We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel for our Easter weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doria Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Doria Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 3, 1012 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for our Easter weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at the hotel doria in a triple room for 3 nights over Easter weekend. We always go for location over luxury on city breaks as we are hardly in the room so for the great price we didn't have high expectations for the hotel itself, but we knew the location would be spot on.
We were wrong not to expect much! The hotel was perfect.
The room and bathroom were basic and small, but the beds were the comfiest i have ever stayed in on holiday, the shower was powerful and the room was cleaned with fresh towels daily.
We also had a free of charge safety deposit box in the room too.
The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and polite.
Guests receive 10% discount in the Doria Italian restaurant and also in the Mexican over the road.
The hotel is located just off Dam square, the location couldnt be more central.
In all we absolutely loved the Hotel Doria and will definitely be staying here again on our next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    242
    184
    47
    18
See reviews for
44
188
97
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and couldn't recommend it enough. I travelled with 2 friends and we booked a twin room for myself and my friend and a single room for another friend and although the rooms are slightly small they were spotlessly clean and we were provided with maid service with clean towels everyday. The showers in the hotel are awesome!!
Breakfast was included in the price and there was a choice of meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, bread, rolls, yoghurts and fruit juice.
You could not ask for a better location as the hotel is situated in the heart of the city. The train station is less than a 10min walk away, Red Light District 2min walk and Dam Square 1min. There is a great Italian restaurant at the bottom of the hotel (where guests get a discount) and there are some brilliant restaurants right opposite the hotel.
The hotel staff are helpful and friendly.
The only thing I would suggest if booking this hotel is to ask for a room at the rear of the hotel as ours was on the main road and was slightly noisy at night as its a busy thoroughfare but didn't really interfere with us getting to sleep.
I would 100% recommend this hotel, I have travelled all over the world and stayed in many hotels and this one although not a 5 star hotel provided us with everything we needed for a great price and most importantly to me was clean and had a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at he the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I would thoroughly recommend hotel Doria for any first time (or return) explorer of Amsterdam. The hotel could not be more conveniently located, one minute from Dam Square and about 10 minutes walk from Amsterdam Centraal station.

The hotel was very reasonably priced. I paid €210 for 3 nights in a single (small), ensuite room. The rooms are small with single beds but the room was absolutely spotless. You are provided with fresh towels every day.

Breakfast was acceptable. Fresh boiled eggs, bread, and a selection of salad cheese jams marmalades and cold meat were made available along with tea, coffee and fruit juices. Not an extravagant spread by any means but it was more than acceptable.

Check in is available from 1pm and our rooms were ready for us when we arrived. They also offer a small storage cupboard for luggage storage before and after check in/check out if you need it. There are also small electronic safety deposit boxes in every room which came in very handy.

Oh and the showers are amazing.

Superb Location
Great Price
Very clean& staff are very friendly

Id gladly stay at Hotel Doria again and recommend it to anyone travelling to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the rear of the hotel - these ones seem to be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Overpriced small room with discoloured bedding and pillows that should have been thrown in a skip years ago, window didn't close properly so very noisy and the icing on the cake was the dogs mess at the bottom of the stairs which the staff were oblivious to even though you could smell it in reception. Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The hotel is very centrally located near the Dam Square.
A lot of restaurants around that area.
The hotel is old an the rooms are small. Hygienne wise it is not too bad, but the hotel doesn't give you the feeling of being a place where you want to hang out for too long.
Breakfast is very lousy, but you'll manage if you are not too picky.
The staff of the hotel is nice and hard working.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Doria Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doria Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Damstraat 3, 1012 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Doria Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Doria Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Doria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doria Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.