. The bathroom is big compared to the size of the room and the shower was pleasant good. There was construction close to the hotel and noise started at 5:30 am, which was awful. It ended around 9 am but by that time I needed to get up. Breakfast was super basic but decent. People do not respect the non-smoking signs but it seems that is all over Amsterdam. Centraal Station is like 10 min away and the hotel is close to trams/metro and all the main atractions. If what you are looking for is location at low cost that is a good place to stay. I don´t recommend to picky people.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Just returned from a 3 Night stay at the Doria Hotel. I would definitely return. The room was quite small (all budget rooms in Amsterdam are though!) but very clean and tidy. The bathroom had a good shower and towels and soap provided. The internet (free) was excellent and streaming from Internet was smooth and fast. Breakfast each morning was very nice and simple (toast, cereal, eggs, cheese and ham with coffee or juice) and you simply helped yourself. Hotel location was excellent and your literally a stones throw away from the square and shops and amenities. All in all_ for the price paid and quality of the hotel and it's location then I'd say it was very good indeed! Highly recommended and would definitely return!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at the hotel doria in a triple room for 3 nights over Easter weekend. We always go for location over luxury on city breaks as we are hardly in the room so for the great price we didn't have high expectations for the hotel itself, but we knew the location would be spot on.
We were wrong not to expect much! The hotel was perfect.
The room and bathroom were basic and small, but the beds were the comfiest i have ever stayed in on holiday, the shower was powerful and the room was cleaned with fresh towels daily.
We also had a free of charge safety deposit box in the room too.
The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and polite.
Guests receive 10% discount in the Doria Italian restaurant and also in the Mexican over the road.
The hotel is located just off Dam square, the location couldnt be more central.
In all we absolutely loved the Hotel Doria and will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#194 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
RHO Hotel
RHO Hotel
#144 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,604 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
#184 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Hotel De Koopermoolen
#180 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#146 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doria Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doria Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Damstraat 3, 1012 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Doria Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EasyToBook, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Doria Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Doria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doria Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.