We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, everything you need within reach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doria Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Doria Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Damstraat 3, 1012 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location, everything you need within reach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We booked a triple and double room for 5 of us for two nights. Reading the reviews I could see the only downside seemed to be the size of the rooms but we found them fine. The bathroom in the triple was quite small but adequate.

The staff were extremely helpful. We were greeted by a lovely guy who marked out where to go, and where not to go on a map and gave us so much info on the area.

The location could not have been any better. You step out of the hotel onto a bustling street where the atmosphere was amazing. We took the hop on hop off bus to visit local attractions and fitted lots in to the time we had. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    231
    176
    43
    18
See reviews for
44
174
92
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The location is great - just near Dam. The room is small, the mattress is too soft, and WIFI in the room does not work well. On the positive side - the room is quiet, the stuff is helpful and the breakfast is good.

Room Tip: Rooms without street view are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Doria is a well placed hotel just off dam square and short walk from centraal Station. if you need peace and quiet though steer clear of this area as it does get very noisy at night. Also the elevators in the hotel only go up to a certail level so be prepared to lug your suitcases over a few flight of stairs. having said that the service was good and the breakfast in the restuarant downstairs had great variety! The room itself was very basic and small but clean. im not sure if it was cleaned everyday as our glasses and sheets were left as is.
All in all it was slightly overpriced but given we travelled during a busy period cant really complain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have stayed many times in Amsterdam and Doria was by far the best . Good service from workers, comfortable and the location is the best, no need to walk a million miles to get to places like all the other times everything round the corner, very clean hotel and rooms cleaned daily

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

the staff were very friendly and helpful with my requests. i found the rooms quite small but they did the job for sleeping in and showering etc. the location was excellent and the food in the hotel was excellent. as i am very particular i would have preferred the restaurant to be just a we bit cleaner but thats just my opinion (i am just a bit fussy when it comes to cleanliness and food areas.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doria Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doria Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Damstraat 3, 1012 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Doria Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Doria Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doria Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.